PDA

View Full Version : thi766's First 3D Level (Uses Bakscratch's extra layer glitch!)



Crashdance22
07-25-2009, 06:31 PM
Based on Bakscratch's newly discovered additional layer glitch, thi766 has made a great, simple level demonstrating what LittleBigPlanet would look like if it were a 3D game in sense. The level clearly shows what's possible when using more than 3 layers. Detailed scrolling backgrounds to give the game a feeling of distance... wide open plains to visually expand the world... there are numerous possibilities! This level shows that it is possible to take advantage of this glitch, despite the fact that creating like this is not user-friendly. Congratulations thi766 for showing the community what's possible!

http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=853&d=1248546745 http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=854&d=1248546754

http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=855&d=1248546763 http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=856&d=1248546775

http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=857&d=1248546789

Silverleon
07-25-2009, 06:42 PM
Oh wow, someone already made a level with that?
And a good one as it looks like.

I'll be sure to give this one a try later on so i can finally see what these extra layers can do.

Whalio Cappuccino
07-25-2009, 08:31 PM
Please do not patch this glitch MM... Please...

Morgana25
07-25-2009, 08:43 PM
Holy heck! Look at the depth! I'm so checking this out!

BSprague
07-25-2009, 09:02 PM
The two top screenshots absolutely blew my mind. If MediaMolecule doesn't patch this, they should make it work better. Clearly we can make some use of it. :)

Zwollie
07-25-2009, 09:15 PM
its beautiful, go play this now!! Opens up a lot of doors for level enviroments!!

springs86
07-25-2009, 09:19 PM
WOW, this looks epic :p seriously awesome, i knew that glitch would open up new possibilities, but seeing it there it looks so cool

comphermc
07-25-2009, 09:22 PM
Do we know how it's done yet? Sorry if I'm out of the loop.

BSprague
07-25-2009, 09:28 PM
Do we know how it's done yet? Sorry if I'm out of the loop.

No, but Bakscratch has published a level where you can get objects in the new layers.

Adam9001
07-25-2009, 09:36 PM
Please no one make this popular, MM will patch this.
Im talking about the glitch, btw.
Anyglitch, PATCHED.

And this cant be captured.
Anyways how do you do this?

Zwollie
07-25-2009, 09:36 PM
Yep and its quite easy to make your own from that point on.
I've been experimenting with it for a little while now and the results are awesome!!

IF this glitch will stay, prepare for a revolution in graphics for future levels in LBP!!


This is how you start making your own backgrounds in LBP:

* Select bakscratchs' background layer object en place it anywhere in your level.
* Now change the material, any material will do.
* While keeping the glitched background object selected, go to your goodies bag and select a new material and pick a shape.
* If you did it right, the new shape will also be in the back layers and more importantly it will be editable by the corner tool!!

PS: I learned this from Burnvictim in the other thread :)

Leather-Monkey
07-25-2009, 09:47 PM
Wow! I bet Mm are wishing they kept it at infinite layers, that looks amazing! It almost looks nothing like littlebigplanet.

baahas
07-25-2009, 11:38 PM
Yup I'm making a 3D level of my own right now. Its going to take a while though. Too bad you cant put layers in front of one another:(

Crashdance22
07-26-2009, 12:34 AM
Too bad you cant put layers in front of one another:(

What do you mean? This level has done that.

BlackToof
07-26-2009, 12:45 AM
I have the feeling everyones going to jump on this bandwagon to create new more awe inspiring levels.

Dang! It's effectively tripled the amount of effort required to make a 5 star level and also the amount of time.
*EDIT* just thinking also thermo!

Anyone here think it'll take 3 months per level nowadays?
haha Already takes me 1 and a half months.

As long as quality doesnt slip i'm all for it.

BlackToof
07-26-2009, 12:48 AM
What happens if i create a level with this and then it gets patched?

What happens to my level?

BSprague
07-26-2009, 01:55 AM
What happens if i create a level with this and then it gets patched?

What happens to my level?

Normally MediaMolecule's patches don't break existing levels, they just make it so you can't do it anymore in Create Mode by yourself.

Crashdance22
07-26-2009, 02:26 AM
thi766, did you use the cascading blocks to create the background? If so, how? Just material change them and edit the corners?

lk9988
07-26-2009, 11:17 AM
I just played this level. It's pretty short, but it shows just what potential this glitch has. Hopefully Mm won't patch this one.

BlackToof
07-26-2009, 01:38 PM
I tried looking for this level but i couldnt find it i went onto Thi766's profile but he didnt have any level that said it would be like this.

And i cant find anyone reference the name of a level in here.

OmegaSlayer
07-26-2009, 03:08 PM
It will be hard to build levels that way.
Anyway, the framerate is always consistent

baahas
07-26-2009, 05:17 PM
All we need is cascading blocks for the foreground ;)

Leonardo
07-26-2009, 05:18 PM
I love you. Imma play this, I love the plains, it looks interesting.

Trevor
07-26-2009, 05:27 PM
Yep and its quite easy to make your own from that point on.
I've been experimenting with it for a little while now and the results are awesome!!

IF this glitch will stay, prepare for a revolution in graphics for future levels in LBP!!


This is how you start making your own backgrounds in LBP:

* Select bakscratchs' background layer object en place it anywhere in your level.
* Now change the material, any material will do.
* While keeping the glitched background object selected, go to your goodies bag and select a new material and pick a shape.
* If you did it right, the new shape will also be in the back layers and more importantly it will be editable by the corner tool!!

PS: I learned this from Burnvictim in the other thread :)When I do this, all I get is a long block that runs from the front layer to the eleventh.

Burnvictim42
07-26-2009, 05:38 PM
it takes a couple tries to get it right some times. I changed the material of the background block before dragging new material from it, but that doesn't mean its necessarily neccessary ;p.

comphermc
07-26-2009, 05:54 PM
When I do this, all I get is a long block that runs from the front layer to the eleventh.

Press R2 when it does this and it'll go back one layer. Don't press it too many times, because R1 doesn't bring it back towards the front. I haven't gotten it to be one layer thick yet, but I was able to make my own cascade that has blocks that go from 4th to 11th, from 5th to 11th, and so on, all the way back to single layer thick block in the 11th.

BV, do your blocks always come out one layer thick?

jump_button
07-26-2009, 06:11 PM
I be trying this out myself really useful for user made background I like makeing my own and be playing around with this so far updated my sky town a littlie and planing to do more with this its nice to see what others made with it

Burnvictim42
07-26-2009, 06:22 PM
i've always gotten 1 layer thick blocks... odd i didn't realize people were getting bars XD

MrsSpookyBuz
07-26-2009, 06:42 PM
Yes, some of this level looked really stunning. I've seen something quite similar recently, but it was done in a different way (can't say too much because it isn't my level!).

I've been messing with this glitch, and it could be used very effectively for visuals, though interacting with it is another thing entirely.

Good stuff.

Trevor
07-26-2009, 06:49 PM
i've always gotten 1 layer thick blocks... odd i didn't realize people were getting bars XD

What material and shape do you use?

Burnvictim42
07-26-2009, 06:55 PM
What material and shape do you use?

any and any o.o

I just realized i always make the objects using thin layers... perhaps thats why?

dorien
07-26-2009, 08:19 PM
I can't find thi766's level :(

I think he might of deleted it or MM took it off or something.

I searched @thi766 and can see all his levels like the Uncharted ones, assassin's creed ones etc. But this 3D level isn't there :(

Burnvictim42
07-26-2009, 08:50 PM
well his 3d one is on page 1 or 2 of cool levels right now.. its there, idk why levels don't show up like that at times.

hilightnotes
07-26-2009, 09:55 PM
I found it.

I thought it was really neat, but it definitely wasn't the limit. I still really want to see what some amazing creators can make with the glitch! Let's see some epic backgrounds :p

v0rtex
07-27-2009, 12:03 AM
If you use R2 to go all the way back to the back-most thin plane, you can then use R1 to toggle between those last four. But you can also use L1 (when it's at the thin plane) and it will jump forward one full plane, and you then do R1/R2 again to toggel betwixt those four planes. Move it back to the thin plane and press L1 again, and up another layer she jumps, and so on and so on. Using this technique you can layer objects in front of others.

Trevor
07-27-2009, 12:30 AM
I'm really frustrated at the moment because I am unable to uncopyright the layers, or do the material change thing to capture the individual layers. If someone who has all the layers unlocked could publish a copyable level with all the layers, I would be elated.

hilightnotes
07-27-2009, 03:04 AM
If you use R2 to go all the way back to the back-most thin plane, you can then use R1 to toggle between those last four. But you can also use L1 (when it's at the thin plane) and it will jump forward one full plane, and you then do R1/R2 again to toggel betwixt those four planes. Move it back to the thin plane and press L1 again, and up another layer she jumps, and so on and so on. Using this technique you can layer objects in front of others.

Yea I figured that out when experimenting as well. Unfortunately, you can't do this in the front layers, only the back layers. For the front layers, as far as I can tell, it can be brought in from the foreground-end, but not from the middle.

Also, it seems that if you gas one of the foreground bars when it is extended across many layers, it makes invisible gas (I think because the gas is 'stretched' so thin, you can't see it). This could be useful for creating borders when a player falls from a great height for example. It looks kinda ugly having gas there, so if it was invisible that might be a nice touch.

Also, at one point I had an object in a bunch of background layers, set it on fire, and there was actually a flame that flamed up in the first real layer, making it look like a real fire. Not sure if that can already be done, but it was pretty neat.


Also, a weird glitch that seems to accompany this that I experienced is that it seems you can't move as fast with your jetpack in create mode when you are near these extended layers, and I think you fall slower also. Not sure if this is something that happens every time or to what use it could be put, but it's something interesting...



@Trevor: all you have to do is select the community object, press circle to get out of it, and grab the material you want to use. Voila!

Crashdance22
07-27-2009, 12:33 PM
You can use thin layers to recreate each layer block.

theamilien
07-27-2009, 01:07 PM
are the extra layers interactive ? can you like walk on them ?

hilightnotes
07-27-2009, 03:45 PM
Unfortunately not. That would be just a little TOO crazy.

I think it's good that you can't, because this way MM might not patch it, since all it affects is the visuals really, and for the better.

Churkirby
07-27-2009, 06:47 PM
MM might not patch it, since all it affects is the visuals really, and for the better.

Well, that and making the star ratings disappear, it would seem. It's odd why that happens, but I'm sure they could at least fix that part alone without patching the glitch itself if necessary.

Theres a level titled "BREAKING NEWS! MEDIA MOLECULES STATEMENT ON THE 50 LAYER GLITCH!" on cool levels atm, which apart from shameless promotion of the person's own upcoming level, gives some *UNOFFICIAL* news on the situation, claiming Mm are now SUPPORTING the glitch and encouraging people to... 'spread the word'? It also mentions Mm saying not to publish these levels 'till late September though as it is too much for the servers to handle. (No idea) Take a look for yourself, it's quite interesting but it's understandable if some of us are a little skeptical at this moment in time. I'm not sure whether to believe this or not, but it seems to be a fairly reliable source... perhaps. Apparently an official employee "LBP_level_critic" is happy to answer questions about the subject.

If this is all true, this is fantastic! Definitely the most revolutionary glitch in LBP so far, and it would be great if LBP are really supporting it and not just removing the glitch as they did with others.

Arkei
07-27-2009, 07:16 PM
I don't like how the objects have to reach to the very front or the very back.

Crashdance22
07-28-2009, 02:22 AM
Can someone lock this please? Apparently the main discussion thread will be discussion for this from now on.

Whalio Cappuccino
07-28-2009, 02:25 AM
Locked by request.

:)