PDA

View Full Version : A How to on making layers, and putting objects in the background - TEXT ONLY



NinjaMicWZ
07-29-2009, 11:13 AM
The front layers work the same way as the back layer ones... well at least the one's I made do. If you're working with the front layer block that thi gives you, you can only cut into it and embed stuff onto it using the 3 regular planes.

If you want to make your own editable, individual front and back layers -

Select thi667's back layer block from your community objects

Cancel it without placing it

Go to your popit and select a new material, any shape, and make your own block. Capture it so that you have a non-community tagged version you can edit.

Use your trigger buttons to thin this object all the way to the back layer as far as it will go, but don't move it.

Capture that.

Make a dark matter block with an emitter and a sensor switch on it.

Set the emitter to infinite lifespan, max emittered infinite, 95 at a time (just to have breathing room).

Move this block to the regular back layer. Connect your sensor switch, and set the sensor switch to 1 shot.

Activate it once.

Move the emitter block forward and over a space.

Activate it again to make a layer that's closer to the normal layers.

Move the emitter block forward and over a space again.

Activate it again and you have 3 blocks.

Capture the 3rd block you made, and move the emitter block back to the 3rd regular plane again

Repeat the process, capturing the newest block everytime.

Once you have a full set of layers that touch to the regular layers (or more), capture the whole set.

Take your emitter block that you've been using and move it into the front most regular layer.

Put this set of layer blocks you've made in the emitter.

Move it back to the 3rd regular plane as if you're attempting to make a layer that's even further back.

Activate the emitter.

Instead of emitting this set further back than it was, it will emit the furthest block into the 3rd layer and closest block into the forward layers.

Line all of these up as best as you can.

When you try to copy these objects, the layer sets will copy as one object instead of individual blocks.

You will have to copy the sets, and remove extra blocks one at a time until you have isolated a copy of each block that isn't "attached" to a set of blocks.

Once you have this whole set of blocks, you can capture it, and make layers way too far into the front... moreso than is even visible.

Making thin layers out of these is just a matter of patience.

-------------
-------------
-------------

It's tedious to do all this, and requires time as well as patience, but you will be able to work with them quicker and easier, and do more with them once you make your own individual blocks, as thi's layer blocks will only allow you to move back a layer or embed and cut into them. The front layer block is almost useless as anything other than making a plain, flat terrain.

-------------
-------------
-------------

You can also make your own single blocks that connect all the way through the layers like this -

Put all of your layer blocks in one line using the grid, and make sure it's all dark matter. Grab any dark matter block that's breaking the boundaries, push in the right stick to copy it. Don't move anywhere, press your trigger buttons to make it 3 planes thick and embed this copy into all 3 blocks. Plan your block selections carefully, and keep repeating this until you've got a perfect line that's all one block existing on all planes.

-------------
-------------
-------------

If you temporarily change your materials to dark matter, and use the grid, they will slide together in front of each other no matter what... then glue them together use L1 or L2 pushes, then change the material back to whatever you want.

You can also bypass the 1st/7th layer collision by embedding you regular layer objects into the extra back and front. For example, a 3 plane staircase with thin plane railings on the side... it won't let you slide this object between the extra layers, but you can copy it and then physically place it front of it. As long as dark matter is holding all of this stuff in place somewhere, it won't flip out and go crazy.

-------------
-------------
-------------

To make even more layers in the back, just select a single layer block that's already in the background and use your R1 and R2 buttons to make it thin and thick, until it moves further and further back.

-------------
-------------
-------------

To put objects of almost any kind into the front and back layers, take a single block, or set of blocks of dark matter that sit in the regular 3 layers and also extend past the normal 3 layers... preferably extending into both the back and front.

Attach the desired object to one of the piece of dark matter that is on the regular planes.

Make an emitter block, with a 1 shot sensor switch attached to it, and set the emitter to 1 at a time, infinite max, and infinite lifetime.

Make this emitter block a thin layer and put it all the way in the back.

Capture your attached object along with the dark matter layer-line, and put it in the emitter.

Move the emitter all the way forward, and then trigger it. The object should now be somewhere in the front layer.

Recapture that, and put it in the emitter again.

Now move it back to the very back layer, and trigger it again.

The object should now be in the back glitched layers.

You can adjust where the object will be by starting it on different regular planes, by how many glitch layers you're working with, and by picking and choosing how you move the emitter block back and forth when recapturing and reemitting the object.

Drag and select the dark matter block(s) and delete them from the object. Attach a small piece of dark matter to the object to keep it stable.

OmegaSlayer
07-29-2009, 12:58 PM
I don't think I'll ever use this glitch, but thanks anyway for your hard work to explain to us.

chezhead
07-29-2009, 03:33 PM
They are WAY too tedious to work with, and I am one of the most impatient people I know.
I do hope this benifits the community and I want to see some pretty coo stuff with it!

ARD
07-30-2009, 07:27 PM
There is a much, much easier way to do this.
If only I could find that **** message! ARGH!

goldenclaw13
07-31-2009, 01:29 AM
I don't quite understand what this is...I keep getting lost at the emitting part?

Can you explain what this does in the end?

Dexist
07-31-2009, 07:01 AM
Waldo made some ice.darkmatter blocks (thin and thick) in his copyable level, for alot of layesr fore- and background. you can do edit these blocks to what ever you want(material change and conrner editing)

gevurah22
08-04-2009, 05:24 AM
Thanks for the tutorial. I found it weird how you couldn't edit the back layers in front view.

goldenclaw13
08-05-2009, 06:50 PM
Someone tell me how this is useful?

Is it so that we can edit any single layer that we want? If so, you just thin bakscratches object all the way to the back, and then continue hitting r1 and r2 and eventually it goes to the layer you want...

galacemiguel
09-07-2009, 09:40 AM
I tried placing a checkpoint in the background to see if Sackboy could actually access the background layers. Unfortunately, this doesn't work. :( It would have been so cool.

ARD
09-07-2009, 09:48 AM
^^^^^^

Yeah, I've tried that before.
I still haven't messed with this properly though since it became public. I should, really.

Night Angel
09-07-2009, 03:36 PM
^^^^^^

Yeah, I've tried that before.
I still haven't messed with this properly though since it became public. I should, really.

Yeah, same here. It's a shame I haven't even messed with this yet. I have to b before they patch it up.

ARD
09-07-2009, 03:52 PM
Really all I ever did with this was make a really long tunnel...and discover an incredibly annoying glitch while trying to recreate it...lol

BabyDoll1970
09-09-2009, 03:29 AM
Let me see if I understand this... If i'm going to use bakskratch's background layers, I CAN'T have a thin layer at the back of the regular blocks? Because when I put the background in, everything in that thin back regular layer gets broken. Is there any way around that? I need that back thin layer : (

gevurah22
09-09-2009, 03:37 AM
Let me see if I understand this... If i'm going to use bakskratch's background layers, I CAN'T have a thin layer at the back of the regular blocks? Because when I put the background in, everything in that thin back regular layer gets broken. Is there any way around that? I need that back thin layer : (

You either have to glue it to something or place some dark matter on it. Thin layers are totally possible, like in my Comic-con level here.

YouTube - [LBP] LBP @ Comic-con 2009 by gevurah22

Everything in the background is glued to something or glued to invisible dark matter.

BabyDoll1970
09-09-2009, 08:15 AM
Great! I will try that, thanks! Your Comic-Con level just looks fantastic... it's on my 'must play' list now : ) Did you place objects the way that's described at the very top of this tutorial? That seems so complicated.

jfernatt
09-09-2009, 05:56 PM
If you blocked off the front layers and put the checkpoint in the back could the player access the back layers I wonder?

gevurah22
09-10-2009, 05:17 AM
Great! I will try that, thanks! Your Comic-Con level just looks fantastic... it's on my 'must play' list now : ) Did you place objects the way that's described at the very top of this tutorial? That seems so complicated.

Thanks man! I did use the tutorial for the most part. I did a little modification in regards to getting them on different planes in the front. They all work rather differently so it really takes a bit of practice to mess around with them.

lbpholic
10-22-2009, 08:02 AM
now that seemed very complicated i really appreciate you posting all that up there but could you possible make it into a video cause i personally can understand things easier if i see them happening but thanks for all your hard work anyway.