PDA

View Full Version : Can't Create Threads



Haleys_Papa
11-10-2009, 04:48 AM
I'm having big problems with posting threads. I keep getting a message saying that The tag I specified was too short! Where the hell do I specify a tag?! I've been looking for an hour!

Please help me! :grr:

ChristmasJew
11-10-2009, 04:52 AM
Anyone else seeing the irony here?

Haleys_Papa
11-10-2009, 05:02 AM
Yeah, I know............Here I am having trouble creating threads when I just made one about not being able to create one. LOL! Kinda made me think there. However, for some reason it happened. Does anyone know why? Just so I have a better understanding of how it happened so I can avoid the problem in the future.

Thanks.

Morgana25
11-10-2009, 05:17 AM
sounds like the problem is in the tags of the thread. I think they have to be more than 3 characters or something. (without making one myself I don't know exactly how many) Try taking the shortest of the tags out and the thread should work just fine :) If it doesn't post again and I'll try and help.

mrsupercomputer
11-10-2009, 05:23 AM
Moved to Site Feedback.

What exactly were you trying to make a thread for? The tags are automatically generated from the title. If your title was really short, it might give you problems. Perhaps adding in some longer words would do the trick.

If that's not it, then let us know exactly what you did so we can try to figure it out.

Haleys_Papa
11-10-2009, 05:36 AM
^ Thanks. Well, the thread I was trying to post was my "Meetin and Greetin" thread in the Introduce Yourselves board. I noticed that once I replaced the ampersand with the written form, "and", it posted fine. It was weird because my original title was definitely more than 3 characters. Quite a pickle.....yes....quite a pickle indeed. At any rate, seems to be cleared up now. I'll just have to refrain from using special characters within my subject lines.

Thanks for the help.

Whalio Cappuccino
11-10-2009, 08:58 AM
^ Thanks. Well, the thread I was trying to post was my "Meetin and Greetin" thread in the Introduce Yourselves board. I noticed that once I replaced the ampersand with the written form, "and", it posted fine. It was weird because my original title was definitely more than 3 characters. Quite a pickle.....yes....quite a pickle indeed. At any rate, seems to be cleared up now. I'll just have to refrain from using special characters within my subject lines.

Thanks for the help.

Just an extra if in the future you run into this problem again, an option you can take is...

Using long words when creating the thread, then going back into the thread title and editing it with the words desired from the start.

ConfusedCartman
11-10-2009, 09:05 AM
I could have sworn I disabled the addon that causes this! Let me go take a look...

Edit: I just uninstalled the addon completely. If you have any more problems, give me a shout and I'll see what else I can do. :)

Haleys_Papa
11-10-2009, 01:03 PM
Awesome! Thanks Cartman, the help was much appreciated. If I receive anymore problems, I know who to go to. ;)