PDA

View Full Version : Server Optimization



ConfusedCartman
12-16-2009, 12:37 AM
Hey guys - we're having huge spikes in server stress almost daily, and we're trying to nail down the source, so we're going to start disabling certain plugins until the spikes go away. Once the stress lightens up, we'll start trying different combinations of plugins until we know for sure which one(s) is/are causing the problem. For now, we've disabled these features:

Automatic Media Embed - Links to videos will no longer embed themselves automatically.

Personal Sticky Threads - If you used this system, your personal stickies will not be "stuck" anymore. If you don't know what this system is, then you don't have to worry about it because it won't affect you.

Similar Thread Check - When making a new thread, it will no longer check for similar threads automatically.

These changes are temporary, while we work to find the cause of the server spikes. For those of you who are wondering why we're doing all of this, take a look at this graph:


http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/5710/serverloadsw.jpg

The goal is to keep our server load at or under 1. As you can see in the graph, when these spikes happen the server load jumps to over twenty, sometimes almost hitting thirty. That's definitely not good, and we're working to bring that down. My guess is it's a rogue plugin/addon that's working way too hard and causing problems, so we're disabling certain plugins until we see a drop in server load. We'll keep you guys updated.

JKthree
12-16-2009, 12:44 AM
So I guess that other problem wasn't it. And just opening this post is giving me some weird things. I put an attachment. Hope this helps in some way.

ConfusedCartman
12-16-2009, 12:53 AM
So I guess that other problem wasn't it. And just opening this post is giving me some weird things. I put an attachment. Hope this helps in some way.
Have you tried clearing your browser's cache and cookies?

applepod124
12-16-2009, 12:59 AM
I got this:
Warning: in_array() [function.in-array]: Wrong datatype for second argument in [path]/showthread.php(2156) : eval()'d code on line 429 same as JKThree. hmmm. edit: it only happens on showthread. weird.

warlord_evil
12-16-2009, 01:02 AM
How funny, I get a database error if I directly click on "Site Updates", but not when I click this thread.
EDIT:Actually, I get a error if I click on any main thread areas...

ConfusedCartman
12-16-2009, 01:17 AM
I got this:
Warning: in_array() [function.in-array]: Wrong datatype for second argument in [path]/showthread.php(2156) : eval()'d code on line 429
same as JKThree. hmmm. edit: it only happens on showthread. weird.

How funny, I get a database error if I directly click on "Site Updates", but not when I click this thread.
EDIT:Actually, I get a error if I click on any main thread areas...
Sorry guys, that was an error related to Personal Sticky Threads - turns out there was some code that was left over after I disabled it that was causing the error. It's been fixed. :)

ConfusedCartman
12-16-2009, 02:48 AM
This is a double-post, but I have new info regarding the site that may be good news:

When the site went down again about 30 minutes ago, I did some more research into what could be causing the problem, and there was a strong correlation (http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&hs=dLl&q=vBSEO+high+server+load&aq=f&oq=&aqi=) between vBSEO* and high server loads. Some even complained of significantly high server loads on shared servers, such as the one we have (one server manages LBPCentral, MNRCentral, and the rest of our site founder's websites). We have disabled that plugin and we hope that solves the server load issues we've been having. Stay tuned for more - we'll keep you guys updated.

*VBSEO is a plugin that scans the site and generates what's called a "sitemap" for search engines. It helped keep our content more easily accessible by sites like Google and Yahoo, which meant a higher listing in search results. However, a higher listing in search results is useless if we go down this often, so it's been removed.

Astrosimi
12-16-2009, 02:53 AM
That plugin, VBSEO; has it been updated recently or have you installed it recently? Otherwise I'd find it odd if it just started giving us problems out of the blue. That is of course, considering we've had a for a while. It would seem normal if you'd just intalled it.

Just thinking aloud here ;)

ConfusedCartman
12-16-2009, 03:00 AM
That plugin, VBSEO; has it been updated recently or have you installed it recently? Otherwise I'd find it odd if it just started giving us problems out of the blue. That is of course, considering we've had a for a while. It would seem normal if you'd just intalled it.

Just thinking aloud here ;)
These server spikes have been happening for months now, actually. We just haven't felt the effects of them because we haven't hit that "ceiling" that MySQL poses. MySQL is a database solution, which allows us to store threads/posts/other information in a database, which can then be used by the site in any number of ways. MySQL also has a set of settings which prevent the number of simultaneous connections from going too high. What's happened with us is, we just recently began hitting that limit, so the effects of the server load haven't been apparent until now. We're growing daily, and we added another site to the roster over the summer, so all of those things added up to more pressure on the server until we hit that "ceiling" I mentioned.

Now, keep in mind: vBSEO may very well not be the source of the problem. It likely is, but I've been wrong before and I don't want to give any false hope just yet. Rest assured, however, that if we do run into more problems, I'll be working to solve them.

applepod124
12-16-2009, 03:07 AM
LBPc and MNRc are hosted on the same shared server? maybe move to a VPS?

ConfusedCartman
12-16-2009, 03:13 AM
LBPc and MNRc are hosted on the same shared server? maybe move to a VPS?
If we encounter more problems in the future we'll consider moving to independent servers or something of that nature (a VPS is one option), but the price is something we've got to consider and right now, I'd rather just find a way to work with what we've got.

comphermc
12-16-2009, 03:20 AM
Thanks for all your continued efforts, CC. We appreciate what you do for us!

*group hug*

Come here ya little rascal! :)

Edit: I followed that link and learned that I do not yet know enough about running this site to overthrow you... all in good time... ;)

Incinerator22
12-16-2009, 08:12 PM
Three times already I got the "internet explorer cannot display the webpage" message. (With my internet up, working fine.) So is this why?

warlord_evil
12-16-2009, 10:00 PM
Do you think this has anything with all the new members and data saved here? About 3-7 members join everyday. I know almost nothing about data on websites, but I'm just throwing out a idea.

ConfusedCartman
12-16-2009, 10:59 PM
*sigh*

I really am at a loss for finding the cause of this. I'm going to go out on a limb and disable vBExperience for a day or two, and see if things get any better. I really hope that's not what's causing the problem, but I have to be sure.

For those of you worried, don't - when we re-enable vBExperience, it will take into account all of the posts you've made over the time it was down. You won't lose anything except the ability to use the system for a couple of days. Sorry for the inconvenience. :/