PDA

View Full Version : Question about circuit boards



Scifiguy
08-14-2010, 07:42 PM
I'm a little bit unclear as to what circuit boards do. Do they just save physical space or do they save thermometer space as well. For example, would two proximity switches and an emitter take up the same amount of thermometer space when they're collapsed in a circuit board as they would when they're attached to say, a piece of cardboard?

robotiod
08-14-2010, 07:47 PM
I'm a little bit unclear as to what circuit boards do. Do they just save physical space or do they save thermometer space as well. For example, would two proximity switches and an emitter take up the same amount of thermometer space when they're collapsed in a circuit board as they would when they're attached to say, a piece of cardboard?

Circuit boards are there to build your logic on, we all know that. You can expand them to build your logic and ten close them to keep your level tidy.
They apparently save on a lot of thermo but until people can actually test this it remains to be seen by how much. But since all logic now comes as tools in the popit it is likely that logic will be easier to build and cheaper in terms of thermo. And much cleaner since it doesn't have to fill physical level space.

Incinerator22
08-14-2010, 07:49 PM
You can expand them to build your logic and ten close them to keep your level tidy.

They're mostly for logic, but you can put sounds, switches, and certain other things in them too.

mudhut4
08-17-2010, 05:13 PM
I think they act as anything you put in them, but they work all inside the circuitboard combined eg. a sackbot enemy with a proximity activated laser gun with full sound effects, even though you can't attach them on the side you can add them onto the sackbot's circuitboard

Moony
08-18-2010, 02:56 AM
Whatever's on them takes no thermo, as far as I know.

lyrradXOX
08-18-2010, 02:59 AM
Whatever's on them takes no thermo, as far as I know.

Hmm... I hope Moony's correct :)

Moony
08-18-2010, 03:04 AM
I hope I am too. I have a reputation to uphold.

rtm223
08-18-2010, 02:24 PM
Where did you get that from? Stuff inside a closed microchip will take up less thermo than if it wasn't... But as far as I'm aware it's certainly not 0. And it also that makes no sense - the logic still needs to be processed and the structures stored in memory.

Rogar
08-18-2010, 02:39 PM
But it's not subject to physics, which makes it a lot easier to store and process. I could see it taking virtually no thermo, compared to the current logic, but I wouldn't make such a bold statement as Moony without a source to back me up. :p

rtm223
08-18-2010, 02:45 PM
Oh yeah, but that's true of all the "electronic" components, they don't rely on physics and so an OR gate object requires far less thermo than a mechanical counterpart. And then once you put it into a microchip it should reduce it further.

But it's not 0 and if you're doing anything that isn't completely noddy then you will certainly start to notice the thermo used by your logic.

But microchips do a whole bunch of other stuff in addition to just putting other logic inside them, I/O ports and enable signals make a massive difference to the functionality and how you use them.