PDA

View Full Version : Assign Minimum (and Maximum) Number of Players



Linque
10-19-2008, 07:41 PM
I'm going to make levels where you need at least two players to finish them. I'd like to be able to set the minimum number of players for a level. I can artificially set it by designing the starting spawn in a certain way, but it'd be nicer if you could set such limitations so that you can't enter at all if you don't have enough players in the game.

EDIT:
Also, setting the maximum number of players would be useful. There's bound to be levels which you only want played alone, or max 2 or 3 players. Currently, there's no way of preventing four players from playing any level.

ClankXIII
10-19-2008, 07:44 PM
I second that notion. :)

Crowlerzors
10-19-2008, 07:51 PM
You could put two buttons down and you need to press both to make a wall (blocking you from playing the level) move out of the way, which would require two people. Just a suggestion :)

dorien
10-19-2008, 07:57 PM
You could put two buttons down and you need to press both to make a wall (blocking you from playing the level) move out of the way, which would require two people. Just a suggestion :)

That what he ment when he was saying he could force it at the start but he is just saying he would like the option to set it so they know before they even come into the level and can't access it without the minimum set

I would love this option as i made a level in the beta that need all 4 sackboys to play the level and to finish it and no one played it once lol

ClankXIII
10-19-2008, 08:01 PM
That what he ment when he was saying he could force it at the start but he is just saying he would like the option to set it so they know before they even come into the level and can't access it without the minimum set

I would love this option as i made a level in the beta that need all 4 sackboys to play the level and to finish it and no one played it once lol

Oh wow. I thought he meant to restrict to only as many as two players. lol :p

But that idea is good too. :hero:

Linque
10-19-2008, 08:02 PM
Oh wow. I thought he meant to restrict to only as many as two players. lol :p

But that idea is good too. :hero:

Setting Maximum number of players would be useful as well, actually. Thanks for pointing it out.

Mark D. Stroyer
10-19-2008, 08:12 PM
Well, there's always the physical block which you can do. There's that one signpost where you pass it and it prevents people from joining. If you place it after a simple gate, then that could work. You know, something where two people have to simultaneously hold down their own buttons, and once pressed a wall closes behind them, and the wall in front of them opens. At which point they pass the "none can join" sign.

And reverse-engineer for different amounts. Lots of different ways you can get it done, that's just an example that'd be fairly easy to do.

Edit: Oops, I just noticed that someone else already posted a similar thing. Well, I'll leave this up, anyway.

ClankXIII
10-19-2008, 08:14 PM
WTF? How do you edit thread titles? lol :p

KAPBAM
10-19-2008, 08:18 PM
You could put two buttons down and you need to press both to make a wall (blocking you from playing the level) move out of the way, which would require two people. Just a suggestion :)

That's a good solution exept for one thing. See this problem's been bugging me too but from a different perspective. I mada a level (Going Up!) that is just a PAIN to play when you are more then one player because of the camera. There is just NO way to get past one of the sections without leaving your buddy behind. So it would be nice to be able to set a level to only allow say 1 player or 3 players, depending on the needs of the level.

Now the problem with making people enter your level then press buttons to get through (for example) is that you are waisting their time, annoying them and thus making it less likely they will come back to play it with the right number of players. Wheras if they cannot get in the level without their buddy, they might just note it and come back later with the right number and go play it.

RAINFIRE
10-19-2008, 09:37 PM
that is a good idea and it would be really useful if you could just do it so they would not have to enter the level to find out that they need 2 people

ClankXIII
10-19-2008, 09:42 PM
For right now all we can do is put up those [Sackboy Sticker] x 2 signs, and put 'Two Players Required' in the description hoping that they'll read it.

dorien
10-19-2008, 09:50 PM
For right now all we can do is put up those [Sackboy Sticker] x 2 signs, and put 'Two Players Required' in the description hoping that they'll read it.

Yeah in my 4 player level i put in the description that you needed 4 players to play the level and no one played it lol Hopefully this was due to the really bad lag we were getting in the beta that no one was willing to try it as i would like puzzle levels that require cooperation

12454522412412
10-20-2008, 03:05 AM
in order to force haveing 4 people you can set up a series of dissolvable blocks. then have 3 buttons raise the 3 blocks... the fourth guy has to press a button on the other side to dissolve the blocks and allow the other guys through...

one way to force people to only be able to play with 1 person is to have a dissolveable block with a platform with room for only one sackboy... when he steps on it the floor falls away and kills the other people... then a grabable chain comes down and he can grab onto it and continue w/ the level

aer0blue
10-20-2008, 05:58 AM
This function would be very, VERY useful. I have plans on making 2-player levels, so...