PDA

View Full Version : Makeing trains should be less frustraiting



OJJ09874
08-23-2010, 05:25 PM
Makeing trains with wheels has got to be the worst thing ever I tried makeing a train that runs on its own also If I want to edit the veicle i have to pick it up but I tried to pick it up it brakes and I have to rewind media molecule shouldent have made metal heavy

Adding the wheels is also annoying you have to get something for the wheel to spin on and that means you have to stick the wheel connector to the veicle and If the train is touching anything It sticks to that as well and you have to detach that thing and I that object is connected to anything else its an epic facepalm moment

Also the wheels need to be level or you get a lopsided train and dosednt work most of the time

Also there are no materials that work out to make a train If there is it is definately is hard to get

And even when youve made the train theres no way to say that its going to work most of the time it brakes aswell , gets stuck on the background etc.
:frightened:
I hope it gets fixed in LBP 2
:)

Silverleon
08-23-2010, 05:54 PM
Not make metal heavy?
Are you saying that because you think so or just necause it would work for your convenience in this exact situation? -_-

If you're having so much trouble building a train, why not look around the millions of levels out there, there are plenty ones with good trains, or you can also look for people to help you build the train, right here in this forum, we got many talented creators, many which would be glad to help. :)

So don't worry dude, its possible, you just haven't found just the right way to do it. :)

Amigps
08-23-2010, 06:26 PM
Sounds to me more like a case of laziness rather than the game having a problem. Btw to get everything exactly leveled there's this tool in the start menu called The Grid. Maybe you should use it sometime :)

RangerZero
08-23-2010, 06:31 PM
Well, making trains aren't that hard...

Take a look at my "Crazy Train" level. It's actually that level that mostly started the train crazyness on the Cool Level pages. I can explain to you how it's done if you want.

:)

Nuclearfish
08-23-2010, 06:55 PM
Good thing LBP2 has a "Create Instant Train" button!

bikerider12
08-23-2010, 07:39 PM
I rember that you can set an object so it will not break under a huge load, witch seems like what you need. (well, i think i rember)
but also, it seems like when you try to pick up the train you only click on one of the cars. try to select the WHOLE train befor you try to move it.
To the wheel thing, if you have the motor bolt near the center, it will lock in dead center. or if you have one that lines up with one of the grids, it would help alot.

sackboi
08-24-2010, 08:37 AM
Good thing LBP2 has a "Create Instant Train" button!

haha. Is it really that hard. sounds to me like your just overcomplicating it all. just make it 1 thick and 1 thin on front. that way you cant still make a good train but it wont get stuck on any backgrounds. plus just make it in pause mode in the air and it wont get stuck anywhere.

Bluetoes1
08-24-2010, 03:53 PM
The only thing i have trouble with when making a train is the illusion of making it drive forever with the moving background. Still not sure how to do that, but maybe i'm just bad a making trains :P

RangerZero
08-24-2010, 04:53 PM
The only thing i have trouble with when making a train is the illusion of making it drive forever with the moving background. Still not sure how to do that, but maybe i'm just bad a making trains :P

You need to so your background and tracks are in fact vehicules (on motor wheels). Then you emit them successively, infinitely. If you want to see what effect it can create, look at my level, that's exactly what I did.

:)

Bluetoes1
08-24-2010, 11:01 PM
Ok thanks for the tip Rangerzero, i'll go check out your level

PS: For some reason i can never quote since it just gets stuck on "loading" :S