PDA

View Full Version : AssassinatorRFC's guide to cutscenes



AssassinatorRFC
08-24-2010, 06:46 AM
Hello all,

This is my tutorial to creating cutscenes for your levels and i am showing a video of a simple version! :p


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyoU0oEJr-s

hope this helps! Let me know!

littlebigmeteor
08-25-2010, 01:50 PM
Wow, this helps a LOT! Thank you! :)

Fish94
08-25-2010, 02:10 PM
I use to have a similar technique to this, very useful video :)
Oh, and I think this should be in "Tutorials"

trip090
08-25-2010, 08:52 PM
Nice, very well done. Although this should be the Tutorial section, I think.

BlackThornDust
08-29-2010, 09:49 AM
very usefull i wonder how you make a opening like in the mgs levels might you know that to
?

Nytroxz
08-31-2010, 12:08 AM
Thanks this really helps.

Blackfalcon
09-03-2010, 03:27 PM
Any reason you use a car instead of a block on a piston?

http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/272671-Blackfalcon/671/5/animal0064hb2_display.gif

OK1124
09-04-2010, 03:20 AM
Any reason you use a car instead of a block on a piston?

http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/272671-Blackfalcon/671/5/animal0064hb2_display.gif

Well, the piston could go back and forth.

And assassinatorrfc, that was a pretty good tutorial! Keep up the good work! :)

goldenclaw13
09-04-2010, 06:47 AM
Well, the piston could go back and forth.

And assassinatorrfc, that was a pretty good tutorial! Keep up the good work! :)

Not if you make sure that when you activate the cut scene, the mag key/sensor switch is set to direction. Although it would be better to activate a permanent switch first.

I've never used cars. I feel they could be too unstable, especially if something goes wrong in the level...

Blackfalcon
09-04-2010, 09:11 AM
Yeah a Permanent Switch set to directional would work fine. I agree that cars can be a bit unreliable, I always use pistons for logic.

http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/272671-Blackfalcon/671/5/animal0064hb2_display.gif

Asbestos101
09-04-2010, 10:29 PM
Yeah a Permanent Switch set to directional would work fine. I agree that cars can be a bit unreliable, I always use pistons for logic.

http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/272671-Blackfalcon/671/5/animal0064hb2_display.gif

Same here.

OK1124
09-05-2010, 10:03 PM
Wow! I just tried this and it worked really well! AND it solved my disappearing mouth problem! :O


Not if you make sure that when you activate the cut scene, the mag key/sensor switch is set to direction. Although it would be better to activate a permanent switch first.

I've never used cars. I feel they could be too unstable, especially if something goes wrong in the level...

Yeah, I guess that could work too. :)

AssassinatorRFC
09-05-2010, 11:40 PM
very usefull i wonder how you make a opening like in the mgs levels might you know that to
?

Which one in particular?

And the reason I use a car is because it is easier to control the speed and you don't need to re edit if you want to add more to the cutscene.

Blackfalcon
09-06-2010, 03:15 PM
That seems fair enough, I'd usually script a cutscene on paper and know exactly how long it would be so in that case a piston would work fine. But your method really does work just as well and I shouldn't criticise it.

http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/272671-Blackfalcon/671/5/animal0064hb2_display.gif

bob is named bob
09-10-2010, 03:15 AM
Cool tut, too bad lbp2 is right around the corner and making cutscenes will be even easier

Jonak
09-10-2010, 05:15 AM
*Agrees with Bob*

But at the same time, for those people who won't be getting LBP2 right away, this has all sorts of uses.

MobiusDT
09-11-2010, 04:07 PM
could someone put up a link, video never shows up in the forum here for me.

Blackfalcon
09-11-2010, 05:12 PM
Here you go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyoU0oEJr-s&

:)

http://i.neoseeker.com/mgv/272671-Blackfalcon/671/5/animal0064hb2_display.gif