PDA

View Full Version : Help Making A Truck



TenderTalons
10-21-2008, 10:15 PM
Hello, all. Nice to see a solid community for LBP already up and running.

Anyway, I need a little help building a truck. I've been trying to replicate the conditions of a pre-built car I aquired over the course of the game, but whatever I do I can't seem to get the wheels to spin.

The body of the truck is made of Basic Cardboard, the tires are rubber and are connected to a "floating" piece of wafer thin cardboard to which is connected the tires and a stiff spring. The spring is connected to the wheel well of the back layer of the body. Each piece of the body is wafer thin and each is on a seperate plane only one plane apart. It is connected by small amounts of Fat 1 basic cardboard. The motor bolts on the wheels are nearly larger than the wheels themselves, and the bolts are connected to a 3-way switch in the bed of the truck or on top of the truck (I've been switching back and forth hoping for different results).

Everything I do, every setting I tweak, I can NOT get those wheels to spin. Any help is appreciated. :)

docpac
10-21-2008, 10:20 PM
Hello, all. Nice to see a solid community for LBP already up and running.

Anyway, I need a little help building a truck. I've been trying to replicate the conditions of a pre-built car I aquired over the course of the game, but whatever I do I can't seem to get the wheels to spin.

The body of the truck is made of Basic Cardboard, the tires are rubber and are connected to a "floating" piece of wafer thin cardboard to which is connected the tires and a stiff spring. The spring is connected to the wheel well of the back layer of the body. Each piece of the body is wafer thin and each is on a seperate plane only one plane apart. It is connected by small amounts of Fat 1 basic cardboard. The motor bolts on the wheels are nearly larger than the wheels themselves, and the bolts are connected to a 3-way switch in the bed of the truck or on top of the truck (I've been switching back and forth hoping for different results).

Everything I do, every setting I tweak, I can NOT get those wheels to spin. Any help is appreciated. :)

Whoa. That is pretty weird. It seems like you have everything hooked up right. The switch hooked up to each motorbolt, the springs connect the wheels to the frame. Did you place the wheels after you connected the springs to the floating piece of cardboard?

Make sure you didn't accidentally glue the wheels to the floor. This sounds like what you did and is a pretty common mistake of mine. :)

dorien
10-21-2008, 10:38 PM
Whoa. That is pretty weird. It seems like you have everything hooked up right. The switch hooked up to each motorbolt, the springs connect the wheels to the frame. Did you place the wheels after you connected the springs to the floating piece of cardboard?

Make sure you didn't accidentally glue the wheels to the floor. This sounds like what you did and is a pretty common mistake of mine. :)

Yeah as docpac said, you have to put the wheels on after you put the motor bolts on the wheels. I kept forgetting this at first lol
So try detaching the wheel then re placing it with the motor bolt already on the wheel. You should hear the sound of a compressor ratchet that is used by mechanics to put wheels on :):D

TenderTalons
10-21-2008, 11:07 PM
Thanks for the quick response!

I went back and did as you both suggested. Before, I had put the motors on the wheels after I had the wheels connected to the carboard. I went back and put the motor bolts on the wheels and then attached the wheels to the floating piece and still no result. Nor did I hear the compressor ratchet sound dorien mentioned. *sigh* I'm not an engineering genius (or amatuer at that) so I don't understand the problem I'm having.

BTW, the wheels weren't glued to the floor. Luckily I'm not a total ponce.

ConfusedCartman
10-21-2008, 11:54 PM
This might be a stupid suggestion, but here we go:

There is no space separating the wheel and the frame, is there? If so, it won't hook up.

mikeniccy
10-22-2008, 12:06 AM
I made a level with a jeep here.

YouTube - Little big planet "Temple Ruins" v3.1

I'm kinda confused. My design sounds similar. I had a spring in the wheel well connected to a round piece of cardboard and mounted the wheel on that with a motor bolt. I used a grab switch however. What are the settings for your switch?

Also I never put my motor bolts on the tires before attaching to my objects. I don't know worked for me in the beta.

Also can somebody remind me how to embed video. I think areoblue helped me before. I always used that post as a reference, but its gone now.:)

ClankXIII
10-22-2008, 12:10 AM
Juat a little hint. When you want to copy a wheel, don't just place it somewhere and assume it's connected, you have to use the Pop-It Cursor to select that wheel and place it on to makes that "Reooooww Reaooowww!" but it's not a cat. lol! :p

Whalio Cappuccino
10-22-2008, 02:14 AM
I made a level with a jeep here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_uHltA71dY

I'm kinda confused. My design sounds similar. I had a spring in the wheel well connected to a round piece of cardboard and mounted the wheel on that with a motor bolt. I used a grab switch however. What are the settings for your switch?

Also I never put my motor bolts on the tires before attaching to my objects. I don't know worked for me in the beta.

Also can somebody remind me how to embed video. I think areoblue helped me before. I always used that post as a reference, but its gone now.:)

All you do is take that whole code after the "=" sign, copy it, and paste it between two youtube tags, The first one should look like this [.YOUTUBE] and the second one should look like this [./YOUTUBE] <--- Only difference is the backwards slash. ( Or is a forward slash? :p )


EDIT: Take out the "."s from the code. Wouldn't let me paste it or it would show a big white box.

RAINFIRE
10-22-2008, 05:24 AM
O_O i did not know you could attatch something to a wafer thin piece, got to try that out when i get the game

TenderTalons
10-22-2008, 06:33 AM
This might be a stupid suggestion, but here we go:

There is no space separating the wheel and the frame, is there? If so, it won't hook up.

No, there's no space. The tire is Fat 1, and the space between the two planes of the frame of the truck is a Fat 1 width. I have an idea of what might be wrong. I'm going to test it out and edit this post.

EDIT: So the problem was I was gluing the wheel to the floating piece and not just placing it, which activates the bolt to hold and not the wheel. I feel pretty silly right now. :/
I happened to notice as well that the bolt turned red and made the compresion ratchet noise which did not happen before, I'm guessing for this very reason.

Also, a major factor was weight. The inside was hollow, but the "cab" of the truck was solid, so I made windows. Likewise, I put the switch in the cab instead of on the roof. This also helped the weight distribution. After tweaking with the motors and the springs various settings for nearly an hour, I now have a working truck! Thanks for all the advice. Hopefully I can return the favor one day. :D

docpac
10-23-2008, 05:12 AM
No, there's no space. The tire is Fat 1, and the space between the two planes of the frame of the truck is a Fat 1 width. I have an idea of what might be wrong. I'm going to test it out and edit this post.

EDIT: So the problem was I was gluing the wheel to the floating piece and not just placing it, which activates the bolt to hold and not the wheel. I feel pretty silly right now. :/
I happened to notice as well that the bolt turned red and made the compresion ratchet noise which did not happen before, I'm guessing for this very reason.

Also, a major factor was weight. The inside was hollow, but the "cab" of the truck was solid, so I made windows. Likewise, I put the switch in the cab instead of on the roof. This also helped the weight distribution. After tweaking with the motors and the springs various settings for nearly an hour, I now have a working truck! Thanks for all the advice. Hopefully I can return the favor one day. :D

Glad to hear you got it going. That tricky glue always gets me. :)