PDA

View Full Version : Grid issues?



hairlessape
11-04-2008, 12:26 PM
Is it me or does it seem that the grid is placed kind of arbitrarily and that the different grid sizes are not scaled to each other?

I might be wrong, but it seems that the grids are not based off a world coordinate system and that they are generated from the point where you start to create the object.

DaSaintFan
11-04-2008, 04:48 PM
I don't think they are... I had that problem putting smaller legs on a separate larger object using two different grids.. The larger object actually had to fall a small fraction to make full contact.

Justin Hopewell
11-05-2008, 05:13 PM
The grids initially scale to each other, but if you resize something, then switch to a different grid size, it can totally throw everything off. Its incredibly frustrating and I can't come up with a logical explanation for it.

On the small grid, each box is 2.5 units long (units being the figures you adjust for winch and piston lengths, etc.). The Medium Grids boxes are three small boxes long, and the Big Grid boxes are three medium boxes long (or six small boxes).

So
Small - 2.5 unit squares
Medium - 7.5 unit squares
Big - 22.5 unit squares

I kind of wish the grid lengths were a more even number, maybe that's part of the problem? No idea really... lots of little glitches here and there in the editor unfortunately. I'm building a giant pachinko machine and worked on it for about three or four hours last night. I sized it down so I could paint the wood with solid colors, then when I tried to resize it, it would never return to its original dimensions. Incredibly frustrating. My options now are to rebuild the whole thing, or just deal with the fact that my creation is permanently off-grid.

PLEASE FIX THIS MM!