PDA

View Full Version : Advanced movers-Need help!



Onii55
01-20-2011, 07:52 AM
so i made something like a small vehicle and i put DCS on it. i hooked it up to an advanced mover and now it flys. but i want it to shake around a little when i move it. its really stiff and i donno how to do this. i tried all the rotators but i cant get em to work? please help

Morgana25
01-20-2011, 08:55 AM
Moved to help section



I think you may need to be more specific about how you want it to shake around. There are a few ways to move objects but it depends on how you want it to behave that determines what you'd adjust.

If it's feeling stiff you may have the dampening set too high on your Gravity Tweaker. Try reducing it down below 50% to get a little "drift" in your object's movement.

The stiffness could also be caused by a Gyroscope that is too powerful. Reduce the speed on that for a less rigid kind of look when the vehicle rotates. It's like a car self correcting itself if it's set too powerfully. (Not sure if you have one of these on your vehicle or not - some people do.)

If neither of these things is causing the stiffness, post a more specific description of what you have on the board, how it's hooked up and what you want it to do. I'm sure someone more tech savy than myself will have the answer you seek.

Good Luck!

Bremnen
01-20-2011, 09:34 AM
If you just want it to LOOK like it's shaking, it would probably be best to just put a camera on it and set the camera to shake.

Onii55
01-20-2011, 03:41 PM
so i made this rectangle just to test the flying and it flys
http://ie.lbp.me/img/ft/d2ec860ff2ca98c76ea428173d85ca1c3ef7ea2f.jpg
But its too stiff. when it flys it doesnt shake around.
for example when i move it backwards <<<< i want the fron of the vehicle to rise up a little and the back to go down a little.
thats the most precise way i can explain it.
i tried every rotator and most of them just rotates it, i also tried the anti gravity tweakers dampening, no difference,
heres how i hooked my buttons up.
http://ie.lbp.me/img/ft/d1e8f96b0cebdc514dd5bcc722d567c0e07e8b7f.jpg
I kinda want it like this. notice how the bird moves around a little when he hes moving right or left. its kinda shaking.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yh6L3jQjIBY

please help!:(

RoharDragontamer
01-20-2011, 03:50 PM
Add two gyroscopes. one oriented slightly to the left and the other slightly to the right. Attach your left/right output into a directional splitter (also keep it attached to the mover). Connect the positive output of the splitter to the left tilted gyroscope, and the negative output to the right titled gyroscope. Your box will then tilt a little bit when you move left or right.

Onii55
01-20-2011, 03:56 PM
i did as you said and when i move any direction the box tips over? can you show me if your on right now?
http://if.lbp.me/img/ft/6ffdde88fb52c5fa077e2d0eb5245b8b9db89019.jpg

SackRacer77
01-20-2011, 04:13 PM
You probably need a third gyro pointed up that turns on when you don't give any input on the stick.:p

Onii55
01-20-2011, 04:17 PM
still doesnt work =[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[

RoharDragontamer
01-20-2011, 04:34 PM
Oops SackRacer is right. Also you need to crank the strength/speed of the gyros way up. I think the dampening should be set at 60 or so.

Onii55
01-20-2011, 04:50 PM
how do i make the third gyro turn on when theres no input???

Biv
01-20-2011, 04:56 PM
how do i make the third gyro turn on when theres no input???

You need a "NOT".

The two wires you sent to the gyroscopes? Run each of those to a NOT and then sent the NOTs to an AND. Run the AND to the new gyroscope.

That tells it that when it's "not left" and "not right" then do "this".

Onii55
01-21-2011, 03:15 AM
http://i7.lbp.me/img/ft/e57a9a7f0dc959234c2c7fc4b9a137ed97386871.jpg


I did it like that and it still doesnt work. =[[[ i didnt think it would be so hard just to make it tilt. =[

Onii55
01-21-2011, 03:25 AM
it works now but the box is now standing sideways? i tried changing the up-pointed gyroscopes direction but i cant get it to stand straight . but the tilting works perfectly =]]] i just gotta flip it over to like that first pic i showed you. :S and i cant =[ fail.
http://i1.lbp.me/img/ft/d11dab5a04e4dd4601cc78e96eae7a26384129b8.jpg
please help one last time =D

RoharDragontamer
01-21-2011, 03:55 AM
Move the gyroscopes to the box itself. The orientation of your controlinator is confusing the gyroscopes.

tdarb
01-21-2011, 08:23 AM
you guys may be over thinking this.

Couldn't you put your controllinator on the object like you have it, but put all your controls on a microchip placed on a thin piece of holo material. Now use a spring bolt to attach your "ship" to the holo material that will be flying it and adjust the stiffness to your liking.

Aselrahc
02-14-2011, 06:36 PM
I had the same issue with gyroscopes on my circuit board; I just turned them to point up again and my vehicle righted itself. But putting them on the object itself would work, too.