PDA

View Full Version : How do you... Concerning Controlinator



SirGreenDay
01-21-2011, 08:37 PM
I've seen levels that are racing levels or RPG levels where the user controls a car or character etc. I'm assuming that the creator is utilizing the controlinator to control the car, person etc. How is this done? Everytime I use the controlinator the sacperson has to get in or occupy whatever the controlinator is controlling. I want to make an RPG level andcthe user cobtrols a character of my design without sering sackboy. How do you make it so that the sackperson is not visible?

MasterCreator
01-21-2011, 08:56 PM
You need to make two controlinators one on the character and another where you want your sackboy to control from, set the one on the character to receive and the other one to transmit. If you hide the transmitter you will achieve the effect you want.

Ryo_Aikyo
01-21-2011, 08:56 PM
set the bottom option in the tweak menu to invisible

Holguin86
01-21-2011, 09:37 PM
The easiest way to hide sackboy and still see the object you are controlling is to place the controlinator on the object, set it to invisible, and perhaps add a game camera to the controlinator's circuit board for finer control over your camera zone. If you want to control a sackbot, you can place a tag on the sackbot's circuit board, place an invisible controlinator on a piece of hologram set to 0% brightness, and attach a follower to the controlinator's circuit board which follows the tag in the sackbot's brain.

SirGreenDay
01-21-2011, 10:37 PM
You need to make two controlinators one on the character and another where you want your sackboy to control from, set the one on the character to receive and the other one to transmit. If you hide the transmitter you will achieve the effect you want.

Ok, so if I'm doing a driving level. I create 2 cars. I put a Contolinator on each car. I also put a Advanced Mover on each car. The Controlinator on the vehicles is set to Receiving, and the Advance Mover is setup to actually make the cars move. I also need to put a Controlinator on something that isn't seen, and those Controlinators are set to Transmit, and Invisible. It's still not working. When I go into play mode, the sackboy still appears and nothing else happens. I apologize for not getting it.

Could you tell me step by step how I can do this so when the level starts, the sackpeople are not seen, and 2 cars arecready to race (controlled by the players). Thanks so much

MasterCreator
01-21-2011, 10:46 PM
If you place the actual controlinators onto your cars and then go all the way along in your tools bad set the mode to competitive then you should have a separate camera for each player, just make sure the seats are set to invisible.

SirGreenDay
01-21-2011, 11:14 PM
If you place the actual controlinators onto your cars and then go all the way along in your tools bad set the mode to competitive then you should have a separate camera for each player, just make sure the seats are set to invisible.

Ok. I got the remote control part to work but the problem I still have is that when the level starts, my sackboy still appears and I have to walk to where the "hidden" controlinator is, and press triangle to get in. I could set it to automatically enter, but that's not what I want. I want it so that when the level starts, the 2 cars are ready to race. You don't see the sackboys and you don't have to wait for them to "enter" their respective Controlinators.

SirGreenDay
01-21-2011, 11:22 PM
Look fir a level by Steve_big_guns called Mediterranean street racing. He has it so you choose an option, and then press X to continue. Once you press X you just start racing. You don't see any sackpeople, you just have control over your cars. I also want to learn how you create screen prompts like "press X to start". So if you also know how to do that I would really be thankful

Biv
01-22-2011, 12:39 AM
Okay, this is a hack, but It might work.
When you hop out of the gate you are hidden behind a wall. You automatically hop into a controllinator hooked to invisible holo. The holo has a mover on it that automatically takes you to the car, which has second DCS on it, this one also invisible and set to such you in automatically.

On the wall you were hidden behind you have the instructions to pres X. You also have a movie camera there so the screen doesn't move when you do. You can actually use the first DCS on the holo to change selections if you want a menu screen here.

When you press X, have it set to spit you out of the DCS over the car. The DCS on the car sucks you up automatically.

You have attached a timer to the Movie camera so when you press X it waits a couple seconds before turning off and letting the default camera or a game camera on your car take over. That way the switch between chairs is never seen by the player.

So you didn't hop right into the car....but it looks like it.

LukeCF
01-22-2011, 12:53 AM
This is the second post of this exact question this guy has put up. Mod's need to give him a stern talkin' too.

Twilightoutcast
01-22-2011, 02:32 AM
Just try this:
Have your Controllinators on your Entrance and set to the transmitter, auto enter, et cetera. Have the game mode set to Competitive, and place a movie camera set to infinite hold time on the corresponding Controllinator.That should work, if I'm not mistaken.

bigkurz8
01-22-2011, 02:35 AM
Can you remove the bars from the "Movie Camera" ? I'm having a similar issue as the OP, and cannot get the camera to move toward a 2D game I've set up (With Sackboy controlling it remotely). The movie camera seems like it would work, other than the fact that I don't want the bars on the top/bottom of the screen.

EDIT: Just saw a solution on a video, and it works. For some reason, Movie Camera's turned on via the Controllinators "Controllinator Active Output" (Middle Power Button On Controllinator) don't show the bars. Now, when you're SETTING the camera, they'll be there. But once it's all set up, the whole screen will be visible.

SirGreenDay
01-22-2011, 05:16 AM
This is the second post of this exact question this guy has put up. Mod's need to give him a stern talkin' too.

What the hell is your problem? I only posted this question ONCE in this forum. Are you one of little punks that has no friends and are so starved for attention you feel the need to troll the forums looking for people breaking the imaginary forum rules? Now, i did post this question in another forum, but I wanted to make sure you didn't throw a hissy fit, so I looked it up in the "Global book of Internet forum rules, and sure enough on page 247, paragraph 3, section 3-c, it states, 'A user may post the same question in as many forums as they like." So, you can go eat a cookie troll.

SirGreenDay
01-22-2011, 05:50 AM
Just try this:
Have your Controllinators on your Entrance and set to the transmitter, auto enter, et cetera. Have the game mode set to Competitive, and place a movie camera set to infinite hold time on the corresponding Controllinator.That should work, if I'm not mistaken.

Well, it works great except for 1 problem. When I start the level it goes straight to the movie camera view of the car and sackboy cannot be seen, so far so good. But, now the car doesn't move. I have an Advanced Mover connected to the car utilizing the left stick to go left/right as usual. But the car won't Move. Let me play with it and see if I can fix it. Thanks to everyone who helped me with this, I really appreciate it.

bigkurz8
01-22-2011, 06:41 AM
I don't mean to sound like an a$$, but is there any chance you accidentally glued the car down to something? It just seems odd that the camera would work (signifying an Active Controllinator) but the mover doesn't work...its like the opposite problem we've all had haha.

Congrats on getting the camera to work though...I've been dealing with my own Controllinator Camera issues myself.

bigkurz8
01-22-2011, 06:47 AM
This is the second post of this exact question this guy has put up. Mod's need to give him a stern talkin' too.

I think you're mistaken. You probably read the same post over at LIttleBigWorkshop.

SirGreenDay
01-22-2011, 01:45 PM
I don't mean to sound like an a$$, but is there any chance you accidentally glued the car down to something? It just seems odd that the camera would work (signifying an Active Controllinator) but the mover doesn't work...its like the opposite problem we've all had haha.

Congrats on getting the camera to work though...I've been dealing with my own Controllinator Camera issues myself.

I thought The same thing, so I actually deleted the car and just put down a block of wood. Same thing, it wouldn't move. When I tried to move I could see the wire activate (it lights up) when I moved the left stick. Im going to play with it. I will not let this thing defeat me!! Lol

Cruncher
01-22-2011, 03:01 PM
Hey there, Ive got a question too:

I want to create a 2-4 Player Versus Level with bumper cars. At the start of the Level everyone takes seat in one Controllinator, after everyone is set the real versus level should begin. The Controllinators at the start are connected to the Controllinators from the cars, as soon as you enter them you gain control (the ones you begin with are connected to holographic material so you don`t see them, they follow a tag from the cars).
Thats the whole problem: You should not be able to start moving until everyone is set.

I don`t know how to fix this, I think there is some kind of control-barrier needed, until everyone has pressed X or something.