PDA

View Full Version : Sackbot Wall Climbing!



mutant_red_peas
01-25-2011, 09:26 PM
Hey!

I was making this thing for my friend (he's making an Assassins Creed level) which allows sackbots to climb walls...... and I decided I liked that feature, so I'd like to share it.

But I couldn't get the crummy cameras to work.... I'M SORRY, THEY'RE NOT CRUMMY!


This is an LBP2 method and only works with sackbots.

Pics Soon.

Ok... Here we go....

1) Set up your ol' Transmitter/Receiver controllinators* (nore info below at *).
2) Which buttons do you want to activate the wall climbing? In Assassins Creed it's usually R1 + X. So that's what I did. Wire up the buttons you're using from theTransmitting Controllinator to an AND switch BUT (crucial info) leave an extra port for something else........
3) Place MAG KEYS all up the wall you want to climb, right up to the top. But not along the top, just the left and/or right sides.
4) On your sackbot microchip (which should have a receiving controllinator on it) put a mag key switch. Before tweaking it, use your popit cursor and push your sackbot right up against the wall you're trying to climb. Then expand the mag key switch max. radius to fit exactly round the bottom mag key.
5) Now wire up the MAG KEY SWITCH output to the remaining port on the AND switch.
6) (optional) Put a movie camera (not disabling controllers) on your sackbot microchip and wire the controllinator input (the button above the tilt output on the controllinator board) up to it. There. A view camera.
7) Put a normal mover on the sackbot microchip, set everything to 0 except the positive up/down setting. Set that to between 4 and 7. Wire the AND switch output to the mover (up/down speed I think..... if you can).
*To make a sackbot follow a controllinator's moves, set the controllinator to transmitting and a colour corresponding to the receiving one (coming soon) then place another controllinator on the sackbot microchip, set to receiver and then the transmitting controllinator will control your sackbot.

Go to play mode or preview.


Push down your chosen buttons when next to the wall and your sackbot should slowly move up then let go and it falls down.


I had to write this quick so I'll check my methods later and improve it or fix it.

Thanks for reading and I hope this helps!

Also: You can cover the edge of the wall you want to run up with invisible hologram material, then putting one key on it, instead of a hord of them. Thanks to Bremnem.


P.S. This is simple logics and mechanics. Not sure 'bout mechanics but definately logics. :)

mingdal
01-27-2011, 07:07 AM
Awesome, I've been looking for this, thanks :)

Bremnen
01-27-2011, 09:34 AM
OR, instead of covering the entire wall with tags, you could put holo over the area you want to run up and ONE tag on the holo, set the holo to 0% brightness, and avoid tag overload. ;)


Edit: This belongs in the LBP2 tutorials sections

flyinhawaiian
04-26-2011, 10:46 PM
if you use just the one mag key/tag on the holo, how do you set the radius of the switch?

UberOrbPS
04-26-2011, 10:50 PM
if you use just the one mag key/tag on the holo, how do you set the radius of the switch?

Use an Impact sensor and set it to "Touching"

Squidge99
04-28-2011, 06:11 PM
Wow, this is pretty cool!

Luos_83
05-01-2011, 11:35 PM
Id like to see a YT movie of this.

Cronos Dage
05-01-2011, 11:50 PM
Id like to see a YT movie of this.

Yes please.

----

Another cool effect is use a camera that uses Local Space, so the camera rotates the screen when you're on the side wall. Makes the whole world flip.

bmoney2310
05-02-2011, 12:02 AM
Yea I agree with the YT video. I've created an edge climb thing and it seems similar to this.

CRISTALSONIC
05-02-2011, 04:26 AM
lol I already made wall climb in my knuckles bot does any one have any thoughts on animating the arms so it looks like climbing

mutant_red_peas
05-02-2011, 04:01 PM
...Ok, if I get the time, I'll try and make a YT vid. :)

flyinhawaiian
05-03-2011, 06:36 PM
does any one have any thoughts on animating the arms so it looks like climbing

Record a bot chip that has the same settings as the R/C one, but a looping animation, to be activated when the wall climb is activated, and end when it isn't able. Yeah. I'll make a video when i can, if you want.

CRISTALSONIC
05-04-2011, 03:21 PM
no that wont work it needs do move accurately to the player the guy that made knights the lost hero has proven there is a better way Recording a bot chip at any rate my problem is moving the arms just right lol