PDA

View Full Version : 10 Things you didn't know about the Music Sequencer



hilightnotes
02-25-2011, 09:16 PM
10 things you didn't know about the music sequencer (thermo and memory-related notes are bolded)

1) Highlight the beginning of a note instead of clicking it directly to move/shrink/etc JUST the beginning dot (clicking on the beginning of a note will cause anything you do to change the whole note)

2) You can pause within a looping block. In other words, if you press square on a block of music to go in and add/change/whatever notes such, and the block is looping over and over and over and over and over and over and over and it's starting to annoy you, press the same button you use to pause a level in create, and it will pause the loop.

3) Similarly, the undo/redo buttons work within a music block, undoing or redoing the last note you placed (in contrast, if make some changes to a block of music, exit it, and hit 'undo', it will undo everything you changed in that block of music).

4) If you want to transfer a bunch of music from one sequencer to another without all the individual music blocks resetting their length, line up the sequencer's so there's no open space between the two 'sequencer boards'. However, just be careful because if you overlap them too much, when you select the music from one sequencer, you might accidentally select and end up moving stuff from the second sequencer as well.

5) If you're planning on using a lot of different instruments in your music piece, choose your instruments wisely. The music sequencer has it's own thermo bar dictating how many different instruments you can have on it, but different instruments take up different amounts of thermo. Some take up as little as half a bar, and some take up several bars. Also, I'm pretty sure that the only thing that raises the thermo is adding a new instrument, not adding more of the same, so you don't have to worry thermo-wise about the length of your piece. HOWEVER, it's the opposite with regards to how your music piece affects the level's (red) thermo. A longer piece will take up more thermo in your level.

6) If you're making a piece of music for someone's level, you might have begun to realize that a complicated level will cause complicated music to break-up and can even cause the whole level to lag. The more the sequencer has to work, the more 'complicated' the piece is. I think these are the two biggest things to look out for that will begin to wear on the game engine and cause break-up in a level:
a) Many notes playing at the same time. If you're experiencing break-up in specific places when you stick the piece in the level, pay attention to exactly where in the piece the break-up is happening and try thinning that spot out a bit.
b) Changing the timbre of an instrument (by selecting a note and pushing right analog stick in the left/right direction) will put a lot more strain on the engine. I'm not too sure if it gets worse the more you change it, or if it's as soon as you change it from the default, but either way, keep in mind if you're changing the timbre of notes that you won't be able to have as many notes playing at the same time as it as you would if it were unchanged.

7) Overlapping blocks of music will cause the one that comes first to be cut off where the second one begins.

8) If you've been trying to use sound effects on the sequencer and can't seem to get them to work, try unpausing Unlike the regular music blocks, sound effects won't be heard in pause mode.

9) If you press square somewhere on the sequencer to begin playback from that spot, the 'tracking line' will only move to follow the position of the music if you're in play mode. I know personally, I was always making music in pause mode and for a while had no idea that the line actually would track where the music was at if I switched to play mode!

10) If you want to change the instrument of a block of music without having to redo all the notes inside it, just place the instrument you want it to be changed to right over the existing block. All the notes will still be there, just the instrument will be changed. Don't forget to change the reverb/pan/etc. of the block though if you have different settings for your different instruments.

Wischmop
02-26-2011, 08:47 AM
#10 is very useful,I'll try it.

tuyyui
03-01-2011, 01:16 AM
I agree with Wischomp 10 is very useful the rest i already knew

hilightnotes
03-01-2011, 08:57 PM
Haha I'm kinda surprised - I kinda thought everybody already knew #10 but wouldn't know the rest of them, but I figured #10 was important so I put it up anyways. I guess it's a good thing I did! :P

Jayhawk_er
03-01-2011, 09:56 PM
Oh very nice, I actually figured out number 10, I figured they wouldn't leave something out as simple and effective as that. But anyway thanks! And by the way, your music in Hansel and Gretelbot is outstanding! :)

eternal_renegade
03-02-2011, 10:52 PM
Nice, also if you drag and select blocks in a row and then press square then tweak the effects (reverb) it will adjust it for all of the selected blocks :)

stuk71
03-03-2011, 09:51 AM
10 will come in very handy indeed, thank you for that... and yes I had already figured out that selecting a row of blocks and pressing square you can edit the reverb, echo and volume properties for the whole row, very good tip also

L1N3R1D3R
03-03-2011, 11:09 PM
I agree with everyone. #10 is SO HELPFUL!!!