PDA

View Full Version : Coding #'s On Computer



LittleBigMan
08-10-2008, 08:47 PM
if a person from Mm made a working number computer. Could it be possible to enter a code to open a door. Ex. A boss gives you a code (after you beat him) to remember. Later in the level is a locked door needing a code? A more simple example for you guys who have played MGS4. Act 4 on Shadow Moses, where Otacon gives a code to remember and then later you have to type it to unlock the computers. Kind Of Like That.

DrunkMiffy
08-10-2008, 09:07 PM
It was just a simple calculator which just counted the amount of balls you put in :P

LittleBigMan
08-10-2008, 09:10 PM
o, i forgot about that. Still, would it be possible?

DrunkMiffy
08-10-2008, 09:31 PM
Probably not, unless they made that feature seperately lol.

Maltay
08-10-2008, 09:34 PM
Probably not, unless they made that feature seperately lol.

You could have balls with digits (numbers) on and sockets in the wall and put a magnet switch on each one so that when all four sockets are matched to the 4 correct numbers, the door opens (I think)

Theres usualy a way around :)

dorien
08-10-2008, 09:37 PM
You could have balls with digits (numbers) on and sockets in the wall and put a magnet switch on each one so that when all four sockets are matched to the 4 correct numbers, the door opens (I think)

Theres usualy a way around :)

exactly what i was just thinking

DrunkMiffy
08-10-2008, 09:40 PM
Fair enough :P That's waay too long for me though, I'll just stick with my massive catapults :D

lbp
08-10-2008, 09:56 PM
It's going to be realllly cool though if users start making things that anyone can later use for their levels that are more complex. I can totally see people making complex things that will make the game even deeper. :)

LBP

LittleBigMan
08-10-2008, 10:21 PM
^Ya i can't wait till like 09' where everybody is SICK with making levels and everything is so complex.

ConfusedCartman
08-11-2008, 03:07 AM
It's going to be realllly cool though if users start making things that anyone can later use for their levels that are more complex. I can totally see people making complex things that will make the game even deeper. :)

LBP
If you've ever played Garry's Mod, then you know exactly what lbp is talking about. People would use the basic tools and make something really complex, like a working catapult that reloads itself. You could then download that, tweak it if you like, and use it in your level. LittleBigPlanet will have the same environment.

As to the special coded computer, I could see having a three way switch, and you have to push, pull, push, push(or whatever) to open a door. In the background(or way up high where you can't see it) you could have the chip correspond to one wheel in a maze, and if the wheel doesn't go to the right place(right, left, right, right) then it will hit a chip that makes it respawn at the start and another that pops up a message by your sackboy that says "Wrong, try again!" If you do enter the correct code, it moves the wheel through the maze and activates another chip that opens the door for you. There's tons of possibilities.

Marino
08-11-2008, 03:24 AM
Yeah, that code system could work multiple ways, it is up to the players to find the simplest techniques to perform the most complex tasks.

I'm sure within a few weeks of the game's release, there will be multiple intricate mechanisms that can make a level very deep. :rolleyes:

Quarter
08-11-2008, 12:44 PM
Except in garys mod when you move something even an inch, it breaks lol
and welding sucks in garys mod big time

ryryryan
08-11-2008, 01:56 PM
My idea for this would be to have a certain sticker only puzzle. So if you've got number stickers (hopefully in game) you could make it so you need to put certain numbers on the chosen surfaces to make a trigger.... if you get me?

LittleBigMan
08-11-2008, 02:02 PM
^well that makes everything really,really simple thanks ryryryan.

ryryryan
08-11-2008, 02:04 PM
^well that makes everything really,really simple thanks ryryryan.

No problem. we know it's possible to do this in the game... so all we need is number stickers in the game... i'm fairly confident they'd have them, they only need 10 stickers for them!

LittleBigMan
08-11-2008, 02:33 PM
^ or if they don't, they will probably just add them because, you know, the community wants them. Actually if they didn't have numbered stickers you could pretty much use anything. Ex. A combination of shapes as stickers so the boss would say "remeber this code" and it would be a square,triangle,circle,square,circle and you would have to remember that and put those shaped stickers into the coder

Maltay
08-11-2008, 02:47 PM
^ or if they don't, they will probably just add them because, you know, the community wants them. Actually if they didn't have numbered stickers you could pretty much use anything. Ex. A combination of shapes as stickers so the boss would say "remeber this code" and it would be a square,triangle,circle,square,circle and you would have to remember that and put those shaped stickers into the coder

you could have cheats for your level like that.. a random 4-digit number that if they get right a door could open to an underground tunnel leading you right to the end of the level. Don't know why anybody would do it other than to cheat the scoreboard... Its a good cheat though, you could disguise it and only tell your friend and when your levels public and you have a time thats 3 minutes quicker then everybody else they could think you hacked LBP lol.

DrunkMiffy
08-11-2008, 02:51 PM
you could have cheats for your level like that.. a random 4-digit number that if they get right a door could open to an underground tunnel leading you right to the end of the level. Don't know why anybody would do it other than to cheat the scoreboard... Its a good cheat though, you could disguise it and only tell your friend and when your levels public and you have a time thats 3 minutes quicker then everybody else they could think you hacked LBP lol.

DUDE LOL. OMFG! Haha!!!!

I'm gonna have a cheat in everyone of my levels, just so I can hold the record :D

Maltay
08-11-2008, 02:52 PM
DUDE LOL. OMFG! Haha!!!!

I'm gonna have a cheat in everyone of my levels, just so I can hold the record :D

Maybe I shouldnt have wrote that out loud... :o

DrunkMiffy
08-11-2008, 02:54 PM
I'm glad you did.... I never would have though of that lol. OMG.

What about if you had the finish underneath the start, and if you put a sticker in the right place it dropped you directly onto the finish in like 2 seconds© :D

I love this idea, so I copyrighted it :P

LittleBigMan
08-11-2008, 06:29 PM
My idea for this would be to have a certain sticker only puzzle. So if you've got number stickers (hopefully in game) you could make it so you need to put certain numbers on the chosen surfaces to make a trigger.... if you get me?

dHTxemDxo9A

I Can confirm that LETTERS are in LBP, still don't know about #'s but i'm guessing since all letters are in, numbers must be.At 48sec. to 51sec. you can see "M" "N" and "O"

12454522412412
08-11-2008, 07:15 PM
im sure there is a way to make a lock that you need a code to get across.

if you hit the wrong button that triggers a hydrolic thing it will go past a sensor that makes the entire lock dissapear. (makeing the opening of the door impossible)

but as you hit the right buttons the sensors get moved out of the way so that they cannot be triggered.

its hard to explain but looks possible useing the tools in lbp

edit: there are numbers in the game just check out littlebigplanetguide.com 's popit pics. they have numbers

Gondito
08-11-2008, 07:22 PM
is there a video for the counting machine?

dorien
08-11-2008, 07:29 PM
is there a video for the counting machine?

Yep

LittleBigPlanet Video Game, GC 2007 Binary Ladder Cam Gameplay | Game Trailers & Videos | GameTrailers.com

Stix489
08-12-2008, 04:47 AM
I like this thread! Maybe people can use it more for their mechanism plans (ie. computers, TVs [with imported image sequence maybe])

Wow...I just came up with that...do you guys think it's possible to make a TV? Like make a box and make a large vertical conveyor belt that has an image sequence stuck on? That would be insane! (MY idea, please don't copy it :p )

EDIT: Actually, I'll leave this thread for it's original reason...I'll make my own thread, keep things a little organized!:)