PDA

View Full Version : ___FPS First Person Shooter___



WoodburyRaider
03-04-2011, 09:28 PM
:)Hey everyone I just thought I'd post this here with a project I'm gonna be working on while I'm on the plane ride and you reply below.

So I played a level on LBP2 of a first person shooter and although I can't recreate it perfectly on PSP, I'm gonna try. I have a few ideas for how to make it work and they include using the third layer glitch as a background. I had this idea even before playing the level on LBP2 but now I can finally see how I can make it work. The goal is to make it possible to choose a gun, (hopefully more than one) and then use that gun to shoot enemies by aiming down the sights. Now since I don't have my own control seat that works properly I probably won't be using one but I plan on having the gun be aimed down the sights constantly and you can shoot with 'R' and only zoom out when you run out of ammo as a sort of reload feature (even though there won't be a button for it). I already have a way of tracking movement with the gun so it'll be able to move up, down, left, and right. I already have a working first person shooter scene where you aim behind the gun and then go back to the "3rd person" view and it looks pretty cool. That one will be published as a part of a bigger project, Modern Warfare Survival.

I realize a lot of you may not be interested in FPS's since they don't turn out good but as you may know, I aim high for aesthetics and if this logic can work, this level might be pretty cool.:p

Anyways, post your thoughts on this level below and any ideas you might have.
__________________________________________________ ___________________________________

unXpectiD
03-04-2011, 10:04 PM
good luck with that my freind.
if it works then shoot me a pm.
same goes if you need a hand.
PLAH

nysudyrgh
03-05-2011, 08:27 PM
i hope this works
it will be a more unique level

butter-kicker
03-06-2011, 07:05 PM
I have a already gone down this road and I couldnt handle the stress and eventually changed it into a table top shooter (still in production)

WoodburyRaider
03-06-2011, 07:45 PM
good luck with that my freind.
if it works then shoot me a pm.
same goes if you need a hand.
PLAH

Thanks man! I don't think I'll need help with it but when I beta test it I'll shoot you a PM.


i hope this works
it will be a more unique level

Yeah I'm aiming for something different with it but my goal is to release my MWS level first because it has a small, already working version of it in the level. The only problem is that I lost about half of my progress on the level and I was almost ready to publish it. (For some reason my copies got corrupt too so I have to go waaay back to some earlier backups).


I have a already gone down this road and I couldnt handle the stress and eventually changed it into a table top shooter (still in production)

Haha what stress? I only create something when I know I can handle it and just for fun so hopefully I don't run into this stress you speak of. :p What exactly do you mean by table top shooter? I hope it works out for you. :)

As for my level, what I've done is created a background with the third layer glitch so that I have room for my gun to move around freely and allow enemies to remain in the far back normal layer. The gun is one thick layer and one thin layer for the sight, but will most likely have the second thick layer behind the sight to make it look more like a gun if I add in the reload feature. Anyways, I'll be working on it a little bit over my break and hopefully update my progress here in a couple days or so.

warlord_evil
03-06-2011, 07:49 PM
There were FPS levels in LBP1 built without any control seats or even the layer glitch, so it should certainly be possible on PSP.

The one I played was a pistol built with one thin layer, but it was designed to look 3 dimensional with sticker effects. The enemies were simple thin layer zombies and the scenery was just one thick layer hills, but it was an effective and interesting level for being built so early on in LBP1.

WoodburyRaider
03-06-2011, 08:19 PM
There were FPS levels in LBP1 built without any control seats or even the layer glitch, so it should certainly be possible on PSP.

The one I played was a pistol built with one thin layer, but it was designed to look 3 dimensional with sticker effects. The enemies were simple thin layer zombies and the scenery was just one thick layer hills, but it was an effective and interesting level for being built so early on in LBP1.

Hmm well the only issue I see is that in LBP1 there were 3 actual thick layers and 7 total layers whereas PSP is 2 and 5 and the third layer glitch only turns it into 6 but it is basically just a backdrop since it can't be edited really. I'm planning on making the gun 1 layer though and I've worked with different materials and corner editing to make it look more 3 dimensional. I'm also altering the camera angles a little to try and help with it. I hope you'll give it a try if I can get a rough copy out at some point. :)

JetArtois
03-06-2011, 09:48 PM
If anyone can, you can!

WoodburyRaider
03-06-2011, 09:51 PM
If anyone can, you can!

Thanks man. :)

PPp_Killer
03-07-2011, 01:11 AM
I wanted to make a FPS on LBP PSP. Only problem is I don't have a PSP. Good luck to you if you can pull this off. Any ideas for the themes in the level?

WoodburyRaider
03-08-2011, 08:34 PM
I wanted to make a FPS on LBP PSP. Only problem is I don't have a PSP. Good luck to you if you can pull this off. Any ideas for the themes in the level?

Probably just a Vietnam theme or a combination of desert, snow, and forest.

nysudyrgh
03-12-2011, 08:32 PM
Probably just a Vietnam theme or a combination of desert, snow, and forest.

if you need ideas the wilderness from lbp ps3 has such a combination (me likez the wilderness :p)

WoodburyRaider
03-12-2011, 09:03 PM
if you need ideas the wilderness from lbp ps3 has such a combination (me likez the wilderness :p)

Hmmm I'll check it out I think I've seen it before but I can't quite remember it.

UPDATE: I won't be coming out with a full level version of this since I just simply don't have the time. However, I am improving and lengthening my version in my full level "MWS," but I lost a lot of progress because for some reason my copies became corrupt when my original level did. :(

unXpectiD
03-12-2011, 11:01 PM
Ahh well, it's hard to find time for these things sometimes.
Still, you're not the only one;)

WoodburyRaider
03-13-2011, 01:10 AM
Ahh well, it's hard to find time for these things sometimes.
Still, you're not the only one;)

Yeah, it's tough these days but hopefully I'll be able to find some time on the weekends when I'm not playing sports or anything. On a side note, I may have found a way to bring back my corrupt level and make it work again...fingers crossed this works. :boo:

nysudyrgh
03-17-2011, 06:40 PM
go wbr go
you can do it (cheer ,cheer) :p
let this work and become cool
errr wait ... ah and become even cooler then you were before
like this guy --> :cool: