PDA

View Full Version : Larger "Thermometer"



Neverynnal
11-30-2008, 08:37 PM
I'm probably not the only one who has had problems keeping their levels lag free because of the thermometer limitations. The size of the levels are big enough, because we obviously don't want levels that are going to take near 2 hours to complete.

But I argue that they should allow you to fill the space provided to the brim, without the probability of your level lagging to the point of where it seems your in slow-mo. I used half of the space provided in my recent Sin City level and I had to remove quite a few objects just to make it bearable to play.

Anyone else having the same problems?

Gondito
11-30-2008, 08:40 PM
are you using the largest crater? bigger craters have more thermometer space

Forsaken
11-30-2008, 08:44 PM
are you using the largest crater? bigger craters have more thermometer space

Wrong >_> Craters, from what I've seen, have no difference whatsoever (Except the icon size :/). The Thermometer and actual size of the level should be the same.

Gondito
11-30-2008, 08:56 PM
Wrong >_> Craters, from what I've seen, have no difference whatsoever (Except the icon size :/). The Thermometer and actual size of the level should be the same.

but MM said themselves bigger craters have bigger thermometer spaces

BassDeluxe
11-30-2008, 08:57 PM
I'm pretty sure they don't. Do you happen to know where they said this?

Gondito
11-30-2008, 09:09 PM
I'm pretty sure they don't. Do you happen to know where they said this?

i dont remember! i swear they talked about it in one of the interviews cartman had with alex evans

Tyler
11-30-2008, 09:33 PM
That's old news, though. I moved a level to a smaller crater once and the thermometer didn't budge.

Whalio Cappuccino
11-30-2008, 09:39 PM
I don't think thermometers move, but the size of the level gets larger. That's probably what they meant.

BassDeluxe
11-30-2008, 09:40 PM
Wait...Are you sure level size increases? That will be the second thing I learned today if it is. I wish I had known it earlier though, cause the level size made me mad with my last level.

Voltiare
11-30-2008, 09:51 PM
Bigger craters cannot have bigger thermometers and I will prove it with my flawless logic.

- Crater A is bigger than Crater B.
- If Crater A's thermometer is full, it cannot be copied into Crater B.

Since this is not the case, Crater B's thermometer must be just as big as Crater A's.

Rabid-Coot
11-30-2008, 10:29 PM
From my experience lag is caused by the amount stuck together, everything in my level was one big mass and sticking score bubbles to it made it lag when they were colected, splitting to two large masses of objects fixed it.

alexbull_uk
12-01-2008, 12:23 AM
How can the thermometer increase realistically?

Think about it, the only reason that's there is to make sure the game will run smoothly. I'm sure that we could pile loads more into levels, but the PS3 would not be able to handle it.

I once tried filling the thermometer with mainly physics based objects. Not good. Laggy as hell and then the PS3 froze.

Neverynnal
12-01-2008, 06:33 AM
Bravo for making me look like an idiot! lmao :P

Seriously though, big oversight on my part. Must learn to think outside the box!...:rolleyes:

panzer3000
12-01-2008, 03:32 PM
why cant u be able to merge craters so u could have more level data just an option i bet people are willing to give up how many levels they can make for more space

Elbee23
12-01-2008, 04:01 PM
why cant u be able to merge craters so u could have more level data just an option i bet people are willing to give up how many levels they can make for more space

Well, you can create a level key which you get for finishing a level, and then use it to activate a continuing level. Although you need to partially stop and start things, it allows you to keep things flowing to a limited extent.

Linque
12-11-2008, 02:09 PM
The size of the crater in My Moon has no affect on anything.

One of the stupidest design ideas this, making different sized craters without any hint about if the size has any effect on anything. It's funny how lousy a lot of game developers are in creating User Interfaces.

ryryryan
12-11-2008, 02:14 PM
Err, to get things cleared up a bit, Linque is correct. Before, i think the plan for MM was to make the smaller craters be for minigames and such, and the larger craters for the larger levels. However, like many other things that changed through development (like ice!), they decided to take this feature out. So everything is now just once size. The largest i'd imagine too.

neonrage0
12-16-2008, 10:36 AM
I think craters are just relative to the size of the level space you get inside them.
If you must get by it, try edging off some of the corners using the corner editor, or use less variety in your materials...
Or does that only make a difference in thermometer take-up, rather than lag?

I_Sack_therefore_I_Am?
12-21-2008, 02:33 AM
I imagine that there must be one set data amount in each crater otherwise lag would be almost unimaginable due to extended variables in data accumulation for multilayer download bandwidth. This all sounds technical but with varying sizes of levels the severs must us this extra change in there database. one set data amount helps the transition of data from one PS3 to another.:idea:

Bear
12-21-2008, 09:26 AM
We should have a larger thermometer, one of my levels that I was making in my moom was so short because the thermometer was almost exploding! It's almost impossible to decorate your level to perfection and having it at a decent size.

Linque
12-21-2008, 10:11 AM
I think craters are just relative to the size of the level space you get inside them.

No. This is incorrect.

The size of the crater in My Moon has no affect on anything.

I want to make sure people reading this thread aren't getting incorrect information. It makes no difference which crater you use. Period.

Elbee23
12-21-2008, 10:43 AM
You can reduce the amount of thermometer by reducing the variety of materials you have, the numbers of corners your objects have (a straight, though very large square takes up far less memory than a small but complicated object hand built using a circle) and removing things like excessive AI brains. They take up at least a small tab each.

So using tools like grid rather than freehand building not only makes it easier to organise sections, it also cuts down on thermometer usage. :)

If you copy objects rather than hand building each one it will also cut down on thermometer usage. Say you have a simple lift system. If you copy one that already is in the level rather than building a brand new one each time, it can cut down on memory usage as well. ;)

gevurah22
12-21-2008, 01:35 PM
I need this and a larger profile space. Just having 3 full levels with the insane complexity of the objects I create always puts a strain on the game, consistently asking me to delete stuff. Honestly, how hard is it to scale profile size according to the HDD space?

If anything, I wish we could export levels to the HDD or even a USB drive just to free up some needed space without having to worry about deleting certain levels (especially in the case of moderation).

Killian
12-21-2008, 02:03 PM
I need this and a larger profile space. Just having 3 full levels with the insane complexity of the objects I create always puts a strain on the game, consistently asking me to delete stuff. Honestly, how hard is it to scale profile size according to the HDD space?

If anything, I wish we could export levels to the HDD or even a USB drive just to free up some needed space without having to worry about deleting certain levels (especially in the case of moderation).

Can you not transfer your game data which contains your levels?

BasketSnake
12-21-2008, 03:31 PM
If i can't fit in something in my level I just put it in my next one. I think we can build plenty in one level. The thermometer is like 70% filled in my rambo minigame and it's probably because of the emitter properties. it's sending out trucks constantly. i change the frequency on emitted planes and trucks by half a second and the thermometer drop like 10%. It's assuming that there will be thrown like 100 trucks into the level when in reality You're constantly shooting them to bits so....yes, the thermometer sure takes everything into calculation.

Hamsalad
12-26-2008, 09:52 PM
I have zombies emitted and their life duration was like 35 seconds and my thermom. was maxed, and i lowerd it to like 30 seconds and it dropped down like 25% it was pretty crazy. But i really think they should give you a bigger thermometer, IDK I heard everyone saying that they let you build giagantic levels. You can build some big ones but i really wish it was more, or that emitters werent such a hog and that you could hand draw shapes and have a variety of materials and not have to worry about taking it all up.

Elbee23
12-27-2008, 01:56 AM
Emitters often do hog up the thermometer. Don't have them constantly on and that should reduce the strain. Or don't have infinite numbers come out. Reduce the lifespan, and emit less complex objects to begin with.

All of those things should reduce the thermometer drain. If you have an infinite number of a complex object with an infinite lifespan which is always on, it will take a lot of thermometer.

But the same one set to a sensor switch so it's only on when the player is around, with a specific limit to the number it spawns, and with a limited time frame, only for as long as they are needed, and of course take a good long look at the object coming out and reduce it's complexity (does it really need all those corners/materials/stickers?)... well, of course the thermometer will be a lot less taxed. :)