PDA

View Full Version : Get rid of the thermometer while creating



Neverynnal
12-23-2008, 07:36 PM
While it is no major convienience while creating, the thermometer poses a problem and heres why:

Plasma TV's...thankfully images don't burn into my plasma TV until it's on there for at least 10+ hours. However, some TV's burn in quickly as 3-4 (older models) and this poses a huge problem for some people. I actually see lines on my TV at the moment from the thermo because I was on there for 6-7 hours straight creating (god I know too long).

MM should really look into this issue. TV channels have had to change to accomodate and I think LBP should too.

DrMelon
12-23-2008, 09:28 PM
Surely that shouldn't happen due to the refresh rate of the TV? You must have a model that is from 1995 or older then, to get a burn-in...

Killian
12-23-2008, 09:48 PM
While it is no major convienience while creating, the thermometer poses a problem and heres why:

Plasma TV's...thankfully images don't burn into my plasma TV until it's on there for at least 10+ hours. However, some TV's burn in quickly as 3-4 (older models) and this poses a huge problem for some people. I actually see lines on my TV at the moment from the thermo because I was on there for 6-7 hours straight creating (god I know too long).

MM should really look into this issue. TV channels have had to change to accomodate and I think LBP should too.

I'm getting a plasma for Christmas I think. D:

Neverynnal
12-23-2008, 10:53 PM
It's a 2007 model. I don't know what "refresh rate" your talking about, but you can have images burned into the TV with the newer models. There wouldn't be warranty on the TV for that reason if you couldn't. Dare you to leave LBP on a plasma TV, on pause for about 10+ hours. You might be unpleasantly surprised :eek:

ClankXIII
12-23-2008, 10:54 PM
*sigh*

This is why everybody should just get LCD.

ConfusedCartman
12-24-2008, 12:45 AM
Actually, this sounds like a good idea. Implementing it would be more difficult, but I could see how this would be useful.

OverWork
12-24-2008, 02:30 AM
other games have implemented it like pixeljunk monsters now have an antiburn in option, just for the people with plasmas

Tyler
12-24-2008, 02:34 AM
Maybe it could auto-hide when you stop adding stuff?

UmJammerSully
12-24-2008, 03:15 AM
Let's be honest now, you shouldn't be on a TV that long anyway.

Tellus-CR1
12-24-2008, 04:06 AM
Most new plasmas can take a lot of abuse... burn-in isn't much of an issue for models from ~2007 and newer.

Although I do like the idea of the usage gauge being able to turn it off or on with the select button or something.

I_Sack_therefore_I_Am?
12-24-2008, 04:59 AM
Why don't you just look at a clock and give your TV a 5 minute break instead of MM spending thousands of dollars and days of research just to fix such a trivial problem?

BassDeluxe
12-24-2008, 05:02 AM
LOL. For some reason I doubt MM would have to spend thousands of dollars, or days to fix this. I bet they could fix it in a few hours, and not have to spend a cent, apart from paying their employees.

OverWork
12-24-2008, 06:25 AM
yeah if a small download able title like pixeljunk monsters patched it then i doubt it would cost that much to fix.

Neverynnal
12-24-2008, 08:47 AM
Yeah it'd be easy to implement and would be a quick fix to any inconvieniences LBP players might encounter.

Elbee23
12-24-2008, 10:20 AM
My few years old plasma (I think I got it about... 2006) can have burn in if things sit on the screen too long.

I project my computer to the plasma screen, and use to get issues with World of Warcraft and the menu buttons staying on screen in the one spot for hours on end.

LBP is kind of similiar in that you can easily spend hours doing the one thing, and the thermometer is something that is static and could cause problems like this.

Burn in does kind of fade on newer models if you stop using the image and have other things on screen long enough, but for older models this can be quite a problem and can make the effected part of the screen useless.

LBP already has a screen saver if you are looking at the world menus, so that suggests they are aware that there is some potential problems with this that they already noticed.

So I think it's a good thing to look into and fix. :)

AtheistSeaOtter
12-24-2008, 11:22 AM
I think that, as much as it's your responsibility not to run your PC on a plasma and leave it on the desktop with the taskbar showing for hours on end, it's your responsibility not to leave LBP running in create mode for hours on end.

Also Pixeljunk games are relatively simple compared to LBP, it may have been a lot easier to include anti burn-in due to that.

Is plasma burn-in really an issue with modern TVs anyway?

Neverynnal
12-24-2008, 04:41 PM
It can be, and while it is, of course, the users responsibility to make sure things like these don't happen, it's a quick fix for the careless creators who leave it on create mode all day (me). Apparently I should have stuck to play mode anyway, as no matter what I do I can't get people to play my **** level! hah :cry:

Pinchanzee
12-24-2008, 07:20 PM
...

Bit of advise... take breaks.
Eat, drink, sleep, y'know?

adaymm
12-26-2008, 07:00 PM
...

Bit of advise... take breaks.
Eat, drink, sleep, y'know?

Oh, and don't forget homework.

Elbee23
12-27-2008, 01:45 AM
...

Bit of advise... take breaks.
Eat, drink, sleep, y'know?

Even if you do take breaks, even sensible short ones like stretching a bit after a while for a quick amount of time, you don't always turn the screen off.

And that is why burn in does occur...

Pinchanzee
12-27-2008, 07:07 PM
Great idea on the whole about "getting rid of the thermometer by the way"

Because everyone really wants to sit waiting for ages on a level to load. And then to find that it's uber laggy.

Be practical.

Lazerus101
12-27-2008, 11:57 PM
Great idea on the whole about "getting rid of the thermometer by the way"

Because everyone really wants to sit waiting for ages on a level to load. And then to find that it's uber laggy.

Be practical.

Im pretty sure they mean having a way to HIDE it off screen, not do away with it.

Davidius
12-28-2008, 11:52 AM
Hmm personally I can't see this being a problem for me when I am creating levels... I am in and out of Create/Play mode so often that this won't occur. If you are testing your level on a regular basis as you make it, it shouldn't really effect you either?

Luos_83
12-29-2008, 12:49 PM
davidus.. what?
99.9% of the times i test the stuff out in the editor, going in and out of the play modus takes up unused time, just pause>unpause before you try something out, and use the rewind button to set everything back like it was.

anyways, got a 42" plasma and it was showing the thermo and pause icon after 2 weeks of constant editing even when lbp was off.
so its not the case of an old screen, its just a case.