PDA

View Full Version : Switches



StealthyWolf-NL
06-16-2012, 06:03 PM
Hello,

I recently got little big planet for the psvita(psp version).
I made a few things but when i place a lever on a physics object it is not welded/glued/stuck on it.
How to do that.

Thanks

Schark94
06-16-2012, 06:21 PM
Whenever you want to glue 2 objects together, you need to hold the "X" button till you hear a specific sound. After that, the objects should be glued together.

nysudyrgh
06-16-2012, 06:53 PM
Be carefull though, loosing the switch after that will make the whole object disappear, so just glue your switch to a small piece of static cardboard and save it. Material change after placing to match the scenery.

StealthyWolf-NL
06-16-2012, 07:20 PM
Whenever you want to glue 2 objects together, you need to hold the "X" button till you hear a specific sound. After that, the objects should be glued together.


Be carefull though, loosing the switch after that will make the whole object disappear, so just glue your switch to a small piece of static cardboard and save it. Material change after placing to match the scenery.

Thanks for the tips!!

One more thing, could you explain the thing with the cardbord a little bit more?

Thank you :3

WoodburyRaider
06-16-2012, 07:30 PM
Basically, you want to place your switch on a small piece of material and glue them together. The reason for this is because when you glue down the pull switches, it loses its individuality and cannot be detached from the material. It's a pretty big glitch, but is only a minor inconvenience when you place it on a smaller piece of material since you won't have to delete an entire environment layer if you want to move the switch later on.

StealthyWolf-NL
06-16-2012, 07:49 PM
Basically, you want to place your switch on a small piece of material and glue them together. The reason for this is because when you glue down the pull switches, it loses its individuality and cannot be detached from the material. It's a pretty big glitch, but is only a minor inconvenience when you place it on a smaller piece of material since you won't have to delete an entire environment layer if you want to move the switch later on.

Thank you all

nysudyrgh
06-16-2012, 09:10 PM
Here I (lousily :p) drew it out for you. :D

http://i46.tinypic.com/r7oowg.png

Schark94
06-16-2012, 09:59 PM
Be carefull though, loosing the switch after that will make the whole object disappear, so just glue your switch to a small piece of static cardboard and save it. Material change after placing to match the scenery.

Basically, you want to place your switch on a small piece of material and glue them together. The reason for this is because when you glue down the pull switches, it loses its individuality and cannot be detached from the material. It's a pretty big glitch, but is only a minor inconvenience when you place it on a smaller piece of material since you won't have to delete an entire environment layer if you want to move the switch later on.
Well actually removing (ungluing) the switch doesn't mean you have to delete the whole glued object. You don't remove the switch from the object, you just have to unglue the object first. Tested in POTSS. ;)

WoodburyRaider
06-16-2012, 11:40 PM
Well actually removing (ungluing) the switch doesn't mean you have to delete the whole glued object. You don't remove the switch from the object, you just have to unglue the object first. Tested in POTSS. ;)

POTSS? And that's only a rare occurrence. I've had that work from time to time as well, but depending on the size of the material and whether or not there are any attached objects, it usually deletes it all entirely (at least for me).

Schark94
06-17-2012, 06:03 AM
POTSS? And that's only a rare occurrence. I've had that work from time to time as well, but depending on the size of the material and whether or not there are any attached objects, it usually deletes it all entirely (at least for me).
POTSS has many switches. All you have to do is to select the object that is glued to a switch with your popit and unglue it. The object and the switch will separate then. C:

nysudyrgh
06-17-2012, 07:39 AM
Ah yes, if you select your scenery and loosen the glue, then your switch won't delete your scenery.
But I reccomend the cardboard thing since selecting your scenery sometimes moves the whole stuff (Unintentionally) tested in Nys Labs ._.

Schark94
06-17-2012, 08:13 AM
But I reccomend the cardboard thing since selecting your scenery sometimes moves the whole stuff (Unintentionally) tested in Nys Labs ._.
Haha yes! That's true, especially when you're using merged objects. I'm also using your "cardboard technique". ;)

StealthyWolf-NL
06-17-2012, 10:15 AM
Here I (lousily :p) drew it out for you. :D

http://i46.tinypic.com/r7oowg.png

Thanks, nice drawing.
But when i save the switch with cardboard, do i need to glue that to my object?

nysudyrgh
06-17-2012, 10:48 AM
No, since your cardboard is static, the switch won't be able to move.

StealthyWolf-NL
06-17-2012, 02:08 PM
No, since your cardboard is static, the switch won't be able to move.

Well i made a tank, and i need to make the switch movable but stuck on the tank.
How to do that?

Schark94
06-17-2012, 02:32 PM
Well i made a tank, and i need to make the switch movable but stuck on the tank.
How to do that?
Set the cardboard into "dynamic" and glue it together with the switch to the tank. This is all basic stuff so you better want to watch every tutorial while being in create mode.

StealthyWolf-NL
06-17-2012, 04:06 PM
Thanks all,

I watched every tutorials as well.
My problem is solved :)