PDA

View Full Version : Well...



Woutery
10-12-2012, 08:03 PM
So around five months ago my savegame data didn't work. Now its the UMD loader. After the vacation (around mid-august, i know, old) i tried to load up a game - but it didn't read anything. What's worse - i had been working on a new LBP PSP level on my PSP for around the whole vacation! It turned out great, but it wasn't done yet. Since the UMD loader/reader won't work, i can't play any games, and besides playing music my PSP is useless. What should i do!?

What exactly happens: the UMD goes into the slot, the (battery wasting) loading icon appears in the down-right corner but nothing happens. No LBP or UMD things at the Game part... nothing. Why?

EDIT: more info. The UMD seems to be spinning, but i don't think everything is working right. First there used to be lots of noise when loading, but it dissapeared.

gamerguy5432
10-13-2012, 05:56 PM
I am no expert on these sorts of things, but I would say take it into gamestop. They have magical powers, and can probably fix it for you.

Woutery
10-13-2012, 07:10 PM
I don't think they have a gamestop in the netherlands...

biorogue
10-13-2012, 08:12 PM
the same exact thing has happened to mine. But only on a few of my games, LBP included. The others will load up just fine. It's not the UMD's themselves as I keep them in immaculate condition. I did an online search and found that in most cases, the reader or whatever it's called, has not returned to the correct position. If you open the door, in the middle is a round thing, to the right of that is a small thing that slides left and right. On this is the laser eye. The sources I saw, said that that piece should be slid all the way to the left, next to the center piece. Might be your issue, is not mine though :( I haven't figured out what's wrong with mine yet.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 06:22 AM
That doesn't work :(

Also, in the manual it said "Do not touch the "element" or the PSP might break", and the "element" is probably that thing. :/

...wait. Maybe that whole thing is the problem. The noise that the PSP used to make was probably from that thing moving! At least i know what's broken now...

Schark94
10-14-2012, 07:23 AM
Use CFW. You can run your games directly from your memory stick and they will also load faster.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 07:26 AM
*looks it up*

Sorry, i don't want to do custom firmware. For me its a bit too much hassle to set up.
I once tried it and it didn't really work.

Schark94
10-14-2012, 07:32 AM
*looks it up*

Sorry, i don't want to do custom firmware. For me its a bit too much hassle to set up.
I once tried it and it didn't really work.
I can tell you how to do it easily. Just send me a PM. ;)

Woutery
10-14-2012, 08:42 AM
*waits after sending pm*

Oh no, schark has gone offline!

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 08:59 AM
Well, I used this guide to set up my CFW, so i'll link the site: Better take it down (its in spanish, but you can translate it)

Just another question, do you psp 1000, 2000, 3000 or E1000?

If you have 1000 or 2000 with hackable motherboard, you might want to make the permanent patch( a little below in that site).

The good thing about CFW is that you can play homebrew games, like minecraft (actually its lamecraft, but its the same thing), and another programs like IRShell (very helpfull if you a psp 1000, so you can use IR port to control TV).

Woutery
10-14-2012, 09:31 AM
I have a psp 2000.

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 09:44 AM
Do you know if its hackable? If you dont take out the battery and see the code in the sticker:

No
Heres the table with the codes (dont at the 1000s, just at the 2000s) if its green then youre lucky, you can use permanent patch, if its red, you can only use (l)CFW.

Nope

Or use this other method more secure:

Neither this

Better use the last one. Then you compare to the table and see.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 11:08 AM
*takes out the battery*

8c, what should i do now?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 11:34 AM
Unluckily you have unhackable motherboard, but it just makes you cant install the permanent patch so install the CFW in the above link of psp.scenebeta but dont install the perm patch. Good luck!:)

Woutery
10-14-2012, 11:46 AM
Google translate s**ks so i'm not sure what to download now.

Maybe from this part? "Extraer el contenido del archivo de descarga en la raz de nuestro sistema de almacenamiento."

Umm... can i get it from a different site too?

EDIT: Better question, what "fix" do i need?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 11:54 AM
Wait theres another method!

If you dont want to CFW your PSP, download this LBP( its signed, so it works on OFW) : Dont want this in here!

Well...(lol) if you want to have the CFW go to this site: This too (its in english:p)

Woutery
10-14-2012, 12:04 PM
Wait... i get it. Not that its downloaded yet, but its like the version you'd download from the PSP store. Am i right? And isn't that illegal downloading? (im not sure if thats allowed on the forum but i don't think it is)

Edit: OH COME ON YOU CHEAP DOWNLOAD SITE, MAKING THE DOWNLOAD LAST EXTRA LONG CUZ I DON'T PAY!

Edit 2: The download is done, what exactly should i do with the file?

Woutery
10-14-2012, 12:30 PM
It gives an error: The game could not be started

What now?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 12:34 PM
Well in that case you really need the CFW. Go to the link i posted and follow the guide.( about the game, if you purchased and have it, its not illegal:))

Do everything it says except the last part that is installing the perm patch.

I'll look for a LBP download.

Note: I have CFW for the exact same reason, the UMD drive stopped reading.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 12:36 PM
OK, what should i download? There are like a million downloads on the downloads page in the tutorial.

Maybe the top one: Pro-C 6.60 PSP CFW Fix 3
FFFFUUUU NO ACCOUNT

Edit: found a different site with the firmware download

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 12:45 PM
Download this: Removed

Note: I'm uploading LBP to Mediafire.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 12:52 PM
NVM, i downloaded it somewhere else, followed the tutorial, and now my PSP proudly displays "6.60 PRO-B9" at the system information.
I don't really understand what i should do next, or how to run games with this, but i guess you can help me with that :)

Another (maybe stupid) question: will LBP work with my savedata like i had it before, when using firmware?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 12:54 PM
So I found this LBP: Removed too (its not mine)

Attention! This is a version without movies! But only weights 194mb!

I'm gonna try to find full version (with the movies)

About the savegame, it depends, your UMD LBP is from what region? EU, US or JAP (last one improbable)

Later I can tell you how to update LBP.

Now if you want to full enjoy the CFW, i recomend going to these sites:

Just a bunch of sites you cant now visit through here!

You can download from there lots of homebrews!

Woutery
10-14-2012, 12:56 PM
Hmm... i am not sure. Probably Europe. On the UMD is a german text though, not that i bought it in Germany. I didn't even buy it, i got it as a birthday present :love:

Uhh... what is a .cso file? Something the firmware can launch?
I'm downloading it to my memory stick, like memorystick/psp/game/LBP/file.cso

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:02 PM
In that case your UMD is European.

Its not to PSP/GAME that you download.

There must be a ISO folder on the root of the MC card

You put in the ISO folder, like: ms0:/ISO/LBP.cso

Note: this CFW can run .ISO, .CSO and .PBP

.ISO and .CSO go to ISO folder, .PBP goes to PSP/GAME folder

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:04 PM
Oh, ok then! Yep - there is one in there. So should i make a new folder in the ISO folder or just put the CSO file in there?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:05 PM
Just put it in there and then go to Game (in XMB) and tada! there it is!

Note: the savegame happens to be compatible but if it gives an error comunicate it and ill help about that:)

Edit: the savegame dont gives an error when loading, it simply starts a new game, so, if that happens you know.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:11 PM
OK, i did that. It starts up... and then it gives me the message that my save data is corrupt. The PSP wants me to retry or something. It started up, there were no movies (as you said) and it just displays the text: "83_vol_dreamscape." or something like that. Then... the introduction level starts up. Ohh, what have i missed running around with Sackboy through levels... but what about my own levels?

Should i backup my savedata and retry?

EDIT: well this is weird. I backed up my data and then LBP appeared as "corrupted data". Oh well, lets redownload and try again.

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:17 PM
Connect the PSP to the computer and go to PSP/SAVEDATA and search for :
UCES01264PROFILE
UCES01264INSTALL
UCUS98744INSTALL
UCUS98744PROFILE

Are all these in there?

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:22 PM
The ones with "UCUS" aren't there. I dont think they were in there at all (even not before this custom firmware thing)

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:24 PM
try to remove these folders i mentioned in the above post and put them in the desktop (or another place you want).

Then try to start the game.

Edit:So the savegame is corrupted, but all isnt lost!

I'll look in how to transfer levels from one save to another, wait a little.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:26 PM
You're saying that i should remove my savedata.. i'll try that, but i mostly wanted LBP back because of a level i was working on. That would be lost, too.

EDIT: it still seems to say "Corrupted Data". WTF!?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:28 PM
I didnt say to remove, just cut and put out of the PSP (in the desktop in example).

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:30 PM
Technically i did remove it, as i had it backed up once and in the savedata folder once. The folders in the savedata folder have been deleted!

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:33 PM
Ok and the game starts now?

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:33 PM
The game doesn't start... its corrupted data.


So the savegame is corrupted, but all isnt lost!
It can't be corrupted, i never did anything to corrupt it!

EDIT: removed some things and folders from the memory stick including the CSO file then tried putting it on there again. The "corrupted data" was caused by something else, me accidentally putting a folder somewhere. Its gone now. Now the game doesn't even appear on the PSP!

EDIT2: Maybe i need to restart the firmware. The version also doesn't say "PRO-B9" or something like that. Ahh, i get it, permanent will always stay on and this won't.

It works again, now lets expiriment with savegames!

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:39 PM
You said you had made an backup so try to put it in the Savedata folder.

If in the game you still start from the beggining, you must pass the first three missions (i think) to unlock create mode. Then go there and hope your levels are still there. If not it may be a wrong profile name. I'll tell what is that later after your response (if it didnt work)

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:41 PM
Did your PSP crashed?

If it crashes you have to re-run the firmware from the quick restore i think ( in the same folder as the firmware installation).

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:41 PM
Please read my previous post, i edited it a bit. Everything works fine now!!!

*copies back-upped savedata to the savedata folder*

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:46 PM
Glad it worked, now you can continue creating your previous levels!

Another good thing about CFW is that it can overclock, so if you think LBP or another games running slow, just overclock! (I use it a lot)

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:48 PM
Hmm... i don't have save data or anything (bubbles in levels aren't blue, no sackboy clothing or anything). My levels are gone too! Noooo!!! What should i do now?

Schark94
10-14-2012, 01:50 PM
Haha, I think you don't need my help anymore since you got the CFW. lol :p

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:53 PM
I do need help about my savedata though...

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 01:54 PM
In that case i think that happened the worse, you corrupted it for good:(

Maybe a crash when saving a level or finishing a story level, I dont know.

But maybe someone will appear here and have a solution for it.

Until there, youre going to have to make youre levels from zero.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 01:55 PM
:/ atleast i think i can redownload my extra level packs and stuff again. Grrrrr, why must this happen to me for the second time already? I hate replaying EVERYTHING!!!! :mad:

Schark94
10-14-2012, 01:58 PM
Download a 100% save and copy your levels from the corrupted save to the new one. DONE!

Also you may want to use ISO games, not CSO since they are working much faster.

Woutery
10-14-2012, 02:12 PM
I downloaded a save, but it doesn't seem to do anything. I still start with the first introduction level. Well what now?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 02:12 PM
Download this: Out

And rename it to UCES01264PROFILE

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 02:15 PM
About the ISOS and CSOs, it deppends on you MC .

ISOs Run fast but are big.

CSOs are a bit slower but are much smaller.

So its your decision.

Schark94
10-14-2012, 02:17 PM
One question: Can you access the PSN now?

Woutery
10-14-2012, 02:18 PM
Not yet, but i think i can in a moment (finishing some more levels)

Edit: omg, random community moon. Now i'm probably able to do that. And now it signed me in!

Umm... i need to upgrade my version. How do i do that? And Diatosta, weren't you going to explain that?

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 02:24 PM
Yes I will explain

First download this: This shouldn't be here (its not what you think:))

And put it in PSP/Game folder (put the whole folder you download, not just the .PBP).

Then open it in XMB and wait to execute.

Then go down to LBP.ISO and click on triangle.

Then click on getupdater (i think) and click X for everything.

It must now finish the process of creating a file.

Now go to XMB and go to game->getupdater....

Triangle and get update.

It should now get the update. :)

After that it must appear a LBP update icon in Game, dont open it!

Just start LBP normally and it should be updated. :)

Schark94
10-14-2012, 02:39 PM
Now also the save should work properly (all 100%).

Woutery
10-14-2012, 02:52 PM
I have the CSO file, not an ISO. And when i press the triangle button it only shows "Make fake_np data File."

It doesn't seem to do anything to update the game...

EDIT: Oh hey, i can convert it into an ISO. Lets try that.

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 03:01 PM
So heres another way.

See this guide( you'll have to open the game manually): No

Tutorial files are outdated so here come the new ones:

Download UMDGen here: No

UCUS98744.zip: No

EU-SYS.zip: And no

Woutery
10-14-2012, 03:03 PM
It worked, i converted the CSO to an ISO, and now it should work fine. Its updating btw :D

Oh wait, maybe my save file works now! It had the update, so it must work fine now!!!!

Schark94
10-14-2012, 03:05 PM
Soo many links and download pages... You guys better use the Private Messaging before Taffey comes here... :boo:

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 03:07 PM
Glad it worked.

Schark1994 should I remove the links?

Woutery
10-14-2012, 03:11 PM
From the beginning i thought that using all these links was a bad idea...


...omg... NO... YES.... I GOT EVERYTHING BACK!!! YEAH! Thanks so much to everyone! Can't wait to show you my new level!

Schark94
10-14-2012, 03:12 PM
Schark1994 should I remove the links?
I don't know. You better do that.

From the beginning i thought that using all these links was a bad idea...
That's why I said you to PM me at the beginning.

...omg... NO... YES.... I GOT EVERYTHING BACK!!! YEAH! Thanks so much to everyone! Can't wait to show you my new level!
Yey! C:

Diatosta
10-14-2012, 03:24 PM
Ok I'll remove them.

Edit:Ok I removed them:)