PDA

View Full Version : Record audio from the game



aar2697
11-08-2012, 03:42 AM
For those who want to record in-game audio for the soundtrack or to record their works with the music sequencer, it can easily be done by using a male-male 3.5 mm aux cord (headphone plug to headphone plug). You plug one end in the headphone jack on the Vita and the other end into the computer or other device's microphone jack. This is the same cord you would use to listen to your music from your device in your car. The audio can be recorded with a program such as Audacity.

How to use Audacity:
1. Open it
2. Edit > Preferences
3. In devices, choose the recording device that best suits what your microphone jack is.
4. Click 'Okay.'
5. Click the record button to record audio from the Vita (big red circle).
6. Press the stop (yellow square) button to stop recording.

I hope this is helpful.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlAh_BEscpg

ChrisF2112
11-08-2012, 04:25 AM
That's pretty neat. Could you also do it the other way, where you record audio on your computer into your Vita levels?

Taffey
11-08-2012, 04:53 AM
Great tutorial! That's exactly how I've been recording audio from games for years. :)

One major issue I have right now, however, is that my laptop does not have stereo in - only mono. Big problem. My workaround is to grab audio using my video capture unit (a Hauppauge HD PVR). I connect only the video leads of the PVR to my PS3 (any video source works) and the red/white RCA audio leads to a 3.5mm male adapter. This of course goes to the headphone jack of my Vita, and I can record whatever I want.

From there it's a straightforward matter of ripping the audio from the video (I use "Free M4A to MP3 Audio Converter", which conveniently also outputs in WAV), importing that into Audacity for editing, and presto I'm done. Sounds more complicated than it is. :p




Could you also do it the other way, where you record audio on your computer into your Vita levels?Not that I'm aware of. I don't think the headphone jack on the Vita doubles as an input like how it does on an iPad or iPhone.

Chdonga
11-18-2012, 05:33 PM
That's pretty neat. Could you also do it the other way, where you record audio on your computer into your Vita levels?

Nope. I just tried it and it does not work. It's probably to prevent people from recording copyrighted music into the game.

Rough-Tea
11-23-2012, 05:08 PM
Woulda been fun, if it would work the other way, for more cleaner recording.


It's probably to prevent people from recording copyrighted music into the game.

It doesnt really prevent people at the moment too lol ... look at all those Gangnam Style Levels etc.

ChrisF2112
11-24-2012, 08:50 PM
I know I looked this up in LBP2 and saw that people were able to put audio straight from the computer into their levels, but I never actually bothered to buy the stuff to do it. That's why I asked.

aar2697
12-28-2012, 05:31 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlAh_BEscpg
So I finally got my Vita and LBPV, so here is a test. The quality is kind of bad because I had the volume low on my Vita and had to blast the sound out in Audacity in order to be able to hear. You'll also need to go to a blank level to remove sound effects.

mdkd99
11-19-2016, 09:39 AM
This is old, but yes, you can create audio with a studio mic or sth. All you need is a audio adapter which has a headset output. Than you should he able to record in better quality with a good mic.