PDA

View Full Version : zombie level help



IeatFrogs
12-28-2012, 12:50 PM
im new to lbp vita so i dont understand everything quite yet, but i was making a level were you journey across land of tje dead. i pretty much was done with the level when i decided to test it out. the level is basically a zombie survival level. when i played it i noticed 3 really weird things. first of all my level was very laggy or slow while playing it. second, my zombies wont move unless im right by them (even thought i set the sensor to over 1000 distance. and finally, sometimes my zombies get stuckwhiel walks ng or in between layers. their set so they can jump and switch layers. plz help

TheBa2ti
12-28-2012, 03:09 PM
Try to have a look at the Thermometer.
The main problem with the sackbots is the space they need on the thermomenter-bar.
They even slow down the level in a great way.
Decrease the number of sackbots.
--TheBa2ti--

IeatFrogs
12-28-2012, 04:17 PM
i only have 3 emmiters emiting one sackbot evey 10 seconds. would that be to much?

TheBa2ti
12-28-2012, 08:31 PM
Depends on the livetime of this sackbots, if the lifetime is infinite it would be pretty much.
Lets do a little calculation:
Lets say a sackbot takes 1/20 of your Thermometer.
1/20 is for level design etc.
So there are still 19/20 left.
You have 3 Emitters, so every emitter should be allowed to emit around 6,33 Sackbots, until the thermometer is full.
Combining this with the calculation of light and physics as well as other precalculations, your level should be very laggy.

So you know where your problem is, its up to you, to fix it :)
Hope this helped.

IeatFrogs
12-29-2012, 12:22 AM
ok thanks for the help. i have roughly 3 emmiters making 3 sacbots each 20 seconds. only 3 sackbots are made from each emmiter at a time. the sackbots life are infinite until killed. i was using 20 safkbots each 10 seconds for each emmiter at a time. lol, guess that kind of explains it. my level is better now. stil lil bit laggy, but it will do.

IeatFrogs
01-04-2013, 04:32 PM
um one more question... how do i set it were you can only buy items off the wall if u have enought points, cuz right now it will deduct points and still let you getting the item oj the wall. i need it were u can only buy items if u have enogh points.

ChrisF2112
01-04-2013, 05:11 PM
You will have to use a score sensor to sense if the score is above a certain threshold.

Basically, for an item that costs 100 points you'll need some way to trigger them buying it like a grab switch. Have that signal ANDed with a score sensor that is only on if the player's score is greater than or equal to 100. That way it will only work when they have enough. You'll probably want to have a sound that indicates they don't have enough points for the other option as well.

Good luck!

Ash_uk1
01-04-2013, 05:13 PM
if your using the lbp score then use the score sensor logic and connect it to a AND gate link the other input to what ever button your using to buy the item. and link up the output of the AND gate to what ever the player can buy

hope that helps

IeatFrogs
01-04-2013, 09:22 PM
thanks, it solved my problem. my level s now published. to play it type in zombie house survival

IeatFrogs
01-10-2013, 10:03 PM
um i just realized that when u buy checkpoints it takes your points but dont emit a checkpoint. whats wrong?