PDA

View Full Version : Moving a block a certain distance from left to right or right to left



TulsaTom
02-04-2013, 06:34 PM
im using a block along with a mover and i dont wanna use tags so whats a simple way of making it move left to right or the opposite but in a set diatance

catsand
02-04-2013, 06:50 PM
If it's only a block that is only going to move left to right (not wobble etc.) I'd use a piston.
Pistons are easier to adjust and you can make them invisible. ;)

TulsaTom
02-04-2013, 07:02 PM
ya i tried that but im trying to not put things in the very back third layer but i guess ill have to do that cause right now im using two on/off sensors and a sequncer and trying to get the timing down is a %$#@$#^@

catsand
02-04-2013, 08:00 PM
What do you mean by that?
and yes, movers are a pain- which is why I prefer pistons for simple things like that.

TulsaTom
02-04-2013, 11:52 PM
well with out using pistons how would i move a platform side to side and have it do it that within a certain length right now im trying to do it with a sequncer and on/off switches and trying to tweak the timing on the sequncer to allow me to set a length of the side to side motion


Is this the only way besides using eithier a piston or tags and tag sensors?

jwwphotos
02-05-2013, 12:48 AM
I know you said no pistons, but a weak piston makes an excellent tether for a mover. You can limit and fine tune it very nicely.

If that doesn't work for you how about a block of invisible material to stop the movement in both directions? This can be done either by a thin block on that particular layer or as a thin layer and putting a thin layer on the moving block that hits it.

Masseyf
02-05-2013, 02:20 PM
Yikes, you dont wanna use tags and ur not a fan of pistons ^^ Must say piston sounds like it really would do the job very well.

But if you are still looking for alternatives, you could also encase the block in glitched holo - if your scene allows - that'll keep the block on a very set course and wont obstruct your movement - but it does collide with all physical objects other than yourself (could also be done on the thin layer).

If your havent seen the tut comph has on speed measurement, check that out - it is possible to on/off move things very precisely, but if easy is the way you want to do it - pistons !

TulsaTom
02-05-2013, 04:45 PM
well with everything u al have said im sticking im going to use pistons:).....im re working the first and only vite lvl i have ever made and well hopefuly it will all work out :)