PDA

View Full Version : BLACKJACK (Beta)



Bitter Sweet
02-28-2013, 05:50 AM
It's up.

Domik12
02-28-2013, 09:51 AM
mmm... vita.lbp.me link please...

Rough-Tea
02-28-2013, 05:14 PM
Hi,

u should change your internet privacy in lbp, so u can be seen over at lbp.me

Heres the link anyways:

http://vita.lbp.me/v/bbb75

Its really good, man. A very good attempt on Blackjack. Graphics are fine, gameplay seems fine (i hit BJ right away ^^) and they arnt any other blackjacks levels im aware of atm, so this must be the best blackjack level on the vita so far ^^

I would have some suggestions, as this is still in a beta phase, and i hope u consider some of them, as this could turn out to be a great level to have on the vita.

First of all, u have to integrate a highscore system with points, as in the money u win, turns out to be your score. Since atm its not even possible to exit the game, while in the game, other than pressing start.

Than, i found out that your sackboy/girl can jump around and be seen on the table lol... its awkward but kinda funny lol

Ok, now i discovered a major flaw.... i replayed it and it hands out the exact same cards.... hmm... it really should be random, or otherwise the level makes no sense at all, especially in replayability and in score competition....

The badge looks great, u might add a menu or not... maybe a little help for noobies.

If theres a lot of cards going on u cant see the messages in the middle anymore cause the cards are above it.

Well, this can turn out to be a great addition to the lbpv level community, so i hope u work some things out and finish it up. U didnt really leave much info or questions in your post lol... lets say its the most minimal presentation of a level i have ever seen here... lol

Bitter Sweet
02-28-2013, 05:40 PM
Thanks for the good words. Gives me a lil pep to keep going.

I had initally planned to make it so when you cash out, it gives you points equal to your bankroll. At the time I was using a memorizer for the bankroll so I could later intregrate the two. Somewhere along the way though, my bankroll chip kept breaking and I would need 2 of them on the level at the same time to get it to work.

..but then I found that if I took out the memorizers everything started working smoothly again.

So the other night I go to put the memorizer back in and couldn't get it to work. So as soon as I figure that out. I'll be able to add a score giver and such. That's the plan anyway.

Its lacking a chunk of fun stuff. I don't know what it needs in that respect, but it's boring right now. Any tips to add fun-ness would be apreciated.

Once I figure out how controlantors work I'll do that too, so you can't see yourself in the level.

I think it may still be over-paying you on a split push first(left) hand.

Oh and I'm using a randomizer for the cards. Not sure why its shelling out the same ones. Does anyone know how to fix that?

Menu? What could I put on a menu?.. instructions, play, cashout? Sounds like a good idea.

Great feedback guys!



*ps. What is this lbp me link everyones going on about? I had a lot of trouble finding other ppls levels from the showcase here last night. How does this level link work?

Rough-Tea
02-28-2013, 06:00 PM
Its lacking a chunk of fun stuff. I don't know what it needs in that respect, but it's boring right now. Any tips to add fun-ness would be apreciated.

I dunno, its Blackjack. What much else do u wanna add? The best thing i could think of, would be multiplayer but thats hard to realize i guess. I would keep it simple.

Never used a randomizer but i heard of that its not that random as it sounds, there are tutorials for user-made randomizer, u might wanna check that out... or any randomizer tutorial video.

Menu would be great, and could exactly contain what u thought off. Play Option, a quick instruction and an exit option (cashout) [maybe an option to quickly check the scoreboard (just put a movie camera on it)]


*ps. What is this lbp me link everyones going on about? I had a lot of trouble finding other ppls levels from the showcase here last night. How does this level link work?

http://vita.lbp.me is a site where u can quickly queue and pick levels u wanna play.. if u login there with your psn account and put your internet privacy settings in the game on for everbody to see, than its easier to find or play your levels. I rarely ever use the cool pages to play levels, its too annyoing...

I hope u continue this, cause i will sure come back and try to get a good score.

Bitter Sweet
02-28-2013, 06:14 PM
Glad to hear it! I'll keep working then! :)

Wolfdre
02-28-2013, 07:20 PM
queued! I have a card game project as well so im curious to see your approach.

LukeCF
03-01-2013, 05:50 AM
Hey there, just stopping in to make a comment about randomizers. They are funny little things in that once you place one down, it will forever have the same pattern that it follows. The randomness comes from the fact that every time you place one it has it's own unique pattern, which is why a lot of people use emitters to emit a randomizer which activate tags which in turn activates your logic.
There is another way to do it though if you are having the pattern activate through player input (for example when ever you place down a block in my level triple tap time, you get a new random block to place. What I did for this, was have a randomizer CONSTANTLY activating so that every .1 seconds it was on a different out put, but for that output to actually do anything it had to first have a player activate it. In order to do this I wired all the outputs through a microchip that would only ever turn on when I told it to, that way the randomizer was constantly going through it's random pattern, assuring a player wouldn't hit the same pattern every time, but also would only send out a truly active output when I wanted it to.


Does that make sense? :)

Bitter Sweet
03-01-2013, 06:11 PM
Not sure I followed you there. But I believe I fixed this problem yesterday.

It's not still giving you the same cards is it? I read that if the randomizer is already on a pattern when in create mode that it will always keep that same pattern in play mode. I simply reset my randomizer and poof, problem solved. ..or at least I thought. My guess is you didn't even play it but thanks for the randomizer info anyway.

Domik12
03-01-2013, 07:21 PM
HI, Bitter Sweet

Great level with very nice visuals and excellent BLACKJACK mechanics. I love it.

But as mentioned above I have the same cards sequence while level replay.

If you fix it it will be ideal BLACKJACK realization in LBP :)

I hope this pictures help to attract more attention to your level: :)

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8234/8518582255_5107f2fc0b_z.jpg


http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8093/8518582079_38be97455f_z.jpg

From Russia with love,
Domick12

Bitter Sweet
03-01-2013, 08:42 PM
Thank you for the pictures! Much appreciated!!

What cards are you getting for your starting hand? I just retested on my end and got a 7/8 first hand, I restarted after the hand was over and got a 7/4, restarted again and got a 10/5, .. Not sure why its random for me and not for you?

Oh.. that's interesting. I just played it online and it gives me the same cards. This doesn't happen when I download it to my moon/earth (what have you) and play it from there.

Hmm.. hmm hmm

LukeCF
03-01-2013, 09:12 PM
I didn't play it, but that's no reason to get bitter at me buddy, I was trying to offer a tip on how to work with randomizers to get the effect that you wanted. If you want I can try to explain it more clearly to you, because now that I've seen your level, I am sure the method that worked for my level will also work perfectly for your level!!! :)

And now that I have played it, I have to say, wow man you did a great job! :)

I just have a few questions/suggestions.

-I'm not sure if you really need a menu, but having one may make the masses happy.


Is there any reason I don't seem to be able to bet higher than 100? In gambling games I love to be able to bet reckless amounts, lose it all, then win it back. If it's a technical limitations with your logic I understand, but if it's easy at all to implement higher bets, I'd love that.

When you have a split, (say in the first deal ;) ), using the double down on the first set doubles the bet amount down below the cards, but for the second pair it doesn't seem too. Say I bet 100, then split. My first double down, changes the 100 to 200, if I try and double down the next set though the amount bet stays at 100, despite the fact that 100 is subtracted from my little big bankroll. You can test this easily enough on your online version since the first hand is always a split hand.

And I downloaded your level to test out whether that would give me random cards, like you said it seems to do for you, but even with the level downloaded, I still am always felt the same cards.

If you PM me, I bet we could solve this issue together ;)

But besides those few little hiccups your level is truly a treat!
If the two little issues get fixed I could easily see this getting Mm picked, or at the very least spotlighted here on LBPC. It's great work, the table looks great, and the cards all look fantastic!
( oh one other note if you could have a few different chip visuals for your bet that'd be super cool. Like if you bet 95 as opposed to 25 you'll see different amounts of chips laid out on the table.)

Hope this feed back helps, keep up the good work!!!
(Oh and a multiplayer version would be amazing!)

Oh, and I think your computer logic needs some tuning. Sometimes when I would double down and end up with like 13, the computer would get to 16ish, and despite being higher than me already. Keep on hittingfg until he busted. What type of logic do you use to tell the computer to hit or stay? Because it apparently needs someqe tuning...

Bitter Sweet
03-01-2013, 09:33 PM
Thanks, That's exactly what I was looking for. When you've been staring at the same level for 2 months it gets harder to see things like the bet amount under the second hand after split.

:)

That is an easy fix and I'll add it to my list.

I actually have signals already set aside on my bankroll chip to interpret bets of $5, 10, 25, 50, 100, and 500. (I didn't have room for all the denominations so I reduced it to 3. I only put a cap on the bet amount to make player progress toward a huge bankroll slower. But I can easily lift the cap. I also made images for every bet amount up to one hundred so that it could emit the proper color chips. But I was trying to focus on the gameplay part first to make it all work.

So those are definately some things that will be added to the final version, they are just taking a back seat right now so I can sort out memorizers, score givers, randomizers, etc.

Sorry I was short last time. I know its no excuse but I just quit smoking and have been agitated lately. Sorry to take it out on you when you're only trying to help. You should see my road rage these days!


So yeah, I'd be open to all the help you can give. I just learned about all this logic stuff this year in Janurary. Never used it before. I just learned what an XOR gate does yesterday. LOL. So this was a huge undertaking as I am trying to understand what everything is doing and why its behaving as such. Don't know how to pm yet either. You can email me though at acistephanie@yahoo.com. ..Man

:)

LukeCF
03-02-2013, 09:54 PM
Hey there bittersweet, back again. I noticed another little glitch. When you're betting, if you clear your bet, and place a smaller one, the text appearing under your bet will appear as if it were still the higher bet.
For example, if I bet 100, cleared it, then bet fifty the text under the bet will say 100.
If I bet fifty, the clear it, and then bet five, it will appear as fifty. If I keep betting five until I get to fifty five, fifty five will appear and the bet amount will increase. It just the text doesn't seem to want to decrease. If you get what I mean.

Also if I have less than 100 in my bank, it still lets me bet 100.

(Also the randomizer seems to be working now, did your last update fix that, or is this just randomly working for me now for some reason?)

Bitter Sweet
03-02-2013, 10:10 PM
Yeah I just changed the way the bet is displayed. Should have tested it more. Thanks I'll get to fixing that now.

The randomizer is set to emit now when you click any of the 3 chip denominations. So it's a little more random. But the first time I tested it, I got the same cards twice in a row. I guess my timing is pretty consistant.

As far as it allowing you to bet when you run out of money is actually an intended feature right now. I can't seem to get my memorizer to hold a starting value and so I tweaked it to allow you to bet when you have no funds so you could start at zero and go up from there. Also I haven't made a way for you to get more chips yet when you run out. So for now you can keep playing when your broke. (But that won't always be the case ;) )

I was planning on adding little sub levels or mini games to earn more chips. Like juggling or washing dishes. As soon as I can get this one finished those are in queue.

Rough-Tea
03-11-2013, 05:30 PM
Hehe, gratz on the teampick...

WoW, i hope u really add a Scoreboard very soon!!!!! Especially that and a help section are probably the only things missing...

Very happy for u man... good job!

Bitter Sweet
03-11-2013, 11:54 PM
Teampick? What's that?

I am almost done. I've added the memorizer so your score is saved. I've added a scoreboard and score giver. Fixed all known bugs. The only thing I'm stuck on is how to flip cameras on and off so I can pan to scoreboard and help menu. I'll be posting the final version by Friday I think.

Where can I see this teampick stuff?

Pulparindo15
03-12-2013, 01:33 AM
@Bitter Sweet: http://vita.lbp.me/search?t=team_picks :)

VelcroJonze
03-12-2013, 01:46 AM
Congratulations on the team pick. Well deserved. :)

Bitter Sweet
03-12-2013, 01:48 AM
Oh neat. Who do I thank for the team pick? And who's team am I on? lol.

Thanks LBPC!!

:)

Pulparindo15
03-12-2013, 01:54 AM
Haha, a little confusion of words!, a Team pick means that one of your levels is a favorite of the developer. ;)
Levels with that pretty rose decoration, are team picks.

Bitter Sweet
03-12-2013, 01:57 AM
Oh wow.. lots of new plays. Wasn't ready for all that yet. I gotta get a rush on finishing now. Thanks again.

Edit:

The final version is up. I'm not crazy about all the loading going on between each hand, but anytime the bankroll adjusts it wants to save so you can't cheat the casino for free chips.

Quick question though... does anyone know why my scoreboard isn't working? It works fine in play mode on my moon but after uploading to the web it stopped working. Is this because the scoreboard wasn't there before the team pick?

Also I notice at the end of the level when you are sitting on the scoreboard and the screen pops up asking if you want to replay or continue... well the level icon, name, and description are all cleared at the top.??

Rough-Tea
03-12-2013, 04:20 PM
You are funny lol

A Teampick is one of the highest achievments in this game ^^ every creators dream!

There are allready some records going on, so it seems to work.
That last thing u said sounds like a bug or lag... it might not happen to other people.

Bitter Sweet
03-12-2013, 05:18 PM
I figured it out last night. I had the "players can only find you level through level link" selected from when I was testing stuff out. And apparently that causes the aforementioned thingies.

I got a BIG PINK RIBBION around my level!!!!!!

:)

WAHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

realtime
03-12-2013, 10:43 PM
I thought it was pretty good...I imagine the logic to fix this little problem might be pretty envolving...but heres what it did...

I stayed at 7(cause I wanted to see what it would do) it had an 8 on the table....and it drew another card when it already had me beat...it busted.
other then that I though it was really good...grats on the team pick

Bitter Sweet
03-13-2013, 02:36 AM
.. you're a funny one. :)

StevenI
03-13-2013, 10:20 AM
Love this level! :)

Can easily find myself playing this continuously by my computer at work whilst I'm supposed to be doing paperwork. ;)

Bitter Sweet
03-13-2013, 10:53 PM
Thanks everyone!


...so how long does a team pick last?

LukeCF
03-14-2013, 03:05 AM
Thanks everyone!


...so how long does a team pick last?


Forever!!!! :D


Welcome to the club house buddy. :)

Congrats on the pick, it's well deserved.

(I would post this on your profile, but since you seem pretty new here, and I'm not sure you know how to use all the bells and whistles of LBPC yet, I'm just gonna post a little amended message here Bitter Sweet.

Would you mind trying out my work in progress hybrid pinball/breakout level at some point?
You can find some information for it:
http://www.lbpcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?78656-Breakout-Your-Pinballs-!&p=1090933#post1090933
^^Here.
I'd appreciate any feedback you have. :) )