PDA

View Full Version : Remove the discard changes button.



Woutery
02-15-2014, 09:11 PM
SERIOUSLY

I JUST WORKED TWO **** HOURS ON A LEVEL AND I WANTED TO TEST IT AND CLICKED DISCARD CHANGES AND LOST EVERYTHING I HAD

JUST

IF THS WERENT A "FAMILY FORUM" I'D SCREAM EVERY SINGLE SWEAR WORD I KNOW :kz:

ARD
02-15-2014, 09:47 PM
Yeah there probably should be a confirmation thing for discarding changes. I mean personally I find it's less of a problem on Vita because of the touch controls but still, not much you can do if you didn't have a backup. Not sure I've ever actually used the "discard" option on purpose.

I wish you could undo stuff after exiting and re-entering a level as well.

Woutery
02-15-2014, 10:08 PM
I think i used it once or twice for reasons like adding something and then realising it was a huge mistake and i want it gone easily and that sorta stuff.

I find it more of a problem on the Vita since the buttons are a tiny bit smaller than my fingers. I haven't used buttons for it though, since i don't have LBP on the PS3 or anything, although you did have buttons on the PSP, but if i'm correct it did actually have a confirmation.

koltonaugust
02-16-2014, 01:16 AM
I don't see why it is ever prompted when you want to change to play mode. I use discard changes a lot when returning to my pod but I too think there should be some confirmation.

airide101
02-18-2014, 02:20 PM
I've used it a few times. It can occasionally come in handy, but yeah it can be annoying. Just make sure every now and then you press start and save it, that way if you accidentally press discard it won't change much

Schark94
02-18-2014, 05:10 PM
Solution: save your levels more frequently.

Tikaki-MooMoo
02-18-2014, 07:49 PM
Lesson for today, Save your level more frequently! (Either from Save As or Save)

Skalio-
02-26-2014, 09:13 AM
I use it loads when returning to pod after messing about trying to figure out some logic or build a contraption that I am not gonna use again, but there is no reason for it to be there when you choose to enter play mode because why would you build some stuff and then go to play with it and decide to not save your changes?

Jauw
02-28-2014, 05:43 PM
The discard changes button can definitely be helpful in some scenarios. I have only experienced a loss of level data a couple of times, but that was only minor changes. As said above, remember to save every 15-30 minutes, if you're going crazy in Create Mode.

I don't know why but i always click "Save As" just like in Word - Just to be sure that it's saved. It's probably just a habit that I'm SO used to.

I'm sorry you lost 2 hours of work, we all know how infuriating that can be :hero:

-- Jauw

aratiatia
03-08-2014, 10:25 PM
I always save before a visitor joins me in create mode. Then we can do whatever and as I leave create mode I can discard changes ('cause my friend kindly ruined it by finding hidden bugs and whatnot and I can't be bothered undoing for half an hour).

I say keep "discard changes."

L-I-M-I
03-17-2014, 02:04 AM
I like the discard changes button, cause I have lost important stuff in the past, I even accidently deleted a level before (Stealing Sound part B, thank god I had a 80& back up of it) , but I like to go in a tinker a bit without having to stick with all the changes I made, usually I do this in sensitive areas, tinker see if it works, if not wala discard changes comes to the rescue :D but a confirmation would be cumbersome,. but maybe a necessary evil I suppose?