PDA

View Full Version : Units, Measurements and more



Walter-Kovacs
02-17-2009, 03:40 PM
I found this on the LBPbuilder.com forums, and it has a lot of good information that I don't think is succinctly available on this site.


This might be handy for anyone doing any precise actions. I welcome any corrections and I hope people have helpful additions.

Units
Small Grid - 2.5 units
Medium Grid - 5 units
Big Grid - 10 units

Measurements
Sackboy Height - 10 units
Squeeze Height - 5 units (area he can squeeze in, might be smaller)
Standing Jump Height - 12.5 units
Standing Jump Distance - 25 units
Running Jump Distance - 50 units (I occasionally managed 55 units rarely)
Level Height - 2220 units
Level Width - 3932.5 units
Level Depth = 3.8 layers (.8 = The thin layers)

Material Weights and Properties
Also, I found this here, which provides equivalent weights for all materials. This is based on a 5x5 single z-axis depth block of material. (Thin layers weigh 1/5 of a thick layer)



Material Weight Resistance Friction
Metal 20 8 3
Stone 20 8 3
Glass 10 7 1
Wood 10 6 3
Rubber 10 5 4
Sponge 2 3 3 Grippable/Destroyable
Dissolve 1.333 2 2 Grippable/Destroyable
Cardboard 1 1 3 Destroyable
Polystyrene 1 1 3 Grippable/Destroyable
Pink Floaty 0 4 3 Grippable/Destroyable
Peach Floaty -1 4 3 Grippable/Destroyable




Name Weight
Sackboy 12.5
Entrance 55
Checkpoint 55
Double-Life Checkpoint 55
Infinite-Life Checkpoint 55
Scoreboard (with foot) 38
Scoreboard (without foot) 26
Score Bubble (default size) 0.625
Prize Bubble (default size) 3
Close-Level Post 0.58823529412*

*17 posts offset 10 5x5 Peach Floaties.


Bolts, Sensors, Magentic Keys, Magnetic Switches, and Eyeballs are also weightless. It appears that all of the Connectors (String, Pistons, etc) are weightless if properly connected on both ends. If the connectors are only attached on one end, they operate as anchors on the loose connector but the string/piston/rod inbetween is weightless. Other creature parts, spikes, explosives, and rockets all have various weights. If you need to figure the weights of anything, Peach Floaty blocks in 5x5 sizes attached either directly or with string make for good ways to figure it.

Connector Notes


Connectors appears to hate having a minimum distance of zero. Alway set it for a minimum distance of 0.1 or it will detatch or wig out.

Connectors appears to hate having a minimum distance of zero. Alway set it for a minimum distance of 0.1 or it will detatch or wig out.
It seems that there is about 2.5 units worth of hardware involved with a Connector (like a piston, string, rod). So if you want a string to stretch across a 20 unit span of space, set the "maximum distance" to be 17.5 units.
Similarly, pistons/winches will always have at least a ~2.5 gap when fully retracted.
If you want a Piston or Winch to be flush when fully retracted, use the way they don't clip and attach them above instead of below their anchor object. So if there is a ledge where the Winch would be connected to, attach it to the top of the ledge instead of below. In this way, you don't have to account for the 2.5 units of connectors and it can be set to be flush with the anchor object.


http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/5181/traditionalpistonid0.jpg
http://img399.imageshack.us/img399/2772/clippedpistonns6.jpg
Source: ApeAgi at LBPbuilder.com + some additional measurement by yonisyuumei and ViniciusBR11


Noticed a lack of mention on rockets, so I did some testing of my own.

For starters, a 5x5 rocket (using the OP units) weighs 9.3. But after I found this, I decided to see if I could figure out how much rocket thrust "weighs". 2-3 hours later, this is what I came up with.

The tweak menu for rockets is separated into 21 different settings when you use the D-pad, ranging from 0 on the far left to 20 on the far right.

http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/4572/lbprocketchart.jpg

And a graph of what I found. It's somewhat exponential, but I found that there wasn't a very obvious pattern (unfortunately).

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/1949/lbprocketgraph.jpg



It seems that the sackperson sensor and the mag switch have a max range between 200 and 250 units, or in the ball park of 1.5 screen widths at max camera zoom out.

Weirdly, the exact range seemed to vary a bit depending on what switch mode was set (speed,on/off,etc) and even more weirdly, my tests with a mag on/off switch had it turning off at a larger range than was needed to turn it on, and I believe my results varied a bit as well depending on if I moved the key or the switch. It all seemed quite finicky at the edge.

Incidentally, while I had never measured it before, I could have sworn the range was greater at some patch point in the past, but perhaps I'm mistaken there. Even now the + sign never stops flashing as you increase range, and it's difficult to see the range perimeter as it gets near the limit, but nonetheless it stops growing just a ways out of camera view.

Hope this saves somebody else a bit of pondering time...

Gilgamesh
02-17-2009, 04:08 PM
Awesome stuff. Thanks for reposting this over here. :)

Walter-Kovacs
02-17-2009, 04:11 PM
Awesome stuff. Thanks for reposting this over here. :)

No problem.

I am trying to work out the formatting of the table, hopefully I can make it readable soon.

Risen
02-17-2009, 04:16 PM
Thanks for posting it here. I've been wondering about the exact numbers on a few of these.

Walter-Kovacs
02-17-2009, 04:22 PM
*Whew* got the table to line up. My work here is done.

RAINFIRE
02-18-2009, 03:41 AM
WOW GREAT i will use the piston technique for sure in my level as it will be very valuable to me Thanks for posting!

Cheers!

KAPBAM
02-18-2009, 02:56 PM
VERY informative, thanks!!

Inspectigater
02-18-2009, 07:28 PM
This really is a great help. I've wanted to know specifics like these for a while. In my opinion it's what really enables you to get down and dirty with creating... to be able to really tweak the crap out of something and get it just right.

I really appreciate this post!

Walter-Kovacs
02-19-2009, 01:34 AM
This really is a great help. I've wanted to know specifics like these for a while. In my opinion it's what really enables you to get down and dirty with creating... to be able to really tweak the crap out of something and get it just right.

I really appreciate this post!

I'm glad you guys think it is useful, go put it to good use!

Morgana25
02-19-2009, 02:00 AM
That's handy - thanks for posting it.

Walter-Kovacs
02-19-2009, 06:59 AM
That's handy - thanks for posting it.

No problem, the more informed creators are the better levels they can make...and I like playing good levels.

Skipjimroo
02-19-2009, 05:15 PM
Thanks so much for putting this up here Rorsch- I mean Walter (wink wink)

I think most of us who have tinkered to any great length with the "create" side of things, have a rough idea what the properties of each material are.

That said, there's something so much more accessible about seeing them listed in a table with assigned numerical value.

The piston section was particularly good to know. There's a few times I've been left scratching my head wondering why the **** thing won't fully retract when min length is at zero!

Good to know, incredibly useful. Thanks a bunch.

dawesbr
02-20-2009, 10:52 AM
That's extremely useful, and should be stickied ;)

Conall-Star
02-20-2009, 11:50 AM
immediately bookmarked. invaluable. thank you.

Sackmundo
02-20-2009, 08:18 PM
Good, but what what about sackboy weight?

Walter-Kovacs
02-23-2009, 09:32 AM
Good, but what what about sackboy weight?

That is a good question that I don't know the answer to. If anyone can find out sackboy's weight relative to this chart, let me know and I'll add it for everyone to see.

tameturtle
02-23-2009, 09:55 AM
Good, but what what about sackboy weight?

Sackboy weighs 50 units.

(Unfortunately I don't remember where I picked up this figure. I do remember verifying it myself though.)

Morrinn3
02-23-2009, 10:46 AM
Wow, this is piece of information should be page one of the unofficial LBP Builder's Bible.
I vote this thread gets stickied.

Awesome find Walter.

Walter-Kovacs
02-23-2009, 11:07 AM
Sackboy weighs 50 units.

(Unfortunately I don't remember where I picked up this figure. I do remember verifying it myself though.)

I updated the first post to reflect this. If anyone can double check it and let me know if it's correct that would be nice. (I am in Hong Kong away from my PS3 so I can't.)

It's not that I doubt you tameturtle, I just want to be extra sure since it sounds like you heard this a while ago.

tameturtle
02-23-2009, 12:51 PM
I updated the first post to reflect this. If anyone can double check it and let me know if it's correct that would be nice. (I am in Hong Kong away from my PS3 so I can't.)

It's not that I doubt you tameturtle, I just want to be extra sure since it sounds like you heard this a while ago.
Hey, no problem, I tend to doubt anything I read on the 'net myself. :)

And an addendum: the 50 units figure relates to thick layer pieces. IIrc, thin layer objects weigh 1/5th.

Walter-Kovacs
03-10-2009, 04:12 AM
And an addendum: the 50 units figure relates to thick layer pieces. IIrc, thin layer objects weigh 1/5th.

Added this to first post.

If anyone else has anything related that they want added be sure to post.

uzman
03-10-2009, 11:31 AM
Good, but what what about sackboy weight?

50 units. It's in his post.

Anyways, this is some heavy stuff.
Useful, but it needs skill to take advantage of it.:idea:

mindphaser74
03-11-2009, 01:50 AM
ditto to everybody else's compliments:)

Ayneh
03-11-2009, 03:38 PM
This is really helpful, thanks!

Could this be made into a sticky?

dobi6
03-12-2009, 12:58 AM
It needs to be a sticky

Silverleon
03-12-2009, 10:03 PM
50 units. It's in his post.

Anyways, this is some heavy stuff.
Useful, but it needs skill to take advantage of it.:idea:

Yeah, seems he asked then someone answered, then W-K updated the post.
Anywho.
This info is quite interesting, and surely helpful, thx

Pinchanzee
03-15-2009, 12:27 AM
I have reason to believe the double checkpoint weights more than the single?
This is just a hunch.. can anybody confirm?

Walter-Kovacs
03-18-2009, 03:32 AM
I have reason to believe the double checkpoint weights more than the single?
This is just a hunch.. can anybody confirm?

I have no idea, but you could find out by using floaty to "weigh it" see how much floaty it takes to make it float.

SawronZXZ
03-22-2009, 09:03 PM
Easy way to weigh checkpoints- Put single life checkpoint about 8 units away from double checkpoint in the air. Pause create mode. Take some Peach floaty and the circle tool. Make the circle 2 units larger in every direction than the checkpoints. "Click it" (press X) right on top of the single life checkpoint, dead in the middle. Repeat for double life checkpoint. Exit popit, unpause create mode, and see which one falls faster. (Or if they're the same)

To Walter - Great thread, should be stickied.

Walter-Kovacs
04-23-2009, 12:57 AM
Easy way to weigh checkpoints- Put single life checkpoint about 8 units away from double checkpoint in the air. Pause create mode. Take some Peach floaty and the circle tool. Make the circle 2 units larger in every direction than the checkpoints. "Click it" (press X) right on top of the single life checkpoint, dead in the middle. Repeat for double life checkpoint. Exit popit, unpause create mode, and see which one falls faster. (Or if they're the same)

To Walter - Great thread, should be stickied.

Anyone got results on this? I can't use my PS3 for another couple months.

johnrulz77
04-23-2009, 01:52 AM
ill test it tonight if i manage to get on to finish my level.

*EDIT*

i mite check to see the weight itself too

SawronZXZ
04-23-2009, 01:53 PM
I'm pretty sure now that they weigh the same. I wonder about CP1 and the infinite life one...

johnrulz77
04-26-2009, 07:02 PM
i checked, the weigh the same, and also,
i tried wieghing the checkpoints, its hard cuz its circular, but it took alot of floaty ill tell you that!

yonisyuumei
05-02-2009, 07:33 PM
The entrances and all the checkpoints weigh 55 weight units.

yonisyuumei
05-02-2009, 09:12 PM
We should really assign names to these different measurement units. I'm gonna call these weight units LittleBigOunces (LBOz) until they add water so we can measure in proper LittleBigMetric. ;-)


Sackboy weighs 50 units.

I just tested it myself and he weighs 12.5 weight units.

Go into Create Mode, put down 12 medium-grid-size squares of peach floaty and 2 small-grid-size squares, join them together, and while paused, have Sackboy stand directly in the center of this floaty object, then unpause and you'll see him float completely neutrally.

Here are some more measurements... I only measured the Basic Kit in the Tools bag.


NAME LBOz

Sackboy 12.5
Camera Zone 0
Entrance 55
Score Bubble (default size) 0.625
Scoreboard (with foot) 38
Scoreboard (without foot) 26
Checkpoint 55
Close-Level Post 0.58823529412*
Photo Booth 0
Prize Bubble (default size) 3
Double-Life Checkpoint 55
Infinite-Life Checkpoint 55

*17 posts offset 10 5x5 Peach Floaties.

tameturtle
05-03-2009, 09:21 AM
But, yonis, twelve medium plus two small grid units add up to ...

12 * 4 + 2 = 48 + 2 = 50

small grid units.

Walter-Kovacs
05-03-2009, 02:24 PM
We should really assign names to these different measurement units. I'm gonna call these weight units LittleBigOunces (LBOz) until they add water so we can measure in proper LittleBigMetric. ;-)



I just tested it myself and he weighs 12.5 weight units.

Go into Create Mode, put down 12 medium-grid-size squares of peach floaty and 2 small-grid-size squares, join them together, and while paused, have Sackboy stand directly in the center of this floaty object, then unpause and you'll see him float completely neutrally.

Here are some more measurements... I only measured the Basic Kit in the Tools bag.


NAME LBOz

Sackboy 12.5
Camera Zone 0
Entrance 55
Score Bubble (default size) 0.625
Scoreboard (with foot) 38
Scoreboard (without foot) 26
Checkpoint 55
Close-Level Post 0.58823529412*
Photo Booth 0
Prize Bubble (default size) 3
Double-Life Checkpoint 55
Infinite-Life Checkpoint 55

*17 posts offset 10 5x5 Peach Floaties.

Thanks for the info, I added it to the first post. Your explanation of the weight of sackboy makes sense so I left it as 12.5, hopefully this is indeed correct.

yonisyuumei
05-03-2009, 08:39 PM
But, yonis, twelve medium plus two small grid units add up to ...

12 * 4 + 2 = 48 + 2 = 50

small grid units.

That's confusing weight measurements with area measurements (and I don't blame you, because we haven't come up with different names for these units).

The measurement of the peach floaty is based on 1 medium-grid-size square, which is 5 piston/rod/winch length units square, or 25 length units square.


This is based on a 5x5 single z-axis depth block of material. (Thin layers weigh 1/5 of a thick layer)

So according to the original post, 25 length units square of peach floaty neutralizes 1 weight unit (which I'm going to call a LBOz).

So here's the calculation.

( ( Number of medium-size-grid squares * ( Length of single medium-grid-size square * Height of single medium-grid-size square ) ) + ( Number of small-size-grid squares * ( Length of single small-grid-size square * Height of small-grid-size square ) ) ) / Number of squared units to neutralize 1 LBOz
( ( 12 * ( 5 * 5 ) ) + ( 2 * ( 2.5 * 2.5 ) ) ) / 25
( ( Number of medium-size-grid squares * Area of single medium-grid-size square ) + ( Number of small-size-grid squares * Area of single small-grid-size square ) ) / Number of squared units to neutralize 1 LBOz
( ( 12 * 25 ) + ( 2 * 6.25 ) ) / 25
( Total area of 12 medium-grid-size squares + Total area of 2 small-size-grid squares ) / Number of squared units to neutralize 1 LBOz
( 300 + 12.5 ) / 25
Total squared units / Number of squared units to neutralize 1 LBOz
312.5 / 25
End weight
12.5 LBOz

Kern
08-05-2009, 02:01 PM
there should be a book made with all this information in it. i would certainly buy it

goldenclaw13
08-05-2009, 06:45 PM
Units
Small Grid - 2.5 units
Medium Grid - 5 units
Big Grid - 10 units

Wait... are you saying that a 1 thickness in small grid is half as much as a medium grid block? Wouldn't the medium grid be 4 multiplied by the small grid?

Because 4 small grid blocks equal 1 medium block...also this is the same for the big grid.

Anyways, I thought this was very useful. But, I decided to actually make my own, because I don't like decimal points :P It doesn't help much when your trying to be exact.

Either way, I printed this out :) Will be very useful for the future, because it's sitting right next to my ps3 controller :D

rtm223
08-05-2009, 07:51 PM
there should be a book made with all this information in it. i would certainly buy it

A littleBigGeekBook with all the equations of LittleBigPhysics in would be invaluable :)


Because 4 small grid blocks equal 1 medium block...also this is the same for the big grid.

Think length vs area ;)

Walter-Kovacs
08-05-2009, 08:51 PM
Think length vs area ;)

Exactly.

I'm glad my thread is still helping people out, even though I didn't do much of the research myself.

goldenclaw13
08-06-2009, 01:32 AM
Ah, I see, so 2.5 units is the height and width of the block...

I have a big physics question i think could stump a few people here ;)

Someone should calculate how heavy the materials are in circle form...


EDIT: We should get a few people and actually start making a book, from weights, to learning all of the bolts and connectors :)

Walter-Kovacs
08-06-2009, 07:17 AM
I have a big physics question i think could stump a few people here ;)

Someone should calculate how heavy the materials are in circle form...

That shouldn't be too hard, and it's more of a geometry equation than a physics one, since we already know the weight per area. I'm way too lazy to figure it out though.

rtm223
08-06-2009, 10:34 AM
Area = pi * (radius squared)

BSprague
08-06-2009, 12:36 PM
Area = pi * (radius squared)

But most of the circles in the game actually have visible sides, so you would have to count them up and base your equation on that to truly figure out the area.

rtm223
08-06-2009, 12:47 PM
Oh darn your pernickety ways BSprague :p Especially when you are right.

Well, the area of an icosogon is:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/math/0/d/4/0d4ce295dda2a527df94230c62bc25f8.png
Where T is the edge length.

Just need to work out the edge length from crosssectional distance and we can formulate an equation from the square it fits into. I'm sure that would be much more useful and easy to use than approximating it to a real circle :rolleyes:

Although that assumes the weight is calculated in this way. Have you noticed that the engine implies a curve on "circular" objects - you can't get the flat endges to go flush with another object


Is it bad that I know offhand that LBP circles have 20 sides?

comphermc
08-06-2009, 12:54 PM
Is it bad that I know offhand that LBP circles have 20 sides?

I thought it was common knowledge :p

I never knew circular edges were implied to be smooth. That's just weird.

BSprague
08-06-2009, 01:09 PM
Well, the area of an icosogon is:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/math/0/d/4/0d4ce295dda2a527df94230c62bc25f8.png
Where T is the edge length.

Or you can use app on this (http://www.mathopenref.com/polygonregulararea.html) page. It also has four other equations to find area knowing number of sides and length of a single side.

rtm223
08-06-2009, 01:21 PM
I never knew circular edges were implied to be smooth. That's just weird.
Yeah I was trying to use a circle as a 20 sided shapa and butt it up against 2 walls so I could position mag switches accurately, and it wouldn't. It's even weirder if you make a circle huge and try to run on it :) My guess is that it greatly reduces the calcualtions for collision detection - hence the fact that swapping circles for squares in wobbley logic doesn't appear to change the "edges" thermo - circles genuinely do have 1 edge.


Or you can use app on this (http://www.mathopenref.com/polygonregulararea.html) page. It also has four other equations to find area knowing number of sides and length of a single side.
Nice find. You would still want to know the area based upon the total width of the object, though.

goldenclaw13
08-06-2009, 04:50 PM
You guys are saying that LBP circles have 20 sides? I would have thought they get more when the circles get bigger...

And all this math is starting to confuse me XD

BSprague
08-07-2009, 12:58 AM
You guys are saying that LBP circles have 20 sides? I would have thought they get more when the circles get bigger...

And all this math is starting to confuse me XD

It's a way to make rendering more efficient. 20 sides is a lot less to render than 360 sides for example. The collisions are detected as though it is round though I believe.

goldenclaw13
08-07-2009, 06:20 PM
No, I'm almost positive the collisions are used with the 20 sides as well. When attaching a piston to a checkpoint, I get never get it perfectly on the top or bottom, it is always a bit offset...

rtm223
08-07-2009, 09:06 PM
No, I'm almost positive the collisions are used with the 20 sides as well. When attaching a piston to a checkpoint, I get never get it perfectly on the top or bottom, it is always a bit offset...

When you attach pistons, yes. But try doing what I said and making a massive circle, then running on top. Or pushing the flat edge against a wall.

goldenclaw13
08-07-2009, 11:33 PM
Oh, yes, I was just using pistons as an example.

GolimLongshanks
08-20-2009, 02:05 PM
My first visit and already I've learnt enough to keep me busy for a while :D

LittleBigDave
11-02-2009, 06:33 PM
In the OP table of material specifications, what does the resistance measurement mean?

Also, is the friction measurement just a relative guideline to compare which materials have more friction, or does it have a specific meaning in terms of length/volume of some standard block of each material.

srgt_poptart
11-04-2009, 05:40 AM
Another way to stae sackboys weight is in squares of materials. Sackboy weighs as much as one small grid block of metal, half a small grid block of wood, and 3/4 a block of cardboard. (all in one plane.) I did some testing like this, and weighed eery material like this.

srgt_poptart
11-04-2009, 05:43 AM
Also, to make a circle with more than 20 sides, couldn't you just place it, rotate it, and place again? And over and over?

lbpholic
11-04-2009, 08:41 AM
this is really useful thanks a lot for posting it here

BSprague
11-04-2009, 09:27 AM
Also, to make a circle with more than 20 sides, couldn't you just place it, rotate it, and place again? And over and over?
You can, but it's terribly inefficient when it comes to the thermometer.

rtm223
11-04-2009, 09:33 AM
Actually, you need to delete half the edges as well. Copying a circle, rotating by (360/40) degrees and placing over the top gives a very jagged "circle" (just think how you get a 8-pointed star when you place a rotated square over itself).

The thermo point is still the limiting factor though.

IStwisted
11-06-2009, 01:45 PM
head asplodes

bob is named bob
11-08-2009, 04:09 AM
hmmm... very useful
thx

ARD
11-08-2009, 02:49 PM
head asplodes

Everyone has become obsessed with Your Head Asplode since Mm used it in the spacesuit gif...

*goes to play SBzone*

ViniciusBR11
11-08-2009, 05:10 PM
VERY usefull
Thank you!
I'm printing it xD
GOOD EDIT:
I get some info about level size:
Level Height = 2220 units
Level Width = 3932.5 units
Level Lenght = 3.8 layers (.8 = The thin layers)

Treas
11-11-2009, 12:06 AM
Level Lenght = 3.5 layers (.5 = The thin layers)

3.8, to be exact. A thin layer shape weighs 1/5 of its thick layer equivalent, meaning that a thin layer has got 1/5 of the thickness of a thick layer. There's a total number of 3 thick and 4 thin layers (not counting the create mode hover layer and the glitched layers).

Incinerator22
11-11-2009, 01:33 AM
Sackboy is 9 units tall, not ten. :grr:

srgt_poptart
12-09-2009, 06:45 AM
3.8, to be exact. A thin layer shape weighs 1/5 of its thick layer equivalent, meaning that a thin layer has got 1/5 of the thickness of a thick layer. There's a total number of 3 thick and 4 thin layers (not counting the create mode hover layer and the glitched layers).

Sure doesn't look like only 1/5 the size. I would say maybe about 7 or 8 could fit in, but who am I to judge, your the master.

And if you actually create a near perfect smooth circle, which I did, (Takes up a good amount of thermo) when you jump on it, sackboy wriggles around on landing because of all the tiny defects.

LittleBigDave
12-11-2009, 02:45 AM
It seems that the sackperson sensor and the mag switch have a max range between 200 and 250 units, or in the ball park of 1.5 screen widths at max camera zoom out.

Weirdly, the exact range seemed to vary a bit depending on what switch mode was set (speed,on/off,etc) and even more weirdly, my tests with a mag on/off switch had it turning off at a larger range than was needed to turn it on, and I believe my results varied a bit as well depending on if I moved the key or the switch. It all seemed quite finicky at the edge.

Incidentally, while I had never measured it before, I could have sworn the range was greater at some patch point in the past, but perhaps I'm mistaken there. Even now the + sign never stops flashing as you increase range, and it's difficult to see the range perimeter as it gets near the limit, but nonetheless it stops growing just a ways out of camera view.

Hope this saves somebody else a bit of pondering time...

rtm223
12-11-2009, 12:41 PM
I believe my results varied a bit as well depending on if I moved the key or the switch. It all seemed quite finicky at the edge.

This is indeed the case. It's called hysteresis and essentially the line at which you switch is not a line but in fact a zone. Say for example you wanted the switching point to be at 50 units. What you may find is that as you move the magnetic key inwards, the switch doesn't switch on until it's at 48. Then on the way out it won't switch off until the key is at around 52.

It's to prevent jitter at the point at which it switching occurs. It's annoying sometimes, but it's quite consistent.

Walter-Kovacs
12-13-2009, 05:53 PM
GOOD EDIT:
I get some info about level size:
Level Height = 2220 units
Level Width = 3932.5 units
Level Lenght = 3.5 layers (.5 = The thin layers)

Thanks.


This is indeed the case. It's called hysteresis and essentially the line at which you switch is not a line but in fact a zone. Say for example you wanted the switching point to be at 50 units. What you may find is that as you move the magnetic key inwards, the switch doesn't switch on until it's at 48. Then on the way out it won't switch off until the key is at around 52.

It's to prevent jitter at the point at which it switching occurs. It's annoying sometimes, but it's quite consistent.

Still roaming around being overly technical rtm? Good to see things haven't changed in my absence.

psman012
12-21-2009, 09:47 PM
Awesome details and specs! Thanks a bunch, this will help me a lot!

Rhombohedron
07-11-2010, 10:45 PM
Noticed a lack of mention on rockets, so I did some testing of my own.

For starters, a 5x5 rocket (using the OP units) weighs 9.3. But after I found this, I decided to see if I could figure out how much rocket thrust "weighs". 2-3 hours later, this is what I came up with.

The tweak menu for rockets is separated into 21 different settings when you use the D-pad, ranging from 0 on the far left to 20 on the far right.

http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/4572/lbprocketchart.jpg

And a graph of what I found. It's somewhat exponential, but I found that there wasn't a very obvious pattern (unfortunately).

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/1949/lbprocketgraph.jpg

snaker
07-30-2010, 12:43 AM
Thanks man, i'll be sure to use it!

ViniciusBR11
07-30-2010, 01:53 AM
thank you by giving me credit at the end of the post by the level measurements...
(sarcasm...)

Walter-Kovacs
01-19-2011, 03:10 AM
thank you by giving me credit at the end of the post by the level measurements...
(sarcasm...)

Fixed, and threw in a couple other people's stuff for good measure.

mutant_red_peas
01-26-2011, 06:09 AM
Thanks, this'll help a lot!

Rogar
02-03-2011, 10:55 PM
Fun fact: LBP2 seems to be using the weight of a sackboy as the unit of weight measurement (as seen in the In/Out Mover). So you might want to recalculate your table ... and drop it on the wiki while you're at it. Or I will. :p

actio1_618
03-16-2011, 05:52 AM
this is great! but- how much does a block of water weighs? or (hopefully equivalent) what's the relative weight of all this items in water?

DodgyDez910
07-04-2011, 04:27 PM
Apart from this being really useful, you doubled the first connector note post.