PDA

View Full Version : 16 layers ideas and problems! LET'S FACE IT!



jotax2000
08-16-2014, 12:22 AM
I see that people is wondering about this 16 layers, so let's face it.

IT'S THAT HARD TO USE THEM?

Im here to tell you about some good ideas that would improve how the translation feel, for example, in many levels on the LBP2 and 1 (or even VITA and PSP) we can see the one-dimensional levels, feeling like a simplist mario more tha an actual 2.5 D game, so i want to ask you. What will you do with 16 layers and how'll you improve the 2.5 D feeling with the new tools!

I am thinking about a powerup that teleports you from one layer to another, using the same controlinator trick from LBP 2 (im bad at logic so i'll try to train me this summer).

Share your ideas, peace!

PSN: Jotax 2000
LBP.me: https://lbp.me/u/jotax2000

Ryuhza
08-16-2014, 02:56 AM
Transitioning between layers shouldn't be too hard with a little logic. During the gamescom create mode presentation, gevurah22 briefly had Sackboy gallivant smoothly between multiple layers.

http://i.imgur.com/i4WvTQv.gif

On NeoGAF (http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost.php?p=125493215&postcount=34), he said


But yeah, all that stuff I showed and even the last little bit is all done with the new tools we've added to create mode :) So yeah, the core layer switching mechanic is still in, but with a little bit of logic, you can make them move like that and then some ;)

I'm not sure how he did it, but I'm guessing it involves a new tool that they haven't gone into depth talking about.

Jonarrthan
08-16-2014, 06:29 AM
During the E3 trailer they Also moved between layers rather easily. Probably won't need additional logic

chronos453
08-16-2014, 06:32 AM
What will you do with 16 layers and how'll you improve the 2.5 D feeling with the new tools!

Well, if you're looking for ideas, then I supposed if for nothing else, you could use these extra layers to make your level have much more detail than ever before. If you've seen levels that advantageously utilizes the 3d glitch tool in LBP2, you can see that they look much better than many others out there. Personally, I wasn't an expert at using that glitch at all, so I never used it. But now that LBP3 allows that feature to everyone, it will give a heck of a lot more detail.

GribbleGrunger
08-18-2014, 03:08 AM
The trouble with the idea that there is probably an advanced mover, and that's how they're doing the smooth layer switching with sackboy, is that the animation continues fluently. Surely, if it was some kind of advanced mover, the leg animations would show some sort of 'skip' as sackboy was forced beyond the bounderies of the normal layer by layer transition.

I think it's more than just a mover. I think, by default, the game works in much the same way as it does now and that this is some sort of 'mode' implementation. It could still be called 'logic' because it's in chip form.

piggabling
08-18-2014, 10:40 PM
There wouldn't necessarily be an apparent 'skip' when being switched. Just a little bit of game code (i.e. if an advanced mover is pushing sackboy between equal-height layer segments, play layer switch animation), and it could be made as smooth as any other layer switch.

GribbleGrunger
08-18-2014, 10:47 PM
There wouldn't necessarily be an apparent 'skip' when being switched. Just a little bit of game code (i.e. if an advanced mover is pushing sackboy between equal-height layer segments, play layer switch animation), and it could be made as smooth as any other layer switch.

But he's not just layer switching. You can see quite clearly that he moves fluently as if the layers don't exist at all and the animation doesn't miss a single frame.

piggabling
08-18-2014, 11:21 PM
Yeah, I see. I'd bet it's just a combination of some improved animation looping with some simple mover logic, or new logic piece itself. Nothing too extravagant.

GribbleGrunger
08-19-2014, 12:06 AM
Yeah, I see. I'd bet it's just a combination of some improved animation looping with some simple mover logic, or new logic piece itself. Nothing too extravagant.

What if it's just some logic you can switch on and off just like the dynamic thermometer?

piggabling
08-19-2014, 05:48 PM
It could very well be.

Personally, I feel like that would be a very odd logic piece. It seems more likely to me that this is a result of a combination of logic elements. But obviously, I can't say anything with certainty.

Squid_Oil
08-19-2014, 11:36 PM
It might be a type of character walk type, like in LBP2. I remember one of the gameplay videos had a toggle flying with a certain walk type so that might be how.

runner21
08-20-2014, 03:30 AM
I assume this involves one of the two new movers (last, and third to last tools) 48942

XX_sonicfan_XX
08-20-2014, 08:50 AM
I cant geta gif, but remember the gameplay trailer with 2 toggles running through the layers?

Jacob46719
08-20-2014, 08:43 PM
^^^^^

pingrek77pl
08-21-2014, 05:10 PM
I think there will be Layer Shifting Tweaker. We put it on material, then we can walk through all layers it have, like 10 layers.

Tyler
08-22-2014, 02:45 AM
The trouble with the idea that there is probably an advanced mover, and that's how they're doing the smooth layer switching with sackboy, is that the animation continues fluently. Surely, if it was some kind of advanced mover, the leg animations would show some sort of 'skip' as sackboy was forced beyond the bounderies of the normal layer by layer transition.

I think it's more than just a mover. I think, by default, the game works in much the same way as it does now and that this is some sort of 'mode' implementation. It could still be called 'logic' because it's in chip form.To be fair, using a Mover in LBP2 to make a Sackbot move left/right will play the walking animation even if it isn't necessarily actually walking. It probably does it automatically. Sackboy himself also does the walking animation if anything is pushing him while he's on the ground, regardless of whether you're pushing down the stick or not.

runner21
08-23-2014, 04:30 PM
I cant geta gif, but remember the gameplay trailer with 2 toggles running through the layers?

I believe that was a top-down level.