PDA

View Full Version : Is LBP3 Much More Awkward Or Is It Just Me?



GribbleGrunger
10-21-2014, 01:26 AM
I can't put my finger on what it is but everything I've been trying to do just lately feels far more awkward. Today I decided just to throw together a simple mini game just to get in the swing of things. The actual structure consisted of two layers, wall either side, a floor and a top. I needed to place a piston on the left side wall (first layer). No matter what I did, regardless of what the indicator told me, the piston was always placed on the back wall. In the end I had to make a block, attach the piston, copy and past it into the side wall and then blend it with material. Other things such as moving between the layers, judging which layer the material is going to be placed in, thin layer as well as a myriad of other things just feel that little bit more frustrating.

Biv
10-21-2014, 01:33 AM
I can't put my finger on what it is but everything I've been trying to do just lately feels far more awkward. Today I decided just to throw together a simple mini game just to get in the swing of things. The actual structure consisted of two layers, wall either side, a floor and a top. I needed to place a piston on the left side wall (first layer). No matter what I did, regardless of what the indicator told me, the piston was always placed on the back wall. In the end I had to make a block, attach the piston, copy and past it into the side wall and then blend it with material. Other things such as moving between the layers, judging which layer the material is going to be placed in, thin layer as well as a myriad of other things just feel that little bit more frustrating.

I'm with you, but I think we just need to get used to it.

Be sure to use the "layers seen" in the start menu. By squishing things into the 3-5 layers it makes it much easier to work.

Also, where your sackboy is has far more effect, using the shoulder buttons to move him around is essential.

Also, clicking the right stick freeze the camera in place can be a huge help.

If all comes to all, I put up a big, temporary wall. That way my cursor doesn't go wacky if I lose control for a second.

GribbleGrunger
10-21-2014, 01:37 AM
I'm with you, but I think we just need to get used to it.

Be sure to use the "layers seen" in the start menu. By squishing things into the 3-5 layers it makes it much easier to work.

Also, where your sackboy is has far more effect, using the shoulder buttons to move him around is essential.

Also, clicking the right stick freeze the camera in place can be a huge help.

If all comes to all, I put up a big, temporary wall. That way my cursor doesn't go wacky if I lose control for a second.

I'm aware of all those but it still wouldn't do it. Whether it's a bug or not I don't know. There's a huge difference between 'complicated' and 'awkward'. LBPK was a no buy for this very reason.

fullofwin
10-21-2014, 02:52 AM
Hard to say...creating in LBP2 was always so fiddly and awkward, especially when using the extra layer glitch. At least in LBP3
I don't need to use that glitch or be constantly fighting the pop-it camera...so from that perspective it felt less awkward.

Sounds like the piston thing is just a bug. I do think the pop-it menu is getting too cluttered for quick/efficient access...I'd love to take a stab at re-designing it.

The extra playable layers will take some gettings used to...and it certainly adds complication. You might find creating some color-coded reference layers help to get your bearing.

amiel445566
10-21-2014, 03:11 AM
I think its just experiencing it newly all over again

when I could use more than 3 layers, my brain just tried to convince me "it's so WRONG", but give it time, and your opinions will change, I mean hey, the full game isn't even out yet :)

Lord-Dreamerz
10-21-2014, 03:20 AM
*mew I don't like at all how static and dynamic is the first option it puts you on when picking a material or object. The fact i have to scroll down at all before i can pop the object into life is not quick work flow. when creating on LBP... or anything I prefer work flow to be organized to be as fast and smooth as possible. tools should be set up in a way that is made for speed and ease of use. I feel that static and dynamic setting should be placed at the bottom of the object's settings because especially when doing design work a object's physics don't matter during that time which means it just slows you down. I also don't care much for the popit layout... why is the tools bag on the right of the popit where you have to scroll longer to get to it? while in create mode the text chat and costumes should be moved to the other side so that the level creation tabs are the first things that you can get to quicker.

Getting used to something is not the problem, the layout of programs and other things can make a lot of difference in the speed of creating.

GribbleGrunger
10-21-2014, 04:14 AM
*mew I don't like at all how static and dynamic is the first option it puts you on when picking a material or object. The fact i have to scroll down at all before i can pop the object into life is not quick work flow. when creating on LBP... or anything I prefer work flow to be organized to be as fast and smooth as possible. tools should be set up in a way that is made for speed and ease of use. I feel that static and dynamic setting should be placed at the bottom of the object's settings because especially when doing design work a object's physics don't matter during that time which means it just slows you down. I also don't care much for the popit layout... why is the tools bag on the right of the popit where you have to scroll longer to get to it? while in create mode the text chat and costumes should be moved to the other side so that the level creation tabs are the first things that you can get to quicker.

Getting used to something is not the problem, the layout of programs and other things can make a lot of difference in the speed of creating.

Yeah, that's what I mean about awkward. I used a piston as an example but it's all these little things that just start to irritate me after a while. I said I couldn't quite put my finger on why it felt awkward ... well, you've just answered my question. why not make everything static by default and then if I want to make something dynamic I can simply click on the material to do that.

Lord-Dreamerz
10-21-2014, 04:42 AM
well, you've just answered my question. why not make everything static by default and then if I want to make something dynamic I can simply click on the material to do that.

Yeah. Tho when picking a new material it's fine for the physics choice to be on the list, however I feel it should be below the shapes choice in order to make using materials faster. *mew

fullofwin
10-21-2014, 01:05 PM
why not make everything static by default and then if I want to make something dynamic I can simply click on the material to do that.

Having to manually change every object post-placement isn't very convenient. Also a default of static is a complete 180 from LBP2 where everything was dynamic, which means it's probably not the best default value (even if I personally would choose static by default). The placement setting is better for repetitive operation...someone just wants to create a lot of falling debris, etc.


I feel it should be below the shapes choice in order to make using materials faster.

In a good UI the most important items are listed first...as a non-visible property that affects whether your level falls apart when you un-pause, this is the most important setting.

The problem as I see it is that there's just so much stuff/settings now...and it's all given somewhat equal priority in the interface. Not all things are equally usefully/used. It's a shame that the tool panel now has about 5 panes (left-right)...and each of these also scrolls vertically, the vertical scroll is a productivity killer.

I need to investigate whether any new level of pop-it customization is available in LBP3. I don't want to hide stuff like the new sign wave logic item (or even the XOR gate) completely...but I certainly don't use these as often as an AND gate, so I'd like to customize the pop-it for common use and have the exotic/advanced stuff separated out.

I want a fast way to switch between create items and tools without always having to change to the "personal" panel. The category specific tools at the top of each pop-it panel (ex. sticker related tools at top of the sticker panel) are useless once you are required to scroll vertically, etc.

I'd also like to be able to choose my own default properties for the things I place from the pop-it...it's less convenient having to use captured items.

Biv
10-21-2014, 01:29 PM
I guess I'm not having the problem you guys are having with the menus. It's just so ingrained to me to go to the "used in this level" section of the poppit. I also tend to throw the materials and most of the logic pieces I plan on using in an out of the way corner of the level so my personal menu is fully stocked.

AcAnimate
10-21-2014, 01:54 PM
Keep in mind that LBP3 is still in Beta, alot of the things that seems wired and not-how-they-used-to-be is most likely broken.

Quote from a post by steven:

Things You Should Know

LittleBigPlanet 3 is still in development and as such there are aspects of the game, which are work in progress.

These aspects aren't a true representation of what the final game will be like upon release and these issues will be resolved by then.

fullofwin
10-21-2014, 03:04 PM
I guess I'm not having the problem you guys are having with the menus. It's just so ingrained to me to go to the "used in this level" section of the poppit. I also tend to throw the materials and most of the logic pieces I plan on using in an out of the way corner of the level so my personal menu is fully stocked.

Once you start needing to scroll the personal panel vertically it becomes inefficient to use. You also don't get to control the order/contents, so while a listing of "used" stuff is certainly valuable, it's less efficient than being able to choose from a fixed set of thingsfrom fixed locations.

Lord-Dreamerz
10-21-2014, 10:05 PM
@fullofwin
basically you are saying it would be nice if we could put settings and the order of the settings and the options and the order of the popit in whatever order we want? If so I'd love that. Everybody has a personal way they like to use things such as how I personally would prefer the physics choice to be below the shapes choice in materials. Also Imo it'd be nice if the Popit remembered the last settings you choose. So for example if the last thing you picked was the shape on a material... then that should be where it returns you to when you reopen your popit again maybe. *mew

koltonaugust
10-22-2014, 07:59 AM
I mean, it's always felt kind of cluttered to me. I'd rather scroll through stuff I don't use often than not have it at all though :P

ZNBJ
10-22-2014, 11:42 AM
Isn't there a setting that allows you to choose which layers you wanna use?