PDA

View Full Version : Save current logic state.



AcAnimate
10-21-2014, 09:50 PM
Would be really nice to be able to save the current state of ALL logic in the level, so, when I run a test in-editor and messes alot of stuff up, maybe trying out different tings and realizes that they didn't work, then I'll just load my saved logic state, instead of alot of undo's and that sort of stuff.

:)

Devious_Oatmeal
10-21-2014, 09:58 PM
Would be really nice to be able to save the current state of ALL logic in the level, so, when I run a test in-editor and messes alot of stuff up, maybe trying out different tings and realizes that they didn't work, then I'll just load my saved logic state, instead of alot of undo's and that sort of stuff.

:)

Wouldn't you just save the level, test, then if everything screws up, you just quit without saving, then re-enter.

amiel445566
10-22-2014, 04:01 AM
as someone mentioned earlier (I'm sorry, I don't remember who) which I thought had a great idea, it went something like this:

"In a perfect world, the memorizer opens up and any logic inside has its state saved"

when he suggested his idea, I felt this is a best case scenario, so something like this would be what you and all of the rest of us need

Devious_Oatmeal
10-22-2014, 05:17 AM
as someone mentioned earlier (I'm sorry, I don't remember who) which I thought had a great idea, it went something like this:

"In a perfect world, the memorizer opens up and any logic inside has its state saved"

when he suggested his idea, I felt this is a best case scenario, so something like this would be what you and all of the rest of us need

That's basically what the memorizer does though. It saves the state of any input.

amiel445566
10-22-2014, 07:23 AM
That's basically what the memorizer does though. It saves the state of any input.

well yeah, but this is talking about whole microchips at a time

koltonaugust
10-22-2014, 08:12 AM
Essentially it removes the calculating step of the memorizer. Of course this tool would have to be different as the memorizer is great for certain goals but often is inefficient at plain saving.
Take for instance, trying to save a counter status at 37/50. That's not fun.

AcAnimate
10-22-2014, 11:35 AM
Thanks for the replies!

But don't think I really explained my idea all that good the first time, so, here it comes again, this time in details!
( And with a few more ideas to expand it, which I got after posting... )

Think of this as a Checkpoint...

It shouldn't be a logic component, but a menu item. My first thought were to put it in the pause menu, but, I've come to a conclusion that it would fit in the ''Tools bag'' alot more, and here's why:

It's is NOT the same as saving the level, this isn't meant for that, it meant for creating a safe point ( state ) where you can ALWAYS go back to, no matter how much you've gone forwards ( or backwards )

The new addition to my idea is that you should have multiple states, like, 5 slots or something. These slots should be able to be selected and loaded from a menu ( that's why it would fit in the ''Tools bag'' more than the pause menu )
These 5 states, should be saved along with the level it self of course.

Also, I've been thinking, this would be really messed up if you then changed some of your objects's geometry, then if you rewind back or forth to a saved state, then, that logic component which used to be right there, may not have anything to attach to no more.
Therefor, it shouldn't just save the logic, but the entire level.
Then, after making your save, a safe point, then you can always create more, undo and redo and all that stuff, but, if you end up not linking what you've done, then just load up that safe point.

For a comparison, if you know any software like PhotoShop, that got a history panel, then this is basically the same. sub-save of your level, within you level..

Hope this clears up my idea abit more than my first attempt :p

amiel445566
10-22-2014, 02:59 PM
oh, like a quick save, yeah that would be awesome, too bad it hoards data

ZNBJ
10-23-2014, 03:04 AM
I'm kinda confused. So u mean like loading separate zones so that you can play those zones without un pausing the entire lvl?

koltonaugust
10-23-2014, 05:50 AM
I think he means like a save as within the level so you don't have to save it to a different slot. I would be behind that as I think save as gets confusing to maintain the level slots on your moon. But as for needing it, probably not.

Devious_Oatmeal
10-23-2014, 08:57 AM
It's essentially save slots inside of save slots.

Click this button (http://inception.davepedu.com/)