PDA

View Full Version : LittleBIGplanet 3 DOES have a thermometer on both PS3 and PS4! ...But.



AcAnimate
10-23-2014, 09:10 PM
Okay, so, I've seen alot of people asking this question, across all sorts of social media, and it's hard and frustrating to reply to them all! :p

So, to set things straight, there IS a thermometer, in create, in LBP3...
BUT!
first of all, what you had in LBP2 which would fill up the entire thermometer, may only fill up 1/3rd of the thermometer in LBP3 ( This is in no way official numbers, this is just what I've experienced so far )

Second, in global settings, there is a new option, ''Infinite Level'' which changes the way everything is loaded. If you enable Infinite Level, it will ONLY load objects which are within boundaries of the screen ( You are able to change the size of the area of which it loads objects )
This will basically enable you to have a, well, Infinite Level....

But beware, cause, as I said, it will ONLY load objects which are within boundaries
it doesn't care how many thing's you've connected with wires, tags or any other connections... if it's outside the area, it doesn't exist.
This is where you use the two new logic components ''Preloader'' and ''Permanence Tweaker''

Where Preloader basically enables you to, as it's conveniently called, pre-load areas of the level.

Permanence tweaker turns off the Infinite Level for whatever it's placed on, so, that thing will load as usually, no matter were it is.

If you've heard anything about LBP3 not having a thermometer, it was probably the Infinite Level feature they were talking about.

Hope this will clear things :)

Mark3y_man
10-23-2014, 09:22 PM
Great info keep up the good work :)

koltonaugust
10-23-2014, 10:55 PM
Well, I'd say it loads more that just the screen. The smallest load setting loads the default camera's worth of stuff all around the actual screen before it disappears.

ZNBJ
10-24-2014, 02:22 AM
thankyou. it is hard replying to everyone lol. Who cares if theres a thermometer. we've done fine with all the previous games. besides, the ps3 and even ps4 don't have infinite power

Spaceraoul28
10-24-2014, 04:46 PM
Thanks! In regards to the Thermo size does it differ between consoles and do you think this will drastically change the way levels are made?

GribbleGrunger
10-25-2014, 01:04 AM
They must have improved the thermo too. I put it on dynamic and FILLED half the level with 16 layers of cardboard and it didn't even show up on the thermometer.

Rpg Maker
10-25-2014, 04:30 PM
Thanks! In regards to the Thermo size does it differ between consoles and do you think this will drastically change the way levels are made?

Yes...maybe. I do wonder if the emitter cheat still exist, because I do still see uses for it even though the infinite levels exist. Its a great feature and that alone will change how people approach some projects. The estimated 2/3 increase in thermometer is the real feature I think everyone will enjoy having. Thats a lot of thermometer!

LBP2 has taught a lot of us how to save space, so no doubt we will see an increase in level quality and FPS.