PDA

View Full Version : Day/Night Cycle



Eli
10-29-2014, 07:58 PM
I'm trying to make a Day/Night cycle for an RPG project, but I can't think of a simple way to do it, I'm sure there are really effective ways of doing it, but all the ones I've managed are really complex and eat up thermometer.

I worked out that if 1sec (irl) was 1min (in-game) then a full cycle should be 24mins, which is ideal. (I just did 1 x 60 x 24 = 1441 / 60 = 24 I don't know how I I did it, it just worked.)

I want to implement a save feature into the Cycle too, but I'll cross that bridge at a latter date.

A solution or a giveaway level you could point me at would be awesome :)

Devious_Oatmeal
10-30-2014, 05:58 AM
Just use the transition times for the world lighting tweakers.

Turns out that doesn't exist! :V

I could have sworn it did!


I have a very easy method of doing the cycle; saving it at a certain point is the issue.


Edit: Welp. I am convinced that you can't save it.

Eli
10-30-2014, 11:48 AM
I thought that as well, it's not a thing in the vita :(

I could build a save cycle alongside it, that's not that important. I still can't figure out the cycle though :/

airide101
10-30-2014, 06:30 PM
What do you mean it doesn't exist? Isn't this it right here: 49436

Devious_Oatmeal
10-30-2014, 09:47 PM
What do you mean it doesn't exist? Isn't this it right here: 49436

I was figuring it out on LBP2 on PS3 since I don't have the Vita, and it doesn't exist on LBP2 for the PS3.


As for the cycle, there are a ton of different ways to do it. You could use the transition time, a sequencer, or a spinning block.

Although since the Vita has the transition times, I am curious if it works on the sequencer to have the lighting changer actually be able to have a positional effect.

Eli
11-02-2014, 12:47 PM
I put one on a sequencer and it was strange. It only begins it's transition if the position of the sequencer (the little white line) is at the start of the Global Lighting Tweaker and it won't play backwards. It doesn't open anything up like positional or speed, which would have been awesome. I may have to split the day into 24 segments with different lighting and have transition times for each set to 60 seconds.

If I did that I could (might) be able to have a memoriser remember the position of the sequencer, which would give hourly autosaves.