PDA

View Full Version : Why can't l rotate material?



TheFourKings
11-22-2014, 04:07 AM
Why can't l rotate material from x & y axis?

gurren009
11-22-2014, 10:26 AM
What do you mean? Of course you can do that. Just use the cursor or a rotator.

Sean88
11-22-2014, 03:23 PM
Hi TheFourKings,
Kinda not totally sure really what you mean. You can rotate the pattern on a material by using the UV tool.
If its the whole material block you need rotating, place an anti-grav on it. Also place a rotator directly in the centre of the material block.
Finally, make sure the materials tweaks is set to Dynamic, allowing the block to be affected by physics and move

TheFourKings
11-22-2014, 07:49 PM
Hi Sean,
I'll try to follow your instruction, though l do feel bad asking for help, but thank.
Update: l've tryed what you said but, its not rotating like a basketball or planet

Archon453
11-22-2014, 11:32 PM
Ohhh, you mean it rotating on more than one plane? correct? Materials don't do that. Decorations can with a decoration spinner. sackboys/bots can as well. But I haven't seen anything about being able to do that with actual materials.

GribbleGrunger
11-22-2014, 11:40 PM
Here's a workaround, assuming the blank shapes can be used with the decoration spinner: Take a snapshot of your desired material and sticker the shape. It isn't perfect but it's better than nothing.

Snoki69
11-23-2014, 10:19 AM
it looks like we can. Not only decorations.

There is many places in the story mode that we can see some cubes that turning in another Axis, and these are platforms.

We can see an obstacle turning with spikes in the Axis of a planet too.

And many other places.

I really would like to figure it out how they did all this...

Edit ;

Just here, there is an exemple ; at 2;30 you can see the tongue, it's material. Not decoration. Even the form is cut in another axis.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKVKaPdLhzQ&spfreload=10

Devious_Oatmeal
11-23-2014, 11:01 AM
Hmmmmm... Actually. That looks like it's a decoration mixed with the sticker rotator, slide, character animation tweaker, and a decoration. If you look closely, he goes through the tongue, and when he slides down it, he's not touching it.

The same goes for the obstacle with the spikes. When I was playing that level, I payed extra close attention to the hit box, and at times, it was a bit off. Although, this could have been due to lag in-game. But upon inspection of the decorations, I found the decoration that matched the one used in the level with the spinning spikes.

smasher
11-23-2014, 11:39 AM
it looks like we can. Not only decorations.

There is many places in the story mode that we can see some cubes that turning in another Axis, and these are platforms.

We can see an obstacle turning with spikes in the Axis of a planet too.

And many other places.

I really would like to figure it out how they did all this...

Edit ;

Just here, there is an exemple ; at 2;30 you can see the tongue, it's material. Not decoration. Even the form is cut in another axis.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKVKaPdLhzQ&spfreload=10

Actually, that tongue is deco. It's just made to look like material. It's a two piece. I have them both in my popit. I've come to the conclusion that all z axis spinning is done with deco. EVERYTHING I've seen in story mode that spins in z axis I have in my deco menu...

Ultimatelink_
11-23-2014, 10:01 PM
The swivel light object also seems to do this.

bluearth
11-24-2014, 02:31 AM
it looks like we can. Not only decorations.

There is many places in the story mode that we can see some cubes that turning in another Axis, and these are platforms.

We can see an obstacle turning with spikes in the Axis of a planet too.

And many other places.

I really would like to figure it out how they did all this...

Edit ;

Just here, there is an exemple ; at 2;30 you can see the tongue, it's material. Not decoration. Even the form is cut in another axis.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKVKaPdLhzQ&spfreload=10

My guess is it should be possible for the object animation logic, but they scraped it at the last minute due to bugs etc. I expect we'll see it eventually either in a patch or DLC