PDA

View Full Version : Question about broadcasting to player



Sehven
11-24-2014, 06:19 AM
This tip found in the "Tips and Tricks" thread in the Tutorials section:




Tips from amiel445566:

Logic places ON Sackboy when the broadcast microchip is set to nearest player, so effects transmit directly onto the Sackboy entity, (useful for things like powerups that you don't want to require getting into a sackbot) you can even disable controls on Sackboy with controllinators, you just need to set the first one to Nearest Player, because the nearest player to you... is you then you disable like before, its much easier to put onto Sackboy, just be careful how it transfers to other character models (like animations and such)

Sounds good and it must be possible because it seems to happen all the time in story mode (player can't move or is forced to move to a certain spot or whatever) but I can't for the life of me figure out how it's done. With a sackbot, you can place a controlinator and it will have inputs as well as outputs on the buttons, allowing you to wire batteries or other login into the inputs to force actions and there's also the trick of wiring two controlinators together to reprogram or disable certain buttons, but that doesn't seem to work on the broadcast chip. Am I missing something? I would like to be able to disable or remap certain buttons under certain circumstances but I really don't want to use sackbots for what I'm trying (too many limitations, especially with the powerups they can wield).

tdarb
11-24-2014, 08:09 PM
EDIT- after reading it again, I'm not sure that my response fits your situation, but I will leave it up anyway because it should fit some similar ones.

The only way I can think to do it is with a sackbot. This is off the top of my head, but it should work if I understand you correctly. I use a similar trick when I need the receiver of a broadcast chip to interact with the material it is on.

Make your controlinator transmitter.

Make the matching receiver with tags on the outputs you need.

Place that controlinator receiver on your broadcast chip, and set it to tagged objects. Then tag that onto your sackbot.

Then, on a controlinator on the sackbot have the matching tag receivers (set to detect tags on the same chip and 0 radius).

Sehven
11-24-2014, 09:52 PM
Yeah, sackbots work well enough but they have limitations. You can't put a blaster handle powerup into a bot's hand for some reason (I realize that the AI wouldn't know what to do with it, but I really wish the devs would trust us to be able to build our own AI).

The post in the tips and tricks thread makes it sound as if it can be done with players and I really hope it can because my plans would work best with the programmability of a bot combined with the strengths of a player-character. It may be that it worked in the beta but has been removed from the full version of the game but I'm hoping that it still works and I've just been doing it wrong.

GribbleGrunger
11-24-2014, 10:29 PM
If I remember correctly from the beta, I created a character using a sackbot and captured it for the changegate. I then had control over the sackbot as if it was the real character without having to use a controlinator. I was also able to change aspect of behaviour too.

Sehven
11-25-2014, 02:04 AM
If I remember correctly from the beta, I created a character using a sackbot and captured it for the changegate. I then had control over the sackbot as if it was the real character without having to use a controlinator. I was also able to change aspect of behaviour too.

I can do all of that, but what I can't do is, for example, disable the R2 button mapping to the right hand.

So, as it stands, my choices are:

Remote controlled sackbot who can do everything I want except for hold the blaster handle in hand (meaning I'll have to keep using weapons that float around the character)
Handheld powerup and broadcast special abilities but no way to disable controller buttons/sticks which completely ruins half of the functionality I need


So yeah, I keep hoping it's possible because that post in the tips thread made it sound as if it was. If anybody finds a way to pull it off, please let me know.

tdarb
11-25-2014, 03:20 AM
What if you capture the sackbot into the spawn point?

I didn't test R2, but I did test it with a blaster handle, and the sackbot grabbed it.

airide101
11-25-2014, 03:24 AM
I have this same problem! I want to be able to disable the sixaxis controls on the character directly but still be able to use the powerups etc. I've been trying to figure it out. I'll let you know if I end up getting it.

Sehven
11-25-2014, 03:42 AM
What if you capture the sackbot into the spawn point?

If you're saying what I think you are, you're talking about capturing the bot as a character and switching the player into that character? It doesn't seem to bring any logic with it, including controllinator logic (I even tried sticking a tag on the bot before capturing and then checked to see if the playable character set off a tag sensor but it didn't). Essentially it's a costume for sackboy (though you can change the running speed and a few other things, you can't affect the controls). It really seems like such a small bit of functionality-either enable bots to hold blasters or enable broadcast chips to override players' controls-I can't believe it was left out.

If anybody is wondering: I built a lightsaber as a powerup but I need players' sabers to deflect each other which means messing with their control of their right thumbstick: I can mess with a controllinator-driven bot's thumbstick but it won't hold the lightsaber, or I can let the player hold the lightsaber but it'll pass right through other players' sabers. I want to have my cake and eat it too, darn it!

tdarb
11-25-2014, 04:03 AM
Weird. I tested it with sound effects on the cross and triangle buttons, and they worked. It didn't disable the quest menu, or the jumping, but the sounds played.

I just captured the sackbot into the entry portal. I had a controlinator on the sackbot set as a receiver, to override the sackbot, and to respond to the nearest player. Your playable character should spawn into the level as the sackbot.

I created a custom power up out of the punch puppet, and the spawned sackbot grabbed it.

Sehven
11-25-2014, 04:29 AM
I just captured the sackbot into the entry portal. I had a controlinator on the sackbot set as a receiver, to override the sackbot, and to respond to the nearest player. Your playable character should spawn into the level as the sackbot.

I created a custom power up out of the punch puppet, and the spawned sackbot grabbed it.

I didn't know you could tweak the start gate like that. That's pretty cool. I tried it and was able to set off a tag sensor as well as play sounds from the controllinator and pick up a powerup but I've still been unsuccessful in activating or blocking any controls. I placed a controllinator set as a receiver for nearest player and set it to not override sackbot controls and wired some buttons but not all to another controllinator set to override the sackbot. I tested a sound effect wired to the first controllinator and it worked and a sound effect wired to a button on the second controllinator that I hadn't enabled as an input and it didn't work. Nice to know that I can add logic to a player but it's driving me crazy that I can't change the controls.

I also tried tweaking the bot to not be able to jump and it had no effect on the character.

[edit] Changing walk speed on the bot also had no effect on the character.

LittleBigDave
12-01-2014, 09:56 PM
Not being able to override any of the player's control inputs seems like it will limit what you can do with custom characters and power ups. I'm wondering if it's a bug or just an intentional non-feature. Did anybody try this sort of thing in the beta? Did it work differently there? Could sackbots hold custom power ups in beta?

KlawwTheClown
12-01-2014, 10:28 PM
I tried in the beta because I was making a Donkey Kong Country level, and I figured it'd be neat to use a custom character instead of a Sackbot. It didn't work back then, either. I wasn't able to map rolling to the square button.

It sucks because Sackbots can't use custom powerups and they're unaffected by the camera excluder material, while at the same time, custom characters can't have reprogrammed controls. You have to kind of pick your poison.