PDA

View Full Version : sack boy vs sack bot?



CRISTALSONIC
12-11-2014, 11:33 AM
I'm debating witch to use for my game I see that we can put logic on sack boy with the broadcast micro chip now but can we make a controller work on that to change his controls?

James-p
12-11-2014, 12:15 PM
You can certainly use a controllinator with a broadcast chip. I'm sure there are plus and minus points for each way....but it really depends on what you are doing....

James

Lord-Dreamerz
12-11-2014, 12:24 PM
Depends on what you want. If you want the use of all the powerups such as the hook-claw and don't have a strong need to alter the default character controls then a non-bot should be the way to go. However if you do have a need to alter the default character controls and don't plan on using the premade powerups that only the sackdolls can use... Then the sackbots are the better way to go... There is other things to consider but that's enough of a basic idea. And just to say, bots are my personal preferred choice. *mew

Sehven
12-11-2014, 01:23 PM
I've also discovered that you can't broadcast an attract-o-tweaker to a player but you can with a bot.

olly_nova
12-11-2014, 01:32 PM
Why choose? you can have the best of both. create a sackbot which does what you want. Then go to global options in the popit menu. Go to the tab that lets you choose the character to use during your game. Use the capture tool at the top of the popit and capture the bot.

You can have a sackboy that behaves as you've programmed the bot. If you want to use custom controls, you must set the controllinator to "receiver" and then select the picture of the sackboy below the colours, if you hover over it it says "controlled by nearest player.

Biv
12-11-2014, 03:50 PM
Why choose? you can have the best of both. create a sackbot which does what you want. Then go to global options in the popit menu. Go to the tab that lets you choose the character to use during your game. Use the capture tool at the top of the popit and capture the bot.

You can have a sackboy that behaves as you've programmed the bot. If you want to use custom controls, you must set the controllinator to "receiver" and then select the picture of the sackboy below the colours, if you hover over it it says "controlled by nearest player.

That's....I didn't know you could do that.

GLiTcH2
12-11-2014, 05:03 PM
Why choose? you can have the best of both. create a sackbot which does what you want. Then go to global options in the popit menu. Go to the tab that lets you choose the character to use during your game. Use the capture tool at the top of the popit and capture the bot.

You can have a sackboy that behaves as you've programmed the bot. If you want to use custom controls, you must set the controllinator to "receiver" and then select the picture of the sackboy below the colours, if you hover over it it says "controlled by nearest player.

I recently found this out and was pleasantly surprised, It will come in handy for sure!

keanine
12-11-2014, 05:11 PM
That will be cool if it does work, but I don't believe it does from my experiementation. Either way I'll have to give it a go later!

EDIT: Just tried it. Custom controls do not work. I tried a controllinator setup as described. I also tried a recieve nearest player controllinator that doesnt override the sackbot and wired its left stick into a normal controllinator, like you would a bot. None of the controls were disabled.

peabodyman
12-11-2014, 05:26 PM
You can make a controlinator work with regular players using the nearest player receive option on a broadcaster chip, but if you're trying to customize movement you'll need to do it yourself via gameplay tweakers, movers and character animation tweakers.

I've also known about the character capture for a while, but one thing I haven't tried is using a controlinator to disable controls. Controlinators only have inputs when on a sackbot's circuit board and don't when on a broadcaster chip board. Not sure what happens if you try to capture a sackbot as a character with looped inputs on a controlinator. Sadly I suspect it won't actually work and will just treat the controlinator as a "nearest player" controlinator with the inputs removed which won't be able to disable controls.

FYI, while custom characters allow you to force a costume on a player, they can always change it via the popit menu. Not so with sackbots.

If you want the player to be able to use new power ups, you'll have to opt for the regular player over a sackbot.

CRISTALSONIC
12-12-2014, 02:27 AM
Thanks guys I will mess around some more now

julesyjules
12-12-2014, 04:31 PM
If you want the player to be able to use new power ups, you'll have to opt for the regular player over a sackbot.

So sackbots can't use the sackpockets, and the only powerup from the devs that is sackbot friendly is the Hookhat. What about custom powerups? I've just tried and had no luck, but I'm still getting to grips with what everything does.

It's great that Sumo made creating special abilities much easier with the Broadcast chip and the Pocket, but if you can't re-map controls on a Sackboy, and you can't use powerups and new tools with the bots, it's seems to be an odd halfway house whichever way you go.

It'd be great to get some official word on what can/can't be done, because there are so many new options it's hard to know where to start when troubleshooting.