PDA

View Full Version : Help! Pistons, please move again



>er.
09-06-2016, 07:51 PM
For crazy reasons I'm revisiting LBP1. :p And a bug happened I think?

So doing logic was fun~ When suddenly my pistons wont move any more when I set the speed to 0.1 or 0.2. They will work on 0.3 and up though. But I really need it to be fast at 0.1.

Have anyone ever heard of this conundrum before?

Strength is full, flipper shouldn't matter? (it doesn't matter actually, it gets stuck both with or without) (Same with stiffness) The thing isn't glued, isn't obstructed and cannot even be static.

The piston just, turns off with a 0.1 setting? As if it got offended. With flipper mode it actually retracts properly but never pushes out ever again

Any advice? :confused:

jwwphotos
09-06-2016, 10:19 PM
If it is LBP1, then yeah... I might know.

Have you been creating in your level? After so many hours, the math that figures how much .1 and where on the timeline > 0, gets a bit funky due to the rounding of decimals.

If this is it... then capture everything in your current level. Even if you have to split it up, but you can capture a ton more than you think.

Create a new level

Plop it in.. though if it is all LARGE you may have to have a spotter to help insure you capture everything in the first place, and again when trying to plop it in the new level.

I ALWAYS build in workshops... Only until after something is tested from them do I go to the real level to place it. I also build everything in segments. Plus when in the real level, I have it on pause the entire time when building and adding things. Make a copy of it if you want to play test elements or while in progress.

..and glad to see you could log back in again. :)

>er.
09-06-2016, 11:45 PM
Oh it's thaaaat :0 I vaguely remember this long time ago, thinking it was fixed as well!

I see, it's an old level I'm revisiting from years past, I probably left the game idle for hours at the time just faffing about :p

I worked around the issue, but I'm worried now: Does it get any worse? My level is very intertwined like an insane yarnball that exploded- stretching across the entire canvas~ I'm not a structural man enough to work modularly you see. Capturing everything would be real pain by now :frightened:

Cheers for fixing my login ;)

jwwphotos
09-07-2016, 12:07 AM
It gets worse.

Capturing everything isn't really that hard. ...but having an extra eye to insure the capture box highlights everything is handy.

>er.
09-07-2016, 12:13 AM
Bummer :(

I better try capturing it all then, and stitch it together what I can't as best I can

What did you mean with that about a spotter btw?

jwwphotos
09-07-2016, 11:16 AM
Someone else join you in the level. As you do your capturing, they can fly around and tell you if everything is highlighted or whatever. Same for plopping in the other level. They can spot where you need to move it all down or over etc..

>er.
09-07-2016, 12:49 PM
Oh I see! :D

I've already spent the night stitching everything together now though x) The level was touching the boarders on every corner, so I had to remove the middle and crunch it down just slightly to be able to place it blindly

Thank you for your help

jwwphotos
09-07-2016, 09:59 PM
Most welcome! :)

>er.
09-17-2016, 11:16 PM
Actually one more question, does this bug also occur in the sequels? Is it a bad idea to create un-paused at all times in any of the LBP games?

jwwphotos
09-18-2016, 01:57 AM
I don't think they ever really fixed that. ...but I always was in the habit of doing things that way. (workshops.. and never playing while in create.. always paused)

>er.
09-18-2016, 01:04 PM
Aw man. I find creating in Paused mode so stressful. You build large pieces of a level and hours into it when you un-pause there's this tiny bit somewhere on the entire map that you've forgotten to static-into-place. It promptly falls over and breaks something either visually or everything in every possible way. :frightened:

And you have no idea! you just keep building something over here meanwhile it all gets slowly undone over there and then you fix it there and it breaks over here

blah :T

jwwphotos
09-18-2016, 01:42 PM
...that is why you build and create in another level. There you can do whatever you want. Capture that section and plop it in the real one. ;)