BG1, PRELOAD BG2, PRELOAD

Napero's awesome blog

How to (not) build a rubik's cube in LBP

Rate this Entry
O hai. Some might remember me, some might not. There was this one project I had, you can look it up in my previous blog entries. I tried to create a rubik's cube in LBP2. Sounds difficult? Impossible? Complicated? Well, I decided to make a step-by-step guide on how to make a rubik's cube in LBP2. Or actually... well, you'll see...

Step 1: The idea

It's January in the year 2011. You have decided to finally create something amazing, something mind blowing. What could that be? An action packed level? Nah, I did that already in LBP1 and it took me 2 years to complete something decent. What about a puzzle? I'm not too good at being original. What if I recreate an already existing puzzle and expand on it... nah, too much work for basically stealing an idea. A rubik's cube then? I wouldn't be showing off the actual puzzle. No, everyone probably knows how a rubik's cube works. I'd be showing off the fact that I actually created one. Yes! That's what I'll do.

Step 2: The start

I take out my actual cube and look at it for a while. This can't be too hard, it only has six sides that rotate. Piece of cake. I create six microchips, one for each side. Each one of those gets 8 microchips inside them for every little piece. Thinking for a while I come up with a solution on how to show what colour that side has at the moment and what it will have after a turn. This needs some notation. Every piece has to be thought through on where each side can go. I spend most of my days in classrooms writing down some codes for myself. No one seems to understand what is going on even though I keep telling myself this is fairly simple.

Step 3: Coding