BG1, PRELOAD BG2, PRELOAD

comphermc

Back to Earth

Rate this Entry
For the first time in my [relatively short] life, I have become completely and utterly overwhelmed with a particular course. The culprit? Optics.

Most of you already know that I am studying Mathematics in hopes of becoming a high school teacher here in the States. For those of you who didn't know that... well, I am. What many of you don't know is that I am also studying Physics as a minor to my Mathematics degree. So far, all has gone well, and I have never failed to get an A in any physics course I've been enrolled. Enter Optics.

Just reading through the text, I feel absolutely worthless. The authors assume that I have a firm grasp on Electromagnetism, which I may have only had a meager grasp of two years ago. Mostly repressed from memory at this point, the concepts required for even a base understanding of Optics escape me. And this is week two!

I hope this may not be my unraveling! This is the last Physics course I have to take to be satisfy the requirements for my minor, and it will surely be a long semester. Time to make friends with the kids who get it!! My 3.9 GPA is about to take a hit...

---

As a side note, I am also taking a Sports Statistics course (Ha!), a Teaching Middle-Grade Math course (Snore!), and a Capstone for my major in Mathematics. That last one melds Mathematics, Philosophy, and Proof. I love it - I live for proof. My favorite pastime is creating levels in LBP, but a close second is teaching introductory Proof writing to University students through the Tutoring Center.

So that's me.

Updated 01-21-2010 at 03:44 AM by comphermc

Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

Wow, good luck with that. I'm taking math as a minor (English major) and this is my last semester, so hopefully all goes well. (I think my two math courses look pretty good so far though. Applied Analysis and Linear Algebra. Taken back to back three times a week. )