BG1, PRELOAD BG2, PRELOAD

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    LBPC Contest CrewRoyal High Alchemist Pookachoo's Avatar
    Points: 40,753, Level: 62
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 897
    Overall activity: 0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered Created Album pictures 30 days registered 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Pookachoo
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,519
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Build your own 3D/Extra Layer Tool (cascade)

    This is an LBP2 tutorial. LBP1 players, please refer to this previously published tutorial.

    This tutorial is for players who want to build with Extra Layers (aka 3D glitch) but are unable to get online to collect an existing tool. There's more than one way of creating your own tool, I'm showing one method which I think will be fairly easy to explain and understand. I'm using Dark Matter, but you can use Light Matter if you prefer.

    If you are able to get online, I also have a tool give-a-way level here: http://lbp.me/v/w6tzhh
    This wiki page gives detailed instructions on using the tool: http://wiki.lbpcentral.com/Community..._aka_3D_Glitch

    Begin in an empty level with the grid on, and make sure you're paused. You will need to make a simple Emitter Tool, which you will also use any time you want to send objects into the background or foreground.
    Make a wafer thin piece of Dark Matter and place an Emitter with these settings:
    Frequency = 4s
    Lifetime = Infinite
    Max Emitted At Once = 1
    Destroy Oldest when Max Emitted Reached = No
    Save this Emitter Tool for later use.

    Step 1:
    Make a 3 layer thick piece of Dark Matter and place a Tag on the front.
    Holding down R2: click on the tag, then drag a selection around the piece of Dark Matter.
    Press L3 to copy, then press X 3 times. Each time you press X, a copy of the Dark Matter appears one layer in the foreground. However; after three copies, it stops moving into the foreground. For more about this select and copy technique, see this video:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rNMLC...feature=g-like


    Step 2:
    Select the Dark Matter chunk you've created, and press L3 to copy. Next, press Circle 2 times bringing you back to the Popit menu - but DO NOT close the menu. Choose Dark Matter material and make a square. You now have a solid piece of Dark matter that takes up the 3 normal layers plus 3 foreground layers.
    Beside the 6 layer piece; place 3 bits of wafer thin Dark Matter, one in each layer except the front most. Capture all together as an object.


    Step 3:
    Game should be paused. Get out the Emitter Tool, place it in the back layer, and set to emit the object you just captured. Now unpause and pause again very quickly, so that the nothing actually comes out of the Emitter. Move the Emitter Tool to the front layer and unpause. The object will emit so that the 6 layer piece extends into the background and the wafer thin bits are also in the background. Delete the 6 layer background piece and the Emitter Tool.


    You now have a cascade of 3 background layers. Place the original 6 layer foreground piece next to the 3 layer cascade and save as an object. Repeat step 3 until you have the desired number of background layers.

    Step 4:
    Once you have your background cascade, add 4 wafer thin bits in the normal layers. Capture the entire cascade.
    Pause, place the Emitter Tool in the front layer, and set to emit the cascade. Unpause and quickly pause again, then move the Emitter Tool to the back layer and unpause.
    Now you have a foreground cascade equal to the size of your background cascade, with an overlap in the playable area. You'll need to use Front View to see the entire cascade if it's very large. You might want to use some stickers and color code your cascade.


    Caution:
    Your cascade will only work for you! If you share this tool, it will not work for other players who do not have ownership of the object.


    I hope this is helpful
    Last edited by Pookachoo; 06-23-2012 at 09:20 PM.


  2. #2

    Default

    Wow! This helped with my 3D maps! Ill be sure to give you credit for the 3D background. Can't wait to tell others!

  3. Thanks!


  4. #3
    Sackperson Sergeant Lord-Dreamerz's Avatar
    Points: 49,277, Level: 68
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 473
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered Created Album pictures 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    fumetsusozo
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ~Across Nowhere~
    Posts
    4,180
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pookachoo View Post
    Caution:
    Your cascade will only work for you! If you share this tool, it will not work for other players who do not have ownership of the object.


    I hope this is helpful
    however i'm pretty sure if they want to they can give it away useable to others by putting it in a copyable level. :P
    ~Lets go on a fantastic ADVENTURE!~

  5. #4
    LBPC Contest CrewRoyal High Alchemist Pookachoo's Avatar
    Points: 40,753, Level: 62
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 897
    Overall activity: 0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered Created Album pictures 30 days registered 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Pookachoo
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,519
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fumetsusozo View Post
    however i'm pretty sure if they want to they can give it away useable to others by putting it in a copyable level. :P
    Yes, or set up a microchip with one emitter for each piece in the cascade as I did with my tool. I'm always hesitant to suggest making copiable levels, as that can start an outbreak of duplicates.

  6. #5
    Can I haz bamboo? Ungreth's Avatar
    Points: 32,413, Level: 55
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 637
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 5000 Experience Points 1000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Ungreth
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Shropshire, UK
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    Useful technique, but sometimes I prefer to build in the normal layers then emit the completed object into the back layers, since this allows me to integrate collected Mm objects into the design of my back layer scenery.

    Like I did here for example...



    The big face, the "egg man", the reproductive organ/pentagram...all built in normal space, then emitted into the glitch background

  7. #6
    Sack shane_danger's Avatar
    Points: 9,665, Level: 29
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 285
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered 250 Experience Points Created Blog entry 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    shane_danger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Remote Moon 2/4
    Posts
    284
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ungreth View Post


    The big face, the "egg man", the reproductive organ/pentagram...all built in normal space, then emitted into the glitch background
    I've seen complex objects placed in the background before, but my question is, how do you get so precise with which extra layer the object gets placed into? I can never understand that part. When I try to emit from the cascade, the object gets bumped to the regular layers when it emits.

  8. #7
    Can I haz bamboo? Ungreth's Avatar
    Points: 32,413, Level: 55
    Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 637
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 5000 Experience Points 1000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Ungreth
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Shropshire, UK
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shane_danger View Post
    I've seen complex objects placed in the background before, but my question is, how do you get so precise with which extra layer the object gets placed into? I can never understand that part. When I try to emit from the cascade, the object gets bumped to the regular layers when it emits.
    Contrary to what you might expect, you need to use front layer tools to emit into the back layers (and vice versa). The length of the foreground tool equals the distance that an object will be emitted into the back layers. It's a while since I've done this, but I'm pretty sure the following instructions are accurate...

    • capture your object and the foreground tool together
    • place them into an emiiter positioned on the rear-most thin layer and set it to emit after a few seconds, not instantly
    • unpause to activate the emitter but then quickly pause again before it actually emits
    • move the emitter to the front-most thin layer
    • unpause again and watch as the emitter spawns its object into the back layers



    Just remember to pin your object down with DM or a grav tweaker once it's in the background, else it will fly off violently and break.

  9. Thanks!


  10. #8
    Sack shane_danger's Avatar
    Points: 9,665, Level: 29
    Level completed: 53%, Points required for next Level: 285
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered 250 Experience Points Created Blog entry 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    shane_danger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Remote Moon 2/4
    Posts
    284
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Just to be sure I understand... You capture the object along with the piece of the cascade in the foreground that represents the number of layers back you want to go... Then you emit that entire thing, following the above steps... is that right?

    I'll have to play around with it I guess. That's usually how I learn best. Thanks for the explanation!

  11. #9

    Default

    In step 3, when I try to delete the 6 layer piece after emitting into the background, it deletes all my thin materials too? why is this?

    "Even if the morrow is barren of promises, nothing shall forestall my return." - Genesis Rhapsodos

  12. #10
    LBPC Contest CrewRoyal High Alchemist Pookachoo's Avatar
    Points: 40,753, Level: 62
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 897
    Overall activity: 0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered Created Album pictures 30 days registered 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Pookachoo
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,519
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EndofLight View Post
    In step 3, when I try to delete the 6 layer piece after emitting into the background, it deletes all my thin materials too? why is this?
    I'm guessing you used dynamic emitting (live capture) instead of capturing into "My Objects." You can use a destroyer to get rid of the 6 layer piece.

    Just a reminder: this tutorial only explained how to make an extra layer tool, if you need info on using the tool, check out this wiki: http://wiki.lbpcentral.com/Community..._aka_3D_Glitch

    And if you're able to get online, I have a tool give-a-way (http://lbp.me/v/w6tzhh) level and a tutorial (http://lbp.me/v/0b6hcn) on my planet.

  13. #11

  14. Thanks!


  15. #12
    LBPC Contest CrewRoyal High Alchemist Pookachoo's Avatar
    Points: 40,753, Level: 62
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 897
    Overall activity: 0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered Created Album pictures 30 days registered 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Pookachoo
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,519
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kern View Post
    Thanks, I wasn't sure if that tutorial still works in LBP2. As for that FAQ, it's mostly accurate, but was made in LBP1 and there are a few differences when using extra layers in LBP2. The addition of anti-gravity and indestructible tweakers has made this glitch more versatile.

  16. Thanks!


  17. #13
    supacat
    Guest

    Default

    I attempted the suggested tutorial yesterday (20 June 2012). I built my own 131 layer cascade on LBP1 with the help of that tutorial. On LBP2 I tried the same and it would not extend into the background any further than the normal back layer. Luckily I imported my cascade in from LBP1. I understand the "walking" technique and used it to recreate my cascade on LBP2. When I tried my original cascade (imported from LBP1) on LBP2 it would copy the entire cascade instead of the individual blocks. That is what prompted me to walk and rebuild my cascade from scratch on LBP2. I also tried TheAdipose's object movement technique from LBP1. It still moves objects into the background and foreground perfectly.

  18. #14
    LBPC Contest CrewRoyal High Alchemist Pookachoo's Avatar
    Points: 40,753, Level: 62
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 897
    Overall activity: 0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered Created Album pictures 30 days registered 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Pookachoo
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,519
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you build a cascade (or any multi-part object) in LBP1 and bring it into LBP2 you will have that problem of it becoming one inseparable object. You can publish an LBP1 level with the cascade in it, then go to LBP2 and copy the level to your moon, capture the cascade in LBP2 and it should work. This only works with object you created, not community objects.

    Sorry, I should have said this tutorial is just for LBP2. I'll edit the original post.

  19. #15
    Junior Sackperson DreadRandal's Avatar
    Points: 12,438, Level: 33
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 212
    Overall activity: 16.0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered 250 Experience Points 30 days registered 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    DreadRandal
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    (in a suburb of) Detroit, Mich
    Posts
    410

    Default

    I guess I just learn better from experience seeing things with my own eyes and asking questions one on one.

    Every time I follow the steps I can't get the blocks that show up in the foreground to merge with the active layers block. Every time I try, I get two 3 layer blocks, one in the foreground, one in the playable area, sepparated by a front thin layer gap. What ends up happening when I press ([ ]) twice is that it activates the tags tweaker menu instead of allowing me to select a new block to complete the 6 layer merge with. If someone who knows what I'm doing wrong wants to go in depth in a PM or send me an invite when we're both on and give a live lesson, I would greatly appreciate it.
    Coming Soon: Brick Factory: Basic


    Play - Create - Sha.... ooh, shiny!

  20. #16

    Default

    this is brilliant! Thanks a bunch for sharing!

  21. #17

    Default

    I am using your extra layer tool and its great!

    I only wish I could make thock layer whats your idea on that? I just hope one day...

  22. #18
    LBPC Contest CrewRoyal High Alchemist Pookachoo's Avatar
    Points: 40,753, Level: 62
    Level completed: 31%, Points required for next Level: 897
    Overall activity: 0%
    100 Experience Points 7 days registered Created Album pictures 30 days registered 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    Pookachoo
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,519
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dutch View Post
    I am using your extra layer tool and its great!

    I only wish I could make thock layer whats your idea on that? I just hope one day...
    Thanks!
    I don't believe that Thock really exists as a useable layer. You can make "Mock Thock" with my Nudge Tool by pushing Theck 1/4 layer backward, everything you need is here: http://lbp.me/v/cn82yf

  23. Thanks!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •