BG1, PRELOAD BG2, PRELOAD

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37
  1. #1

    Default Tips and Tricks.

    As you can see, this section is now stickied, so if you have any tips or tricks (no matter how small) please feel free to post them here or link me to your thread so that I can put them here too. I will also link to your tip/tricks thread through the PS3 Tutorial Directory.

    Place all of your broadcasting chips on one piece of holographic material (inside a microchip) so you can move it around the level with you. Then when you've finished, add a follower, and ALL the broadcasting logic will follow you around the level. It's nice because then you don't have to worry about preloading or permanency.

    Tips from amiel445566:

    Logic places ON Sackboy when the broadcast microchip is set to nearest player, so effects transmit directly onto the Sackboy entity, (useful for things like powerups that you don't want to require getting into a sackbot) you can even disable controls on Sackboy with controllinators, you just need to set the first one to Nearest Player, because the nearest player to you... is you then you disable like before, its much easier to put onto Sackboy, just be careful how it transfers to other character models (like animations and such)

    R2 displays information for various data types of everything, such as music sequencers (with how many variations of note types there are on it, how many etc) logic (percentage w/ a graph, sadly it only displays with integer values, and can only go up to 2^23, instead of the full ~2^128, so its fairly limited at the moment) and any normal object (displaying normal values like grouping data, and logic placement data)

    R3 camera locks in create mode, so you can work on something from a specific angle, and you can take pictures better, and whatever may come to your needs of a stabilized camera

    Tips from koltonaugust:

    Logic is counted TWICE on the thermo when sackboy is in the level so if you have a complicated chip, it might be best to use a sackbot. (I set the controliinator for that sackbot to a color channel as nearest player seems to lag for me in beta)

    If you are having trouble selecting something press R3. this locks the camera in place and prevents your popit cursor from jumping from materials across the screen (especially in far back layers (even more especially behind other objects)).

    The dephysicalize tool is great for visuals. Use it to hide seams between layers or on walls by using it on a matching material on a different position in layer. Use the sub-layer adjustments to move the piece forward +1 in order to stop any glitched material.

    Dephysicalized objects can still be connected to connectors(pistons, springs, what not). This is great for bosses that go through walls.

    Tips from AcAnimate:

    How to adjust the camera WHILE creating or moving stuff around: Pause, go to settings and in the bottom you'll see an option called ''Create'' There you'll find ''Touch create mode'' Then you can set it to ''Camera'' and be able to zoom and move the camera around, no matter what you're doing!

    Scaling textures: With the new UV tool, you can SCALE textures too! which means, if you have a awesome material, but it's texture is kinda low-rez, then just scale it down, it will look HD in no time! ( Or scale it up waay too much and have a whole new look)

    Cloning decorations: You can clone DECORATIONS in LBP3 as well, you just need to press L3 without selecting it first, unlike in LBP1 and LBP2, where you had to select first. This will prevent you from messing with the position of the already placed decoration.

    Faster travel in the editor: Use Oddsock or Swoop while creating, they're much faster at moving and hovering around ( Of course you'll need to change character to test in-editor )

    Shadow caster for amazing visuals: You can create a shadow-caster (A invisible material whose purpose is to ONLY cast a shadow) by placing a opacity tweaker on any material and set the opacity to 1, this way, the material will still cast a shadow, but isn't visible. Try covering a entire area, then cut some holes in it to create a nice light-coming-from-windows shadow effect! (This will sometimes result in a weird too-much-motion-blur glitch, using a game camera will fix this)

    Complex create with intersections Control your collisions and make creating much much faster and easier by placing a broadcast chip, and make it broadcast to everything tagged in range, then set the range to infinite. Now place a physics tweaker, and set it to tagged only, and choose the little sackboy icon.
    By default nothing collides with anything, except the player. So you can easily move stuff through eachother, and make complex shapes by intersecting things.

    If you have anything dynamic you need to collide with the surrounding materials and objects, give it a tag as well, and again, choose the sackboy icon, now it's ''owned by sackboy'' so now it will collide as well. Now you just place the tags on whatever you want it to broadcast to. Note that this will take up some thermometer space, but it's such a relief to corner edit stuff, and be able to actually just move the corner around, no matter what, no more weird ''Nope, you can't move this corner cause this edge just slightly touches that edge''

    Avoid the foreground fading out: Having lot's of layers and 3D scenery? Then you're probably encountered the annoyance of the feature that will fade out the foreground in order to see the player behind those layers, even when you actually want the player to go behind those layers. A movie camera will prevent this from happening.( I haven't tried with game cameras yet ) If you want to make a movie camera your primary camera, place it on a piece of invisible hologram, and make the hologram follow your position with a follower. Maybe make the followers acceleration strength small like 20% to make the camera motion smoother.

    Analogue to digital signals: On/off triggered logic acting weird? For example a player sensor triggered logic component which is just an on/off function? Then maybe it's because a player sensor by default outputs a analogue signal (0% - 100% based on player position). Which means that even tho you want it to just be on/off, it's actually giving a higher or lower value, based on how close or far away the player is. Routing the signal through a selector will convert it to a digital signal, which is basically only 0% or 100%. Just, place a selector, and route it through one of the ports (same output as the input). There is a bunch of other logic gates which can do the same thing, but I like selectors because of their multiple ports, as they're sometimes useful to have.

    Permanent switch and resetting logic: If you need something to turn on, and stay on until you want it to turn off, a counter is the ideal piece of logic. Place a counter, and make the max count 1. When triggered, it will turn on, and stay on, acting like a ''permanent'' switch. Now, to turn it off you just use the reset input. Now you'r logic (eg. your microchip) have a ON input and a OFF input. This is also a handy way to make contraptions able to reset. If you do your contraptions right, like pistons or timers, make their input ''Forwards/backwards'' instead of ''ON/OFF'' so that they will do whatever they need to do when the counter is 1, and do the opposite when you reset the counter.

    Tips from tdarb:

    When creating with a broadcast microchip, attach a toggle to the on/off input. That way you can disable it while working on logic, and then enable it again for testing. If you are working with a lot of receiving objects, this will reduce loads of lag created by having several microchips open at once, and keep them from getting in your way while you edit.

    Followers allow you to eliminate up and down movement, and that is very convenient. Even more convenient is the fact that if you rotate them 90 degrees, they now eliminate left and right movement. Great for grid based tracking.

    Tip From Female--:

    To open the microchip for Pumpinator and Illuminator's logic, use the Sticker Editor instead of the Popit Cursor!
    Last edited by GribbleGrunger; 12-09-2014 at 01:53 AM.


  2. #2
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GribbleGrunger View Post
    I've used plural in my title but I've really only got one at the moment. I was rather hoping this thread would encourage others to pass on their little tips and tricks, no matter how small. Here's mine:

    I was getting pretty annoyed with the broadcasting chip because it doesn't show the logic working on the actual chip itself, only on whatever you are broadcasting to. It's also a problem when you use the dynamic thermometer because the broadcasting chip could easily disappear from you level when you are some way through it. So I've got in the habit of popping every single broadcasting chip on one piece of holographic material and moving it around the level with me. The idea is that when I've finally finished the level I'll then add a follower and ALL the broadcasting logic will follow me around my level like a little puppy dog. It's nice because then you don't have to worry about preloading or permanency.
    Couldn't you put all the chips into one microchip on that following holo?

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devious_Oatmeal View Post
    Couldn't you put all the chips into one microchip on that following holo?
    Yeah, that's what I'm doing. I intend to add notes when I work on bigger projects.

  4. #4
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Also, on the thing about broadcast chips not working themselves. Couldn't you just put a tag on the same thing the broadcast chip is on?

    And the reason the broadcast chips don't work themselves is because I am assuming that if something were to activate on the broadcast chip's circuit board, then the broadcast chip would tell everything that it is sending its logic to, to also have that activated at that time.

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devious_Oatmeal View Post
    Also, on the thing about broadcast chips not working themselves. Couldn't you just put a tag on the same thing the broadcast chip is on?

    And the reason the broadcast chips don't work themselves is because I am assuming that if something were to activate on the broadcast chip's circuit board, then the broadcast chip would tell everything that it is sending its logic to, to also have that activated at that time.
    I don't think that would work. I'll give it a go later but there are things it wouldn't work with anyway; for instance, anything related to broadcasting to your playable character.

  6. #6
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Oh-oh! Not sure if it's possible, but can you add more logic to the circuit board that pops up from a broadcasted tag? And can you take off the logic that has been sent to a tag?

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devious_Oatmeal View Post
    Oh-oh! Not sure if it's possible, but can you add more logic to the circuit board that pops up from a broadcasted tag? And can you take off the logic that has been sent to a tag?
    I'm not sure what you mean. All you have is a 'ghost' of the original chip on anything you send it to. You can't add anything to the ghost, you can only add to the original chip. Obviously you could set some logic up that interacts with the location you are in and so vary the logic on the original chip but to me that's getting more complex and probably means you're better off just making that logic locally.

  8. #8
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GribbleGrunger View Post
    I'm not sure what you mean. All you have is a 'ghost' of the original chip on anything you send it to. You can't add anything to the ghost, you can only add to the original chip. Obviously you could set some logic up that interacts with the location you are in and so vary the logic on the original chip but to me that's getting more complex and probably means you're better off just making that logic locally.
    Awe, bummer... I was asking because it would be neat to suddenly transport logic to one section and then work on the logic there. Like using the 'ghost logic' as a base for more logic.

    Or have different switches interact with different tags via connection. BUT! Since you can't, then the obvious choice is just making the logic locally.

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  9. #9
    Sackperson Private koltonaugust's Avatar
    Points: 31,914, Level: 54
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    Koltonaugust
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,382
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    You don't have to make it follow you, just put a permanency tweaker on the material you are using. Then it isn't allowed to not be loaded.

    EDIT: OH I see what you mean. Yeah that is a way to do it. I generally don't need to see what's active or not. I just organize my logic in my own way.

  10. #10
    Sackperson amiel445566's Avatar
    Points: 12,752, Level: 34
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 598
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    7 days registered 30 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    LOOKaUsername
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Polar Ice Caps of Craftworld
    Posts
    673
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Some things people may know but here are some tips:

    Logic places ON Sackboy when the broadcast microchip is set to nearest player, so effects transmit directly onto the Sackboy entity, (useful for things like powerups that you don't want to require getting into a sackbot) you can even disable controls on Sackboy with controllinators, you just need to set the first one to Nearest Player, because the nearest player to you... is you then you disable like before, its much easier to put onto Sackboy, just be careful how it transfers to other character models (like animations and such)

    R2 displays information for various data types of everything, such as music sequencers (with how many variations of note types there are on it, how many etc) logic (percentage w/ a graph, sadly it only displays with integer values, and can only go up to 2^23, instead of the full ~2^128, so its fairly limited at the moment) and any normal object (displaying normal values like grouping data, and logic placement data)

    R3 camera locks in create mode, so you can work on something from a specific angle, and you can take pictures better, and whatever may come to your needs of a stabilized camera

    these are widely known, but these are every useful tip-like things I can think of off the top of my head
    Figured since reporting this on multiple occasions didn't work, I'll just spread it like the plague


  11. #11
    Sackperson Private koltonaugust's Avatar
    Points: 31,914, Level: 54
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    Koltonaugust
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,382
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amiel445566 View Post
    Some things people may know but here are some tips:

    Logic places ON Sackboy when the broadcast microchip is set to nearest player, so effects transmit directly onto the Sackboy entity, (useful for things like powerups that you don't want to require getting into a sackbot) you can even disable controls on Sackboy with controllinators, you just need to set the first one to Nearest Player, because the nearest player to you... is you then you disable like before, its much easier to put onto Sackboy, just be careful how it transfers to other character models (like animations and such)
    Also to note with this, the logic is counted TWICE on the thermo when sackboy is in the level so if you have a complicated chip, it might be best to use a sackbot. (I set the controliinator for that sackbot to a color channel as nearest player seems to lag for me in beta)


  12. #12

    Default

    I'm including all the tips you lovely folks supply in the OP, so if you could keep them brief and to the point, that would be great. If you could format them in the same way amiel445566 has, that would be the charm ... and make cutting and pasting a breeze. Thanks in advance.


  13. #13
    Sackperson Private koltonaugust's Avatar
    Points: 31,914, Level: 54
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    Koltonaugust
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,382
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    You might want to change the tip about the logic being counted twice on the microchip transmitter to:

    The Thermometer counts each chip transmitted by the microchip transmitter separately INCLUDING the transmitter itself. This means if you have a complicated transmitter meant to be on the sackboy you might want to change it to being directly on a sackbot. Also the beta seems to lag a bit more when using the nearest player setting on the controllinator to control a sackbot so I would set it to a colored channel. If the lag is too bad, re-emitting the sackbot sometimes helps.

    It reads better separately
    Last edited by koltonaugust; 10-23-2014 at 05:18 PM.

  14. #14

    Default

    How to adjust the camera with the touchpad WHILE creating or moving stuff around on PS4: Pause, go to settings and in the bottom you'll see a option called ''Create'' There you'll find ''Touch create mode'' Then you can set it to ''Camera'' and be able to zoom and move the camera around, no matter what you're doing!
    It saves you from quitting all the way to the popit cursor, or to nothing, to adjust the camera, and then going back in to create again.

    :)
    Last edited by AcAnimate; 10-27-2014 at 01:56 AM.


    I'm on YouTube
    And Twitter!
    All my LBP2 Levels!
    Mm-Picked: ...And down it goes!
    Mm-Picked: Sprocketz

  15. Thanks!


  16. #15

    Default

    you move the camera with the touchpad on dualshock 4 controller right? thats gonna save alot of time

  17. #16
    Sackperson Private koltonaugust's Avatar
    Points: 31,914, Level: 54
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    Koltonaugust
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,382
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    This first one goes along with amiel's 3rd tip but I think it helps to specify examples since I didn't think to do this right away to solve my problem...

    If you are having trouble selecting something press R3. this locks the camera in place and prevents your popit cursor from jumping from materials across the screen (especially in far back layers (even more especially behind other objects)).

    The dephysicalize tool is great for visuals. Use it to hide seams between layers or on walls by using it on a matching material on a different position in layer.

    Dephysicalized objects can still be connected to connectors(pistons, springs, what not). This is great for bosses that go through walls.

  18. Thanks!


  19. #17

    Default

    Could you explain tip two a little clearer please. I'm not sure what you mean. Do you mean just take a thin slice of material (for the back wall for instance), overlap and dephysicalise to hide the crack? If so then I'll add in that it's also a good idea to move that thin slice a few sub layers back to stop any glitching.
    Last edited by GribbleGrunger; 10-28-2014 at 08:56 AM.

  20. #18
    Sackperson Private koltonaugust's Avatar
    Points: 31,914, Level: 54
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    Koltonaugust
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,382
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    I'll try Whenever there is a unwanted break in your material (either from having two separate objects in two adjacent layers or simply from splitting two objects of the same material) you can dephysicalize a block of that material (place it a few positions in layer front or back) to hide that seam. So like say you want a door to be in your wall, but doing so breaks up your wall, you could hide a few seams using this technique (though you will either have vertical or horizontal seams in this case if you want the door to open and look open).

  21. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by koltonaugust View Post
    I'll try Whenever there is a unwanted break in your material (either from having two separate objects in two adjacent layers or simply from splitting two objects of the same material) you can dephysicalize a block of that material (place it a few positions in layer front or back) to hide that seam. So like say you want a door to be in your wall, but doing so breaks up your wall, you could hide a few seams using this technique (though you will either have vertical or horizontal seams in this case if you want the door to open and look open).
    Yeah, I tried it out and it works a treat. It's best to bring it forward one sub layer though, not take it back.
    Last edited by GribbleGrunger; 10-29-2014 at 08:45 AM.


  22. #20

    Default

    Nice tips! Here's two I discovered.

    When creating with a broadcast microchip, attach a toggle to the on/off input. That way you can disable it while working on logic, and then enable it again for testing. If you are working with a lot of receiving objects, this will reduce loads of lag created by having several microchips open at once, and keep them from getting in your way while you edit.

    Advanced followers allow you to eliminate up and down movement, and that is very convenient. Even more convenient is the fact that if you rotate them 90 degrees, they now eliminate left and right movement. Great for grid based tracking.
    Last edited by tdarb; 11-20-2014 at 04:25 PM.

  23. Thanks!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •