BG1, PRELOAD BG2, PRELOAD

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1

    Default Why are there outputs on bolts?

    What is the use of this?
    Explore The Goop Factory!!...LOOKS GREAT IN LBP3!!

  2. #2
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Biv View Post
    What is the use of this?
    Maybe when a bolt is being activated? Maybe there is going to be more that you can use with them? Maybe they said screw it, let's put outputs on everything?

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  3. Thanks!


  4. #3
    Sackperson Private koltonaugust's Avatar
    Points: 31,914, Level: 54
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    Koltonaugust
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,382
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Probably for an analogue value instead of sensing the rotation? That would be my first guess.

  5. #4
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Could always just R2 over the output (Or whichever button shows signal) to see the signal strength to see if it changes when the bolt is activated.

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  6. #5

    Default

    Yeah, Its a strange one that.
    I think the output is a trigger. It can be used to activate something the bolts output wires into (like a counter)
    Every time the bolt makes a complete revolution it fires the output. (In other-words, when the bolted object spins through 360 degrees, at degree 359 it fires the output once.

  7. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devious_Oatmeal View Post
    Could always just R2 over the output (Or whichever button shows signal) to see the signal strength to see if it changes when the bolt is activated.
    I'm talking the normal bolt. The one that you can't activate.

    - - - - - - - - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Sean88 View Post
    Yeah, Its a strange one that.
    I think the output is a trigger. It can be used to activate something the bolts output wires into (like a counter)
    Every time the bolt makes a complete revolution it fires the output. (In other-words, when the bolted object spins through 360 degrees, at degree 359 it fires the output once.
    I imagine it has to be something like this.
    Explore The Goop Factory!!...LOOKS GREAT IN LBP3!!

  8. #7

    Default

    Yeah mate, Its actually clever logic. Means you can now spin bolts to activate things (like a winding handle on a clock)

  9. #8
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    That also means you can activate bolts in succession.

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  10. #9

    Default

    I still don't really understand. I guess I need to play with it. It has no mechanisms, how can it trigger anything?

    Like I said, I guess i have to mess with it.
    Explore The Goop Factory!!...LOOKS GREAT IN LBP3!!

  11. #10
    Sackperson amiel445566's Avatar
    Points: 12,752, Level: 34
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 598
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    7 days registered 30 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    LOOKaUsername
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Polar Ice Caps of Craftworld
    Posts
    673
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    well, I didn't know about bolts, but pistons have an output that shows their positional whereabouts in an analog value from 0 to 1, so the bolt may be similar
    Figured since reporting this on multiple occasions didn't work, I'll just spread it like the plague

  12. #11
    Sackperson Private koltonaugust's Avatar
    Points: 31,914, Level: 54
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 36
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 30 days registered
    PSN
    Koltonaugust
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,382
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Both outputs would be quite helpful. Too bad I don't have any ideas with bolts on the top of my head maybe I'll mess with it later.

  13. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by koltonaugust View Post
    Both outputs would be quite helpful. Too bad I don't have any ideas with bolts on the top of my head maybe I'll mess with it later.
    My test is always LEDs. I'll hook a bolt up to an LED today and see what it takes to turn it on.
    Explore The Goop Factory!!...LOOKS GREAT IN LBP3!!

  14. #13

    Default

    Are you saying that the bolts output an analogue signal?

    If I understand it correctly, the analogue output could be very useful.

    • Say, for example, you have a car with bolts for the wheels, you could use such a signal for a speedometer.
    • You could make vehicles with dynamic speeds, maybe even with gears.
    • Have an object that you dont want sackboy to push too fast? I am sure you could use this method to control that.
    • An analogue output on a piston could allow you to stop it at certain points, making it much more dynamic.
    Last edited by samalot; 10-22-2014 at 01:35 PM.

  15. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samalot View Post
    Are you saying that the bolts output an analogue signal?

    If I understand it correctly, the analogue output could be very useful.

    • Say, for example, you have a car with bolts for the wheels, you could use such a signal for a speedometer.
    • You could make vehicles with dynamic speeds, maybe even with gears.
    • Have an object that you dont want sackboy to push too fast? I am sure you could use this method to control that.
    • An analogue output on a piston could allow you to stop it at certain points, making it much more dynamic.
    I have no idea what kind of output it is, to tell the truth. And the last time I was on, I forgot to mess with it.
    Explore The Goop Factory!!...LOOKS GREAT IN LBP3!!

  16. #15

    Default

    The output from a bolt can be very useful. It produces an analog signal that is directly proportional to the angle that it's rotated. If you connect the output from the bolt into a character rotator, the character's rotation will match the rotation of the object that has the bolt connected to it. This can be used to make a simple logic system for rotating a player for 3D and top down levels.

  17. Thanks!


  18. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fluxlasers View Post
    The output from a bolt can be very useful. It produces an analog signal that is directly proportional to the angle that it's rotated. If you connect the output from the bolt into a character rotator, the character's rotation will match the rotation of the object that has the bolt connected to it. This can be used to make a simple logic system for rotating a player for 3D and top down levels.
    Again, I can see the use of that for a powered bolt, but I don't see how you could use the unpowered bolt with any sort of accuracy.

    I also played with the output on pistons and you can now use them as on/off switches. Could be useful.
    Explore The Goop Factory!!...LOOKS GREAT IN LBP3!!

  19. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Biv View Post
    Again, I can see the use of that for a powered bolt, but I don't see how you could use the unpowered bolt with any sort of accuracy.
    A joystick rotator accurately rotates to the angle the joystick is pointed.

    The output from a bolt is an accurate representation of the angle that the bolted object has rotated through.

    If you put a joystick rotator on the object that's rotating (and fixed with a bolt) then the output from the bolt will be an accurate representation of the angle that it has rotated through. This system will easily convert the angle that the joystick is pointed to the rotation value required by the character rotator - allowing the character to rotate and face the direction that the joystick is pointed.

  20. #18
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fluxlasers View Post
    A joystick rotator accurately rotates to the angle the joystick is pointed.

    The output from a bolt is an accurate representation of the angle that the bolted object has rotated through.

    If you put a joystick rotator on the object that's rotating (and fixed with a bolt) then the output from the bolt will be an accurate representation of the angle that it has rotated through. This system will easily convert the angle that the joystick is pointed to the rotation value required by the character rotator - allowing the character to rotate and face the direction that the joystick is pointed.
    Doesn't the angle sensor do the same thing?

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  21. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devious_Oatmeal View Post
    Doesn't the angle sensor do the same thing?
    No, If you rotate an angle sensor (set to 360 degrees) through 360 degrees you will get a triangle shaped wave.
    If you rotate an object fixed with a bolt through 360 degrees the output from the bolt will be a ramp shaped wave.

  22. #20
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Well then that works wonders!

    A guess this is the easier way to make 3D movement.

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  23. Thanks!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •