BG1, PRELOAD BG2, PRELOAD

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Default Bomb Explosions Only Killing on One Plane??

    My little tradition with each LBP is to refresh myself in create mode by making a Bomb Survival level. Every level I've made, the bombs would always kill, no matter what plane you were on, as long as they were near. In LBP3, I made a bomb level using 5 layers to work with. I set the bombs to drop in the 3rd plane (middle), so their blast radius was always 2 layers, no more than in any other LBP.

    The level I made, (Grappling Hook Bomb Survival V. 2.6) was working fine all day yesterday, with the bombs killing on any plane, until just recently. I tweaked a few (unrelated) things in the level, re-published it, and now my bombs don't appear to kill on any plane other than the one they happen to be on?
    Was this some sort of hotfix from Sumo Digital?

  2. #2
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Huh. I kind of like that it's stuck to only one plane. Although I can see how some wouldn't like that. Is there an explosion setting in the bombs?

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devious_Oatmeal View Post
    Huh. i kind of like that it's stuck to only one plane. although i can see how some wouldn't like that. Is there an explosion setting in the bombs?
    Unfortunately, no. I'm really just sort of baffled as to why this has happened. The level was working fine prior to tonight.

  4. #4
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JLU51306 View Post
    Unfortunately, no. I'm really just sort of baffled as to why this has happened. The level was working fine prior to tonight.
    I would call it a glitch if it suddenly changed, but maybe it could have been something that they changed, yeah. Have you tried republishing it again, or changing the tweaks you did last time to see if anything happens again?

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Devious_Oatmeal View Post
    I would call it a glitch if it suddenly changed, but maybe it could have been something that they changed, yeah. Have you tried republishing it again, or changing the tweaks you did last time to see if anything happens again?
    Well that's what's weird is I had the level copied the previous night where everything was working smoothly, and nothing had been changed after the fact, and even booting up that version of the level, the problem shows up there as well.

    EDIT: Just tried detonating a bomb in a scrap level I had, and it too only kills me on the layer the bomb's on. Starting to think the lethal depth to bombs has been hotfixed or something.

  6. #6
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Just tried it as well. I guess it's something they changed.

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



  7. #7

    Default

    Definitely want to say there was some sort of hotfix recently, because now even LBP2 bomb survival levels that carried over only kill on the layer the bombs land on. Hmm.

  8. #8

    Default

    Maybe an easy fix is to add a broadcast microchip that broadcasts to Sackboy, then add on it a tag sensor and connect it to a kill switch(or whatever the thing that kills sackboy is called), then add a tag to the bombs that only activates before the bomb detonates by a fraction of a second.

    that way sackboy will die at almost the same time the bomb is detonated if he's in range, no matter which layer he's on, and you can make the bomb look like whatever you want, you won't be held down by that grey old box from lbp1, THIS IS LBP3! USE YOUR IMAGINATION!!!
    also if your going to use that bomb make sackboy indestructible to it so that the only way he can die is through the tag sensor,
    Last edited by master3243; 11-30-2014 at 03:27 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    I solved the issue by attaching 4 other bombs, all invisible, and dephysicalized, but set to detonate the same time as original bomb, thus killing the player on all 5 planes. Thanks for the help, guys

  10. #10

    Default

    I really wish there was a setting for bomb effects on more or fewer planes. Bomb survivals are actually fun in MP, but I feel the genre could use some work. Control over what layers a bomb effects would make for some bad a bomb survivals.

    And then they would become cancer yet again.
    Poorjack- "Quality Levels, for You and Your Family"
    My NEW! Level

  11. #11
    LBPC Bounty Hunter Devious_Oatmeal's Avatar
    Points: 20,822, Level: 44
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 828
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 100 Experience Points Created Album pictures 250 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Cryogen00
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Your house. O_O
    Posts
    1,503

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by poorjack View Post
    I really wish there was a setting for bomb effects on more or fewer planes. Bomb survivals are actually fun in MP, but I feel the genre could use some work. Control over what layers a bomb effects would make for some bad a bomb survivals.

    And then they would become cancer yet again.
    There was a thread, or posts, about also adding in an explosion radius option.

    I still really REALLY wish this game was on PC as well. So much potential.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •