BG1, PRELOAD BG2, PRELOAD

View Poll Results: Do You Agree?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes!!

    23 85.19%
  • No. What? Im confused.

    4 14.81%
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Lint! OMG! BlackHairedGoon's Avatar
    Points: 14,314, Level: 36
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 536
    Overall activity: 0%
    Your First Group 5000 Experience Points 1000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    BlackHairedGoon
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The United Kingdom of Great Britian, England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. ...Or. The UK.
    Posts
    153

    Default Tired of the stupid default 'Visible' setting?

    I'm sure many of you are tired of acidentally forgetting to hide all the little bits and bobs that make your level work. It completely ruins the atmosphere, and it could destroy your beautiful creation when you try to wade through all the dark matter, Motor Bolts, Glue, etc. So, I have an idea: Make the default setting of all the switches 'Off'. Such a small tweak, but it would prevent a lot of fustration. Dont you agree? Make a comment, I want to see what you all think.

    If you notice this notice, then you will notice that this notice is not very noticeable. Thank you, you notice noticing skills have been noted.
    I'm am SO Sexier than ARD. DON'T EVEN DENY IT, ARD! DONT EVEN DENY IT.

  2. #2
    The Real IceMaiden Coxy224's Avatar
    Points: 47,497, Level: 67
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 853
    Overall activity: 0%
    Recommendation Second Class 10000 Experience Points 5000 Experience Points 1000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    Coxy224
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Beckenham
    Posts
    3,312
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    What I think Mm is trying to tell us is that it's a learning community. Leave a few visible switches and the such so that people learn off you.
    Yes, for some people it gets annoying, but most experienced creators think, there's a switch - automatically go and switch it to invisible.
    I do see where you're coming from though.

    Sig by the awesome Val
    PSN: Coxy224
    Showcased in PSP & PSV: Minecart Madness [Spotlighted!] | The Great Palace Of Emitters [Spotlighted!] | [VCC] The Christmas Arcade [Vita Christmas Countdown Level]
    Member of Ladies of LBPC Social Group

  3. #3

    Default

    I'd prefer it if they were invisible by default.

    It'd be nice if you could turn motors and winches and that sort of thing invisible too.

    Also - make LEDs destructible.

    Gimme FEEDBACK!!!
    Newest Levels (click links):Electronomicon DELTA and Quetzalcoatl Rising (Spotlighted!!!)
    Currently working on: If I told you I'd Have To Kill You

  4. #4

    Default

    My main problem is the plethoral of things you actually CAN'T make invisible.

    If they give this option for switches I would like to have to anything else that is tools.

    .

  5. #5

    Default

    Absolutely. It definately would allow much more immersion by having things invisible - like a turning head without a big bolt stuck through the middle of it.

    (I would LOVE to have an invisible chain!!! I can do it now but I need to waste a layer to do it)
    F4F Participant
    Levels published: F4F: LIBERATOR - Spotlighted!!!! -, Vectroids - MM Picked!!! Spotlighted!!!! -, Sea Dragon -Spotlighted-, Roll out the Barrel! -Spotlighted-, Splat Invaders III: Insurrection - Spotlighted-, Destiny! -Spotlighted! MM Community pick!-, Vertigo! -Spotlighted-, Splat Invaders Saga -Spotlighted! IGN Pick!-, Splat Invaders II: The Caverns of Splat -Spotlighted!-, Tiger Woods Mini Golf -Spotlighted!-, Starship Troopers -Spotlighted!-

  6. #6
    Guy who left for months Sackdragon's Avatar
    Points: 10,843, Level: 31
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 407
    Overall activity: 0%
    7 days registered 5000 Experience Points 1000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    GreenPikaNoob
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Eastern U.S.
    Posts
    469

    Default

    I think being able to be visible is a good thing. Like Coxy said, it helps people learn.

  7. #7

    Default

    Not only does it help people learn, but, in a lot of cases, visible switches and such actually look good if you're trying to make a tech-themed level or something.
    PSN: rhansen2


    Credit to Arnaldo17

    PLEASE check out my epic new Toyota Prius level!: Prius_Eco Adventure
    Every play and heart helps me out a lot! Thanks!
    (Also, it's actually good so there ya go.)

  8. #8

  9. #9

    Default

    I'd liked to have seen a simple "No" option in the poll...
    It's kinda biased..

  10. #10

    Default

    He said default to invisible, not always invisible. Yes, I agree. I even made this exact same thread a while back.

    Pistons should default to stiff. And how about some indestructible/grabbable material. While were at it, how bout a switch to force the player to drop the paintinator or jetpack. An option to turn the sound effect off on motors, winches, wobble bolts, gas, brains, emitters etc. You should be able to activate checkpoints via switch. Connect a single paint switch to multiple separate surfaces. Emitters should reset their count when switched to play mode. You should be able to move speakers and emitters that are connected to a switch without disconnecting the switch first. How about allowing us to use gas in the thin plane or to organize items in our hearted 'pop it' menu how we want them organized. I'd like to be able to change the material of the level boundaries...I could go on forever.

  11. #11

    Default

    I think it will be best.
    If I would build a tutorial level then I should make them visible, not the opposite as it is by now.
    PSN ID: Miglioshin; Under construction:Platforms Madness 3; I'M IN F4F

  12. #12
    The Multi-media drunkard GruntosUK's Avatar
    Points: 27,040, Level: 50
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 510
    Overall activity: 0%
    Recommendation Second Class 10000 Experience Points 5000 Experience Points 1000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points
    PSN
    GruntosUK
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    County Durham, North East England
    Posts
    2,490

    Default

    Definetly default to invisible, and the pistons default to stiff. I don't know how many times I forget to switch pistons to stiff, and then watch it go crazy

    While were at it, how bout a switch to force the player to drop the paintinator or jetpack. An option to turn the sound effect off on motors, winches, wobble bolts, gas, brains, emitters etc. You should be able to activate checkpoints via switch. Connect a single paint switch to multiple separate surfaces. Emitters should reset their count when switched to play mode. You should be able to move speakers and emitters that are connected to a switch without disconnecting the switch first. How about allowing us to use gas in the thin plane
    I totally agree with all you said above as well Jaeyden. Sometimes the sound of motorbolts, emitters, gas etc does not fit the theme that they were used for. Setting emitters to emit more than needed to just test in create mode is insanity. Its fustrating deleting wires off items just to reposition.

    I actually just attempted the thin layer of gas a couple of days ago, I had a great idea for it, but wasnt able to do it

    EDIT: Also, I'd like the option to hide layers, I don't know how many times I've hidden something on the back layer with a mass of materials, like a switch, then needed access to it later and had to either move or delete everything in front of it.
    Last edited by GruntosUK; 03-11-2009 at 08:59 PM.
    I'm on twitter, Follow me here
    -----------------
    -----------------

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GrantosUK View Post
    I don't know how many times I forget to switch pistons to stiff, and then watch it go crazy
    Oh, yeah!!

    Quote Originally Posted by GrantosUK View Post
    EDIT: Also, I'd like the option to hide layers, I don't know how many times I've hidden something on the back layer with a mass of materials, like a switch, then needed access to it later and had to either move or delete everything in front of it.
    An option like that would be very useful.
    Being able to switch of layers so you can acces hidden stuff would remove a lot of frustration.
    PSN: Zwoltopia

    My Levels: Sir Sackboy, The Accidental Hero: Chapter I , Chapter II , Chapter III (preview)
    Other published bits & sideprojects: Leroy Wolfgang (character contest) Proto Droid 2000 (Retro-robot contest)
    Be obnoxious, be the first! Join The First Group! | The Caption Contest - ROUND 29!!

  14. #14
    Lint! OMG! BlackHairedGoon's Avatar
    Points: 14,314, Level: 36
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 536
    Overall activity: 0%
    Your First Group 5000 Experience Points 1000 Experience Points 500 Experience Points 250 Experience Points
    PSN
    BlackHairedGoon
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The United Kingdom of Great Britian, England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. ...Or. The UK.
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Thanks for all the positive feedback, guys! Sorry for the stupid poll. I wanted to put in stuff like no sound for motor bolts, invisible pistons, winchs, etc. But I wanted to keep it on a single subject. Thanks!!

    If you notice this notice, then you will notice that this notice is not very noticeable. Thank you, you notice noticing skills have been noted.
    I'm am SO Sexier than ARD. DON'T EVEN DENY IT, ARD! DONT EVEN DENY IT.

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Coxy224 View Post
    What I think Mm is trying to tell us is that it's a learning community. Leave a few visible switches and the such so that people learn off you.
    Yes, for some people it gets annoying, but most experienced creators think, there's a switch - automatically go and switch it to invisible.
    I do see where you're coming from though.
    He said prectically what i was gonna say.
    I mean come on people, its not like it takes 20hrs to turn off switches, if you turn them off in the spot while tweaking it it doesn't take more than 5seconds. I say does it really matter THAT much as to try and make the creators to waste time on it reather than on making some stuff that's actually useful for gameplay?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •